Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
16,462 ratings
4,954 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

SD

Aug 07, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

Filter by:

4176 - 4200 of 4,903 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Coco C

Apr 08, 2019

Overall, it is a pretty good course. However, if you have already known some nutritional science, it might be too easy for you.

By Bernard A D

Aug 05, 2017

Very good information consolidated from many of the sources I have seen or read previously. Very good production value as well.

By Matthias L

Jul 09, 2017

Good overview on how to improve overall health but a little simplistic for individuals with a scientific or medical background.

By Amaury G M O

Jun 20, 2016

Simple and clear way to approach food, but it would be great if we could add more nutritional science and physiology based info

By Ketan K

Jun 19, 2020

Got a good introduction to nutrition and health. My biggest takeaway is to try cooking myself which I haven't done in my life.

By Deborah L

May 14, 2017

Interesting introduction that raises the key points and have us thinking about how we can improve our habits to eat healthier.

By Tomilola O

May 21, 2020

THIS COURSE IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO EVERYONE IN THE FOOD INDUSTRY. THIS IS REALLY AN EYE OPENER.

THANK YOU FOR THE PRIVILEGE.

By maria m m a

May 10, 2020

Es una buena guía para llevar una alimentación más saludable y aplicar el autocuidado en la nutrición individual y colectiva.

By ramiz k

Apr 15, 2020

Helpful course on understanding the crucial things about the food we eat, also on how can we cultivate healthy eating habits.

By Suzilene A

May 21, 2020

Simple and very elucidative. With a simple language and terms drive us to desmistify our concept and idea of eat and health.

By Mohamed E

Dec 31, 2019

a Great course, yet i would've like to be given much more science explaining why the encourage or discourage certain things.

By Debra M

May 09, 2020

Brief but enjoyable course. Well presented and informative. Especially liked the segments which included Michael Pollan.

By Aarthi R

Nov 14, 2017

Good initiative to bring awareness about food because i believe that "we are, what we eat". thank you for wonderful course.

By Annelise E

Aug 24, 2017

very useful information, perhaps more scientific content to make it more challenging than just social effects of nutrition.

By Dafne E M

Jun 16, 2020

It was good, they promise what it appeared on the title. I love the healthy diet Maya give to us at the end of the course.

By Neha N S

Jun 10, 2020

It is a beautiful course , it gives us an insight about why food plays an important role to lead a healthy and happy life.

By Ella M

May 21, 2020

It was a really enjoyable course. The material was not difficult and the content was informative.

Super easy and carefree

By Maria P V G

May 11, 2020

It helps a lot with what food to choose, how to take better care of yourself and how to feel satisfied with what you eat.

By Shouvik B

May 08, 2020

Scientific matters explained in a very lucid and friendly way. Easy for learning to all ages of people. Excellent course.

By Haysha S

Jul 24, 2017

This was a great introductory course. It gives you a good basic outline of nutrition, and some practical tips and recipes

By Rodolfo W

Feb 19, 2016

Would have enjoyed to have been shown examples of breakfast, lunch, and dinners for people that are just getting started.

By Serhani A

Jun 01, 2020

highly recommanded as introductory to healthy food. General ideas that give enthousiasm to learn more about the subject.

By MURACCIOLI

Dec 18, 2018

Very informational. Some videos seemed a bit easy but I guess it is needed to remind the basic principles ! I enjoyed it

By Elena T

May 17, 2018

The first week was the most interesting and helpful in order to understand the science behind all this issue. Thank you!