Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
20,263 ratings
6,096 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

SD
Aug 6, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

CN
May 13, 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

Filter by:

5201 - 5225 of 6,038 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Gina P

Mar 1, 2016

Great basic information about nutrition and health. I wish it would go a little bit deeper into each nutrient.

By Julie K

Jan 26, 2016

Simple and to the point. Good practical tips to lead a healthier life style while enjoying a variety of foods.

By 14 C S

Apr 13, 2021

it's a basic introductory course stanford should give a full course also.

but this is very useful information.

By Bablu P

Oct 20, 2020

Great initiative to help people realize, What is necessary to do in order to prevent obesity or malnutrition.

By Ayushi J

May 12, 2020

Loved the course. Especially how clearly it states about the food habits one needs to create to stay healthy.

By Michael A O

Feb 5, 2019

This was a very concise and functional course. A lot of Important Information was covered and well explained.

By vasu n

Apr 23, 2017

Thanyou for the course .its informative. I wish there is more metabolic description and consumer behaviour

By Zhu b

May 10, 2016

It is so useful.Especially the professor will teach you how to cook and I felt so hunger when I was watching.

By John C

Mar 1, 2016

Basic information useful for those without much knowledge of nutrition or want a review about healthy eating

By Sweety G

Oct 1, 2020

It was fantastic learning online course.it has taught me how takecare healthy lifestyle using healthy food.

By abhi j

Feb 15, 2021

I was hoping for something more detailed but since it is an introductory course I find it awesome as well.

By SOURABH J

Aug 5, 2019

it is spectacular and it is basis of food which is known by each every person and it can be much more good

By Jourdan L

Dec 3, 2020

Very Informative, gave many facts about nutrition that I did not know. Had some great recipes at the end.

By Jordan G

Jul 15, 2020

Basic nutrition course. Great for beginners and those interested in learning about their diets and how to

By Pía V

May 13, 2020

Es muy claro y preciso para alguien principiante. Explica muy bien la bases de la alimentación saludable.

By prasad p

Apr 15, 2020

course is designed in such a way that gives conceptula clarity and understanding of food related aspects

By Gina

Aug 10, 2019

Easy, interactive, entertaining. Practical advice to eat, cook and shop better. Definitely recommend it.

By David S Y C

Dec 20, 2018

Good course , for introducing people on the nutritional aspect. I obtained some ideas for cooking meals.

By Jacob O

Nov 7, 2017

Very informative and easy to understand.

A few more practical suggestions/advice would make it a 5-star!

By Marino E P D

Jan 24, 2017

It's a very nice course. I learn a lot thing related with how to improve my health and my eating habits.

By Sharolyn V

Jul 30, 2020

Loved this course! It's a great course to start with if you want to expand your knowledge of nutrition.

By Deleted A

Jul 28, 2020

A nice basic overview of healthy eating. Why you should do it and the deleterious effects if you don't.

By Parul A

Jun 21, 2020

It is a very good course very informative.I wish it should have intermediate and advanced level as well

By Bottenheft

Sep 2, 2019

Very informative. Gives a very good insight and increases awareness on how food and health are related.