Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions by École Polytechnique

4.8
stars
568 ratings
157 reviews

About the Course

What is fluid-solid interactions ? It is what happens when the motions of a fluid and of a solid are somehow coupled. This happens all the time, around you when leaves flutter in the wind, inside you when your heart beats, above you when wings of a plane vibrate, under the sea... The idea behind this MOOC is to give you the basic tools to be able to predict and eventually mitigate things called flutter, galloping, sloshing, vortex-induced vibrations, added mass, to cite a few. We are going to consider any possible domains of applications such as civil engineering, aerospace engineering, nuclear engineering , ocean engineering, biomechanics and even food processing ! This is why we called the course “Fundamentals of Fluid Solid Interactions ”. There are so many phenomena and so many models that we need to work together on the basic mechanisms . If you want to see how fluid-solid interactions work, and be able to use that knowledge, join us ! A first session of the course was run in early 2016, with learners from over 100 countries. It is now available with subtitles, in English and now in Chinese. See the video at http://goo.gl/YKSMnD...

Top reviews

MM
May 30, 2020

Got some knowledge about FSI . It is very much interesting with lots of experimental demonstration and the reason on its effect. Thank you Very much for such a wonderful course

KS
Mar 24, 2019

A fantastic course with great instructors and great examples. I like the comparisons between theory and practical. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Awesome work

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 157 Reviews for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

By Mohammad S K

Jul 23, 2020

It covers all the relevant topics related to fluid-structure interaction.I will like to suggest to please involve a session for numerical problems and their solution so we can understand better and work with confidence while working on the Assignment.

By Spoonosaurus

Dec 21, 2020

Very good and thorough course on fluid-solid interactions with great illustration from research, industry or experiments. Great overview of main effects of interactions (added mass, dumping, rigidity etc) as well as resonance phenomena.

By Surya_Narayan

May 13, 2020

I have never found a more mathematically vigorous yet so comprehensive course till date. This course all the more pushes you to understand the hidden meaning inside equations as we obtain in mechanics. Wonderful piece of work!

By Koushik M

Jun 5, 2018

This is a very good course to start-off with Fluid Solid interactions. The course content is well organized and very neatly explained at a fundamental level, which enhances the understanding of the course recipients.

By Alan P

Mar 21, 2021

Excellent Course!! It gave me a tremendous insight on how fluid and solid mechanics interact with each other in many interesting ways. Would recommend for any engineer who seeks to know how the world around us work.

By Maxime E

Mar 10, 2020

Cours très intéressant et donne les clés pour comprendre une grande variété de phénomènes. Un seul petit bémol, les questions numériques sur les quizz pourraient être syntaxiquement et numériquement plus laxistes.

By Balaji K

May 14, 2020

Professor explained concepts very clearly and also in a systematic way of approach. It is very easy to follow the lectures and able to understand many complex problems. Thank you so much for your contribution.

By Sushanth S S

Aug 12, 2020

I am extremely thankful to this entire team for putting up this course in such a simplified and awesome way. This concepts have helped me in my ongoing projects and am sure that will help in upcoming ones too.

By BAIRI S

Jun 13, 2019

Highly appreciate the entire team for making the subject comprehensible. I would like to suggest a small background course on the mathematics and solid dynamics, for the advanced version of this course.

By Cheriet

Apr 2, 2018

je peux pas terminer mes cours, car il y a un problème de téléchargement , quelque part ici, je pense il est de ma part, je ressaye ultérieurement , je les achète , merci c'est formidable, à bientôt

By LE

Nov 5, 2020

This course was helpful to understand the basics of fluid-solid interactions. The "research project" videos give a great opprtunity to explore different aspects of the subject.

By Maheswaran M

May 31, 2020

Got some knowledge about FSI . It is very much interesting with lots of experimental demonstration and the reason on its effect. Thank you Very much for such a wonderful course

By 경태 임

Jan 23, 2019

This is wonderful lecture. In this lecture, professor elaborate windows in graph, two-way phenomenon, instabilities, vibrations, and fluid-structure interaction.

By Pedro F G O

Feb 14, 2018

A wonderful exposition to the subject, pretty good examples, ideal for any one that it is interested to comprehend more in deep fluid-solid interactions.

By Yaknesh S

Jan 8, 2018

This is really a great experience. thanks to coursera giving me a finiancial aid and helping me develop my knowledge. Simply thank you a lot coursera...

By Manas A

Nov 17, 2017

Everything is explained in detail and it did improved my understanding of the concepts of fluid and solid interaction. It is an very interesting course.

By Anubhav j

Jun 9, 2020

I love this course. This includes mathematical and experimental techniques to understand.

Also getting advanced introduction of fluid-solid interaction

By KARTHIK R N

May 30, 2020

It is an intermediate paper explaining the concepts & applications of aero - elasticity, vibrations and structural interactions with a fluid flow.

By Deleted A

Jul 25, 2017

It was a very well explained course.

I would suggest you to provide another course in this field at advanced level compared to this level.

By Rahul S

Oct 31, 2016

Got a lot to take back from this course. It's very rare to find courses online on this topic! Thank to EPFL teaching faculty and Coursera!

By Sangeet S S

Feb 29, 2020

A truly amazing course. I definitely learned a lot from this. I especially appreciate the mathematical rigor used to derive the results.

By Mubashir U

May 26, 2020

Course was immensely full of fascinating knowledge and made me more curious about learning various aspects of Fluid Solid interactions.

By Girish B

Jul 1, 2020

The course is excellent.. I would recommend this course all mechanical engineers in the research field of Fluid-Solid Interactions..

By Rahul V

Jun 27, 2020

Extremely satisfied with the presentation of all the course material and the laboratory demonstrations were particularly stimulating.

By Rajanya C

Sep 4, 2020

Absolutely loved the course. Saved some parts to brush up at further times. Extremely lucid yet high quality teaching as expected.