Chevron Left
Back to FinTech and the Transformation in Financial Services

Learner Reviews & Feedback for FinTech and the Transformation in Financial Services by Copenhagen Business School

4.3
stars
970 ratings
257 reviews

About the Course

The FinTech revolution is rapidly transforming the financial industry. The use of digital technologies is the norm, and together with regulatory and market changes it is creating a revolution. After completion of the module, you'll be able to: describe the changes that influence the financial sector, understand the complexity of the payment infrastructure, identify and explain the key payment instruments and how they function, understand the types of money that exits, and recognize changes in the regulatory frameworks and how they inhibit or promote innovation. To begin, I recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum! This course should take about four weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. By the time you finish this course, you’ll have mastered mastered the transformational forces of digitalization and the new competitive dynamics it gives rise to, learned from leading financial companies and seen inspirational examples from the digital masters. Good luck as you get started. I look forward to seeing you in class!...

Top reviews

KG
May 30, 2019

The assessments were excellent. Initially, I did have hesitation in getting started, but got hooked to the assessments. Thank you to Kavya and Steve, our Program Managers who encouraged us everyday.

IS
Apr 22, 2019

complete view of the businesses related to each type, separated into different sections, but with a clear explanations that the different types are interlinked into a bigger picture

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 260 Reviews for FinTech and the Transformation in Financial Services

By Victor H

Oct 14, 2019

Thank you very much

By Juan I F L

Jul 22, 2018

MUY BUENO

By Sourabh B

Feb 11, 2020

Overall the design of the module is very nice, and they are stacked in an organized way. The way they are taught are also very helpful and easy to understand.

However here are some key issues:

I) Some of the press articles / white papers are quite dated – as old as 2012. Naturally, some of them have lost their relevance in today’s time (more so when we are discussing about digital disruption in Financial Services sector). These materials should get replaced with more relevant content.

II) The YouTube video tutorials on Applepay does not work anymore (a message pops up – This video is private)

III) All three links on the implications (implications for banks, customers and society) of Open Banking do not work, and there are questions on the assessment section on this implication part. It’s difficult to answer a question without going through the materials offered.

IV) Certain questions on the assessment sections are carrying grammatical mistakes (eg. for the final assessment module of Week 2 - Money Makes the World go Around, Q3, Q11 are wrongly framed). Though one can understand the questions, however wrong English is not desirable from an Institution offering Education

V) The framework on few of the questions are difficult to understand. There is a question on Core Banking Activities, I could not figure out the right answer. But I believe I have fair knowledge on what is Core Banking. I could not find out a way on how I can get the answer that is right according to Coursera. So once candidates completes their assessment, there should be a way to know the correct answer in case someone is unable to answer the right. I am not sure if there is a way to find out the right answer post completion of assessment.

VI) There are few questions who have lost the present day context. An example – there is a question on whether present day banks are equipped to offer a gamut of digital solutions to its customers with the option to choose from Yes or No. In present day context, it cannot be said that today’s banks are completely ill-equipped to offer such services, as a lot of banks / financial institutions have made significant developments in digital offerings (payments, eKYC, mobile apps etc.). Hence for such questions, there should be relevance with present day context.

I hope Coursera will look into this.

By RAUL B

May 23, 2018

Considero que el curso da una visión general en cuanto a lo que tiene que ver con innovación financiera, pero me hubiera gustado entender mejor qué Fintechs están siendo realmente exitosas y cómo lo han logrado, al igual que la forma en la que las instituciones financieras pueden colaborar con este tipo de empresas para delegarles aquéllos servicios financieros que éstas pueden hacer mejor, de forma más rápida y económica. Tenía como expectativa conocer el mundo de las Fintechs en mayor detalle y además me hubiera gustado que el curso hubiera sido más dinámico.

By Claudia T

Jul 29, 2021

Unfortunately not met my expectations since most of the course was based on reading articles which most of them were outdated (like from 2014, wikipedia source) so it was quite disappointing.

I have done other course before named The Future of Payment Technologies (by University of Michigan) which was more based on videos by the instructor, very well structured and more self-explained.

By Dong W

Sep 4, 2019

Some of the contents are pretty well designed and contains rich scope of information, can help to deepen the understanding of the industry, but there are some useful resources with breaking links which is a pity and some quiz are really badly designed with larges of confisions and no practical meanings, especially in the week 4, I wasted lots of time on that.

