Chevron Left
Back to The Effect of Fires on People, Property and the Environment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Effect of Fires on People, Property and the Environment by University of Maryland, College Park

4.7
stars
433 ratings
147 reviews

About the Course

Fires impact people, property and the environment in all countries around the world. In some cases, the resulting losses are extraordinary, causing hundreds of deaths, widespread damage to property and contents and significant impacts on the environment. More often, fires may cause a single casualty or affect a single home, though the effects are still highly significant to those affected and collectively are substantial. This course will provide an overview of the challenges posed by fire as well as the fire safety solutions that are available to meet those challenges....

Top reviews

PS

Mar 13, 2020

The course is designed in a brilliant manner so that everybody can understand it in a very efficient manner. The course content is right on the spot and the topics are explained in nice manner.

JC

Jan 27, 2020

☼ A very comprehensive review, on a topic I did not know enough about! Great course. Especially for those who live in Australia or California and want to understand fires better.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 145 Reviews for The Effect of Fires on People, Property and the Environment

By Earl J A

Jun 21, 2022

G​reat coarse!

By Akintunde G

May 11, 2019

Great Course.

By abdulla a

Jun 20, 2020

It was good

By LUIS W S

Dec 26, 2021

didáctico

By Gabriel C C

May 29, 2019

excellent

By Asempah J Y

Feb 20, 2021

GREAT

By MOHAMMED M

May 6, 2017

great

By Haastrup D O

May 17, 2021

Good

By ARSHAD S 1

Aug 21, 2020

Nice

By Bruno P N

Dec 20, 2017

The material needs to be reviewed, there are some errors in exercises, links that do not open the destinations and videos that were taken off the air. I think there should also be an improvement in the quality of the images, such as tables, calculations, etc. in the presentations, because in many cases, it is not possible to visualize their content. In addition, the course has a good level of teaching and learning. I hope they can create more advanced courses, such as fire load calculations, fire risk management, and teach how to calculate exhaust systems, water dispersal in sprinkler systems. Congratulations and thanks for the opportunity to enrich your knowledge. To the next.

By Diwakar

Apr 20, 2020

Yes! The course content provided is outstanding. the best thing is every lecture is full of real examples. Which make us to get more clear understanding of the topic by relating the theory to practical examples. Being a non USA resident, I was thinking the codes and rules provided are irrelevant to me but when I went through the Indian standards and codes then I realized actually the concepts are almost common.

By Jan S

Mar 25, 2020

The course is designed so well, really loved to be a learner. Professors are explaining the concepts in beautiful manner. I think more courses should be offered by University of Maryland. Hope everybody will sharpen their understanding of fire & its effects.

Lastly, I would like to suggest that the quality of lectures video should be improved for upcoming students.

By Safuwan A

Oct 13, 2016

Its amazing how the general population view fire just in a small perspective as opposed to the broader perspective, this course has made me to understand. Its amazing how this course has made bare all the facets of fire and its management. I really enjoyed the course....

By Ruben A

May 21, 2019

Good information. I want to thank all the instructors for putting together this course. It is a basic introduction to the subject. I wish there where more courses with a greater level of depth.

By Jianhua H

Oct 29, 2016

entry level, very basic concepts for professionals. It would be very good for anyone who wants to know about fire protection engineering. No background is needed, but engineering background

By Marco R

Nov 24, 2016

This course is a great introduction to fire safety engineering, it gives a clear overview about the subject. I really hope there will be more courses on this topic!

By Elia I L C

Jan 28, 2018

It's just what I expected!! It is great.

Except Module 2, it was like hours of unnecessary commercial adds for young people who doesnt know what to study.

By Patnaikuni P K

Jun 19, 2017

The course is helpful for all Safety professionals.. I am happy to take this course which had provided me the insight knowledge of effects of fire.

By Carlos B G

Jun 25, 2020

This a good introductory course for those wanting to get a first look at the complex world of fire protection engineering.

By Arise P M

Sep 14, 2020

Nice content and explained neetly but could have included Fire Design like sprinkler, Fire Alarm Design etc

By Samir T

May 11, 2021

its a good start for someone into fire protection engineering! It ain't that deep, but its a good brief.

By Oscar E S S

Dec 4, 2017

Good course, but very general, it gives you an approach of the Fire Protection carreer.

By Megan E

Nov 23, 2016

great course but I cant seem to get a certificate even after paying and finishing it

By Keshon S

Oct 12, 2020

It was a great experience, learning new and improved studies as it relates to fire

By João N

Jan 17, 2018

Objective and precise information, good presentation, reasonable duration.