Chevron Left
Back to Writing in First Person Point of View

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in First Person Point of View by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
109 ratings

About the Course

If you have always wanted to tell your own story—in a memoir, first-person essay, or any other form of autobiographical non-fiction—but felt you lacked the tools or the framework, this is the class for you. We will learn how successful first-person writing is structured to offer the reader a sense of propulsive motion, and is guided by a narrator who is deliberately crafted. We will explore the ways in which language can be used to create tone, so that the emotional freight of your words is as potent as the storytelling. And crucially, we will consider the writer's responsibility to the reader: the importance of being a guide who includes the reader in the sensory, emotional, and intellectual experience you mean to share through your writing....

Top reviews

AR

Jul 27, 2020

The assignments were very helpful with looking at my story in different ways. I now have an idea of how to elevate my story from a journal into a memoir.

MS

Feb 22, 2021

Such a dynamic teacher. I cant wait to read her memoir.

She speaks clearly, its accessible and its dynamic. I loved every lecture and assignment.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 54 Reviews for Writing in First Person Point of View

By Jummai

Dec 28, 2019

Ariel Levy was absolutely engaging throughout the class and she really opened up my mind to my writing potential.

By Sarah S

Aug 10, 2020

I appreciated Ariel Levy's tips, reading selections and also the particular exercises. All of it stretched me.

By Kondilo S

Aug 11, 2020

Ariel, thoroughly enjoyed your sessions, your approachable style and the sharing of your insights. Thank you.

By AJITSA A

Oct 30, 2020

Brilliant teaching. This course got me organized enough and out of my head. It's improved my writing 1000%!

By 戴武俊

Sep 29, 2020

The course really helped me to look back and analyze some incidents in my life and make a story out of it.

By Filia G

Dec 19, 2019

The mini-lectures are gold in mouth guidance, and the weekly assignments are well-thought drills!

By Ronald L W S

May 20, 2020

This is a great course. I am going to study for the whole specialization. Highly recommended!

By Michelle L V

Nov 25, 2020

Loving this course. I am motivated by the professors/writers and have learned so much.

By Caroni L

Jun 20, 2021

Fantastically helpful. I learned a great deal and my writing shows it. Thank you.

By Amanda S

Nov 17, 2020

Ariel Levy is an engaging instructor with excellent examples and helpful advice.

By Elisabeth B

Jun 23, 2020

This was a fantastic course with engaging lectures and challenging assignments.

By Edgar A

Dec 14, 2020

Entedereas los pros y los contras de lo que haces y como mejorarlo dia a dia.

By Tamara S

Jul 20, 2020

didnt pay so didnt have complete access.

but what i saw was great.

thankyou

By Ana K E B

May 28, 2020

Excellent course to learn how to express your opinion.

By Liliane M

May 10, 2019

Ariel Levy's personality and passion is contagious.

By Honour P

Jul 18, 2022

It was challenging and informative all the way

By Caroline D

Feb 19, 2021

Ariel Levy delivers this course excellently!

By Pawee S

Jul 4, 2020

I learned very good ideas from the lecturer

By Mare

Jun 5, 2020

Instructor was engaging. Material helpful

By Erica S

May 22, 2020

I loved Miss Levy.

By Pamela K

Aug 11, 2020

I

By Victoria R

Sep 23, 2020

This was a great course, content-wise, and Ariel Levy definitely gets 5 stars. BUT, the review process is clearly broken. It is difficult to get one's own work to review, and to review others', even when the forums are filled with people pleading for reviewers. And then the links in those forum posts don't work much of the time. And I understand that many people take these courses to improve their English skills, but it seems there might be better ways to do that. It is simply not helpful when the 'peer review' is nothing but one word typed randomly into the rubric box instead of a genuine answer to the question. And it is difficult to know how to 'grade' someone who has not understood the assignment at all. Please develop a way to make this process more transparent and effective, so that the mechanics of the course might do justice to the fantastic instructors like Ms. Levy, Amy Bloom, et al.

By Austin M

Oct 19, 2022

Great information in the course and very interesting assignments. While this is not the courses fault, the peer reviews I recieved on assignments had very little effort put into them, sometimes just a one word yes or no answer to a prompt with multiple open ended questions. It is very frustrating that other people are not taking the course seriously, which dampens the class experience. It would be nice if coursera moderated more. Otherwise I thouroughly enjoyed it!

By Constance F M

Mar 15, 2021

I enjoyed Ariel Levy's perspective conveyed by the videos and assignments. I disliked that I had to keep checking back repeatedly to peer review others' assignments and that there were never any to review. Completion of the course was linked to submitting writing assignments and doing peer reviews. But if there are never any assignments to review, how are students supposed to complete the course by deadline?

By Viviana H

Oct 10, 2020

Me gustó mucho el curso. La profesora fue excelente. No me gustó que algunos de mis pares tomaran el curso y no realizaran las tareas.