By Vivek P

Jul 8, 2021

Course is informative, however the text has many typos and spelling errors, some even in the quizzes. The design of the quizzes also lack some clarity. When we have questions with 'select all that apply' with 5 or more choices, there should either be partial credit or some explanation should be provided in the feedback.

By Belen S

Nov 21, 2017

I expected more worked content. Most of the videos are describing wikipedia definitions even with the same text order which is written in the web. Also in some Quiz the answers were difficult to find out in the learnt materials. Many times the correct answers were imprecise (example: question 1 in Week 4´s Quiz)

By Abhiram P

Feb 3, 2019

The course started of really well with first two weeks material and videos which are engaging and interesting.

However, the latter part of the course is more of reading material than videos and hardly there is any explanation. The quality of material and the quizzes in week 4 and week 3 is relatively poor.

By Espen L

Dec 21, 2019

Interesting topic, and some of the supporting litterature is great. However, some of the articles are pretty old, like 2015, and a lot has happened the last 5 years. I had to disagree with the last test, a couple of questions not aligned with the material. Except from that, it was a great walkthrough.

By Ragnar L

May 21, 2018

It essentially is a good course, quite informative to be honest. But for a person who is working in the industry it still remains outdated and not in-depth enough. The questions on the otherhand are more focused on mentioned details in the video lecturers, rather than being able to think and evaluate.

By Mohamedsohil P

Mar 24, 2021

Overall it is good course which covers FinTech topics broadly, However, little disappointed with course as it is in form of introduction video supported by collection of articles (Mostly Wikipedia). Also, course requires updates as most of the articles are dated back 2015 to 2017.

By Laurent C S

Aug 21, 2018

It's a basic course which gives you a good overview. I like the course but the quiz are really annoying. Too many checkboxes and very confusing (e.g. has crownfunding being historically used for a funeral ?); too many mandatory lectures on wikipedia / youtube / external website

By Afonso R

Apr 11, 2020

I liked very much the course, the only bad party over this module is because the links and test questions are not updated. So some text information and test questions do not match.

It should be revised.

Otherwise, the information teached on it is incredible!

By Ederson A d L M

May 31, 2021

There are some references to content that are no longer available or that require some form of registration on external sites. In addition, there are many errors in the tests and there is no answer or solution to the questions asked in the forum.

By Deleted A

Mar 26, 2020

in general terms the course is good, its teachers and didactic material, but this course presents several outdated material links, too outdated article readings, I found several from 2013 backwards.

Please review this for future students.

By Beat S

Nov 12, 2018

Some links did not work ore have been outdated.

One test was not possible to fulfill with the Chrome browser, same answers in an onother browser have been correct!

Weekly final test often not corresponding with the lecture

By George T

Apr 19, 2021

The course is a good primer for beginner learners; very rarely does the course content dig deeper than the high-level explanation of topics. Lots of typos and errors in the course materials spoil the learning experience.

By Meng B

Sep 9, 2021

I​ enjoyed the course. Would have preferred less use of wikipedia as I am unsure of the quality of the information but I did my own research. Will definitely look through and sign up for other courses.

By Angela C

Oct 15, 2018

The content was interesting and informative, except for the Open Banking Project site where the links no longer work (404 error), but the quizzes are awful. I would not recommend this course to others.

By Maria A F

Jun 10, 2020

Kindly update the broken links with new resources. Would appreciate as well if the lectures are in depth rather than just merely relying and directing students to read on outside resources

By Kartikay A

Jul 25, 2020

Started off very well, touching upon a variety of relevant topics. But as the course progressed, the quality seemed to deteriorate. Really had to struggle with the last assessment.

By Yeliena K

Dec 16, 2020

Good overview of history of money, fintech part needs updates: many article either just not behind the link anymore, or just obsolete (2014 fintech predictions for 2020 course?)

By Sridhar T

Jul 10, 2018

There is not much original content from the school. It only used internet based references. Any material from the school's own research department would be much more helpful

By Georgio S

Nov 26, 2020

The course should be title Beginners as the topics introduced are the basics of Fintech. Also many references to Wikipedia which is not a credible source of information