Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
20,406 ratings
6,128 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CN
May 13, 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

JG
Jan 22, 2021

Love how Maya presented the course and I especially love the cooking sessions featuring her cute kids. I am looking forward to reading her book or if she has any YT account featuring more home cooking

Filter by:

5126 - 5150 of 6,075 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By amir p z

Sep 3, 2018

I was always confused with the label of food product that I wanted to buy, this short course helped me figure out what to buy and what not to buy

By Pedaprolu R

Jan 25, 2018

Very good course and helpful I recommended this course in my circle to know what we eat daily thank you for this opportunity to learn this course

By Kat G

Sep 26, 2017

A good introduction. I was hoping for something a little more scientific, but for anyone just starting on a healthy lifestyle, it would be great!

By Rana M

Jul 23, 2017

I enjoyed this course so much. The content was very clear and essential but might have been too concise. I wish it was a little longer.

Thank you

By Vicky M

Sep 4, 2020

This course has less workload compared to other courses, but despite the short lengthen videos, they still provide an immense amount of details.

By Kawthar A

May 10, 2020

gives the basics of eating healthy, macronutrients, processed and home-made food difference and encourages doing small changes in dietary habits

By Gareth S

Jul 11, 2020

Very informative on the basic fundamentals of nutrition. Very nice to recap on what i went over a few years back. Simple and easy to understand

By Khabirova M

Jul 2, 2020

Hello! I liked the course. Short, understandable course. Found a lot of useful things. I made some notes so as not to forget.

Thanks Maya Adam!

By Saurabh P

Jun 4, 2016

Simplicity and good piece knowledge about fundamentals of food and related habits throughout the course keeps the person bound with the course.

By Paula K a I S

Sep 22, 2020

Great course. Wish went more into the details on science and nutrition aspects. Great depth of info on behavioral change options and recipes.

By arya s

May 7, 2020

It is very informative and very simple to understand but don't expect very deep information or knowledge but still its a worth course rated 4

By Iolanda A

Mar 3, 2019

Muito bom curso! Contudo, parece haver algum problema na actualização dos dados pessoais e informação para emissão do certificado. Saudações!

By R w

Mar 25, 2020

It was very informative. it is an introduction it is not for someone who has already had some classes or knowledge of this topic. I like it.

By Tom H

Feb 9, 2016

I found this course to be very informative. It is nicely paced and allows you to gain some insight into the whole issue of diet and health.

By Anton F

Jun 12, 2018

It's a very basic introduction which I think a lot of people can find useful. I felt it was more like a good reminder on how to be healthy.

By Yijun L

Oct 19, 2020

informative yet too basic. easy and helpful for daily choices. i finished the entire course in less than 2 hrs, so not that waste of time.

By Vishal N

May 11, 2020

Really good course for all of us. Kudos to Dr.Maya Adam for delivering such important and simple concepts of nutrition to the common folk.

By Andreea A C

Dec 22, 2019

I have expected a bit more in depth information about nutrients but in the end i was content and happy with how the course was structured.

By Nikhil M

Jul 20, 2017

Very well explained nice course for beginners. Thank you entire team of Coursera, Maya and Michel for sharing the important facts of food.

By charanya c

Mar 4, 2018

Good course to get your health fundamentals right and get some basic tips to start building a healthy lifestyle. Definitely recommend it.

By Irina N

Aug 1, 2017

Rather interesting but i don't understand the necessity of including recipes in the course body, a link to web site would be just enough.

By Viktorija M

Nov 8, 2016

It is quite good course for beginners and for everyone, who want to check out their knowledge and thoughts about nutrition vs. real food.

By Pelin A

Jan 17, 2021

I was expecting more information about nutrients but I am very happy with what I learn. Thank you very much for this beneficial subject.

By Patricia M

Sep 22, 2020

The Course was very compact and informative. I touched on various food and health issues. It literally whets your appetite to learn more

By Kalyan K

Feb 9, 2019

Loved the way the videos are designed to make us understand the importance of nutrition before establishing what nutrition basically is.