Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
20,303 ratings
6,106 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

NK
Feb 24, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

VI
Jan 18, 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

Filter by:

5176 - 5200 of 6,052 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Rodolfo W

Feb 18, 2016

Would have enjoyed to have been shown examples of breakfast, lunch, and dinners for people that are just getting started.

By Serhani A

Jun 1, 2020

highly recommanded as introductory to healthy food. General ideas that give enthousiasm to learn more about the subject.

By MURACCIOLI

Dec 18, 2018

Very informational. Some videos seemed a bit easy but I guess it is needed to remind the basic principles ! I enjoyed it

By Elena T

May 17, 2018

The first week was the most interesting and helpful in order to understand the science behind all this issue. Thank you!

By santi d a

Aug 4, 2017

I love this course, very helpful and give me more information about health and good life.

Thank you very much,

Santi Dwi A

By Angel A A D

Oct 27, 2016

It's great for basic information, but it is very common sense, a little bit of more in depth information could be added

By Sathya P

Aug 8, 2016

Hi there

This course is very useful for basic learners and very useful to everyone irrespective subjects!!

Thank you

By Nagashravya R

Sep 11, 2020

This course really changed my perspectives towards food. I enjoyed doing it. Quite improved knowledge also, Thank you.

By Nicole A T S M

Sep 21, 2018

Its really well made, super understandable and basic but for my taste could have little less animal products. Thanks😊

By Negash A

Feb 22, 2016

This course is informative course. Somehow, it may require some basic knowledge. Thank you and I have learned a lot.

By Leo M

Jan 6, 2018

Great introduction to the topic! Would have liked to learn more, specifically about hard facts/scientific references.

By John T

Feb 26, 2017

Good information for those beginning to understand nutrition. I also highly recommend reading Michael Pollan's books.

By Cheng L

Apr 16, 2016

Very basic course with lots of common sense. But could be good for someone who never thought about their diet before.

By Lulu

Apr 15, 2016

simple, easy to follow, for everyone. Not really a "course" per se. Not many real nutrition "courses" on Coursera. :(

By Isabel V

Jun 6, 2020

Very pleasant teacher ! Content was bit poor though. I wish I could have learned more instead of a bunch of recipes.

By Edward N S

May 23, 2021

Very useful course on the personal level.It provides excellent advice on food preference, cooking and eating habits

By Mariia R

Jun 18, 2020

Liked it a lot, but felt the info given could have been deeper and more complex.

Thank you a lot for your hard work!

By Anika S

Jun 11, 2019

I hoped to learn more about food then about health and how to cook. But in general it was a very interesting course

By Emma T J

Mar 17, 2016

Good introductory course covering a wide range of concepts. I particularly liked the lecturer - good tone and pace.

By Eddie H

May 24, 2021

very inspiring . Recommendations are clear and easy to follow. Highly recommended course for improving ones health

By Ridhi K M

Apr 15, 2021

This course gives good idea about basics of food, nutrition and the changes we can make in everyday eating habits.

By Йордан М

Jan 17, 2021

I enjoyed the course Stanford Introduction to Food and Health. It gives basic information on how to eat healthier.

By Amit T

Feb 10, 2018

It was an informative course which was explained well, keeping in mind that the concepts explained are understood.

By Anna M

Jun 16, 2017

It can serve a good source of information for a person who wants to change his/her lifestyle to the healthier one.

By Tomas J

Mar 3, 2016

Easy to understand, easy to follow up. Love the recipes, hence these just prove, cooking ain´t complicated at all.