Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
22,318 ratings
6,625 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

VI
Jan 18, 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

TL
Sep 30, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filter by:

6276 - 6300 of 6,631 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Jennifer H

Feb 1, 2016

This seems like a good overview for those new to the kitchen, and/or health concerns more generally. For someone interested in deepening their understanding, it's of more limited value--but it is presented as an introduction. I wish there were readings to supplement the videos.

By Susan M M

Sep 1, 2017

I enjoyed most of the information in this course. The last week recipes and instructions seemed ridiculous as it was out of sync with: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants." I would have appreciated some plant based recipes. These recipes had too much dairy and meat. <3

By Jessie Z

Mar 16, 2016

It was filled with a lot of interesting, pertinent information but I did feel that there was not enough variety in terms of interviews and I do wish that she had delved more into some of the topics. I understand it was an overview but I often felt that it was very brief.

By Sarah M J

Feb 3, 2016

I was hoping for something a little more technical. This course might be good for someone who has no previous knowledge of the nutrition content of food or how to cook. It would be perfect for kids getting ready to head off to college who've never cooked for themselves.

By mihail m

Sep 22, 2020

A good beginners course that is well presented and easy to follow along. Kind of behind of raising awareness on the damage eating meat and dairy causes on a personal level, and a global level, but a good first step for the well intended, misinformed people out there.

By Patsy D

Jun 29, 2018

Most of the concepts are very straight forward. I have been on and out of diets since I was 12 years old, at least the first week was a different approach, the rest was common sense. I would like to do deeper into the topics of nutrients and choosing better options.

By Cyril P

Jul 1, 2019

Some good advices, but it lakes of amounts and informations are rapidly repetitives (i'm french, so perhaps those informations are for me mainstream and that's why i find it repetitive).

It's actually helpful to begin my own seach but i expecteted more informations

By Milica S

Jul 21, 2021

The course was short and easy to digest. Both moderators are easy to understand and ideas are transmitted in a clear and coherent way. It seems as though there are too few key notions and maybe different public than myself would draw a lot more to learn from it.

By Chloe P

Feb 8, 2021

I was a bit underwhelmed with the information in this course. It was definitely a "Nutrition 101" and I would recommend it for someone who has little to no knowledge of food & health. I did take away a few good points but overall would have liked a deeper dive.

By Virat M

Sep 6, 2019

A very basic course just skimming over information. I wish that more in-depth material was included. I got the feeling that it was designed to promote M. Pollan's books and point of view. Nevertheless, there were some useful tips and hence the 3-star rating.

By Christian P R

Mar 3, 2019

As with almost the totality of all courses produced by HarvardX, the production quality is world class.

Despite this being an introductory course, I expected more knowledge to be included. But this is a subjective review so whatever. What is reality?

By Maria B

May 4, 2020

Very basic. It could use much more in depth material. I would recommend it to someone who was absolutely no knowledge of food and nutrition, even basics like "do not eat processed foods". For someone who has basic knowledge, this is not very useful.

By Kim H J

Oct 2, 2018

This course is too easy and too simple that we don't have to learn from the lecture. We already learned most of this course's information from high school, news, or SNS posts. Also, I'm a little doubted about the recipes if these are really healthy.

By Marilyn P

Jun 2, 2020

The course was very simplistic but I guess it was an introduction. I stopped watching the recipe videos when everything had sugar and/or Nutella. Nutella has zero nutritional value. Really? A program on health and all the recipes have sugar?

By Kyuhyun C

Oct 9, 2020

Probably not for people who are looking for academic knowledge or a lecture that takes a theoretical approach toward nutritional science. It seems to be more fit for the general public who want to learn how to make healthier choices for eating.

By L A

Jul 15, 2017

It was really easy... perhaps too easy IMO. I barely had to focus or think throughout the lecture videos or the quizzes. The course provided me with facts that I already knew about. However, I found that the recipes were creative and helpful.

By William H

May 20, 2020

I was hoping there would be more breakdowns of nutrients at a molecular level, and why your body needs them. This course offered a superficial understanding of those nutrients. However it offered a guideline of how to organize your plate.

By Peter S

Nov 28, 2017

A very enjoyable course, but a little on the 'light side'. Good fun to watch, but not as rigorous as many other MOOCs. Though to be fair, the course only claims to be an introduction to the topic. The lecturer is certainly not boring.

By Sandra M

Apr 6, 2017

I actually enjoyed this class very much, but it doesn't go very deep in the topic. The questions to the quiz are very easy to answer to. In my opinion, this class is great for a general public, but it is not an university level course.

By ApointB

Mar 4, 2021

Very useful for starters and for those who have just begun to implement some changes for the better in their nutrition, but there's not much for those who are a bit ahead in the journey. Perhaps should consider making a part two.

By Garry L

Jan 25, 2020

Great course. Very interesting. I skipped all the recipes etc at the end. I think if they were more practical using very simple ingredients on a budget with each meal taking no more than 20 minutes with least labels?

By Patricia S

Nov 16, 2020

This course serves as a part of a foundation to healthier eating with practical tips on shopping,choices of foods and cooking. So because the content had these several areas,it made the course more realistic

By joseluis

May 6, 2020

Foi um curso incrível que me permitiu ser muito mais consciente do que eu estava comendo e me forçou a me esforçar para alcançar um estilo de vida mais saudável. No geral, foi muito divertido e informativo!

By Courtney D

Oct 4, 2019

I found this course very basic and almost all of what was said was pretty obvious to me. I would say this course is more suitable to people who have absolutely no knowledge about nutrition, food and health.

By Juan H C

May 4, 2018

I expected more depth in the nutrition side, like meals and drink that prevent some nutrients absortion and shouldn't be mixed with the meals providing those nutrients. But I guess it's ok for introduction.