Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
22,876 ratings
6,729 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CN
May 13, 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

SD
Aug 6, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 6,740 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Balachandran N

May 17, 2021

Very good course.very essential for every human being. Difference between the Processed food and homemade food is explained clearly MrsMaya p Receipeses is also good. Within short period how we can prepare healthy food is explained to us by Mrs. Maya. Hats off to her.

By Trailer

Feb 14, 2016

This class helps me to realize the significance of foods and health.I had a bad dietary habits,then I have been fat and some chronic diseases.I thought i was lazy and didn't know how to deal with it.But now,i determine to have a healthier diet and lifestyle.

THANK YOU!

By Raquel E S

May 11, 2020

it's basic, easy, comprehensible and accurate for people who are struggling with overweight or people who simply need a push towards adopting a healthier lifestyle.

For people looking to gain professional knowledge in the field of nutrition, it is not the perfect fit

By Samar A

Apr 21, 2020

This course is amazing. It shows the importance of cooking food at home, what should we eat and what should we avoid eating and how to choose healthy options during shopping. This course is a must if you care about your health. Thank you so much Maya for this course.

By MOHAMMEDASIF M S

Jan 30, 2019

Hi my name is asif because of this course i have take the opportunity to expand my knowledge and grow my skills . From this course i have leraned more about our health, nutrients, healthy tips and many more. so , i am thanking to give chance to me , Thank you so much

By Cynthia G

May 23, 2018

¡Excelente curso! Aprendí muchísimas cosas que no pensé fueran importantes para una buena alimentación. También aprendí algunos tips sobre algunos alimentos ahora me queda claro que tomaré en cuenta todo lo que aprendí para alimentarme adecuadamente. Congratulations!

By Zhanar T

Apr 30, 2021

It is really very useful and vaulable course that explains how important it is to choose and plan your meal, not to feel hungry instead of feeling full. I like the mantras recommended!!! The recipes are simple, healthy and easy to cook! Enjoyed the course immensely!

By MAHASIN S

Mar 8, 2021

I really learned and re-learned information that I had in my head. I want to continue with courses like this in the hopes that I can help as many people as possible. I hope to use the Discussion Board more in my next course. Dr. Maya's video's were really engaging.

By Biswajit D

Apr 28, 2018

It is the most scientifically planned course, I have seen in my wife .I am planning to learn more about healthy cooking for the international cuisines to make the world free of obesity in my way .

Let God bless the whole team and make more such courses in the future

By Robe C

Mar 8, 2018

Very good course, I wish the truth about animal products and oils will be told based on the latest evidence

showing that their not meant for the diet of humans... I have not yet being able to retrive my certificate, the app on your web site is not working!

Thank you!

By Shaden A

May 17, 2017

I loved this course, Dr. Adam! Please continue to make more of these videos on nutrition - I would especially love a video customized for college students' nutrition since weight gain is a popular phenomenon either during one's freshman year or throughout undergrad!

By Thy N H

Aug 29, 2018

It is super informative and helpful fur sure. Maya Adam, she is pretty kind. Her voice is so soft that pours word by word to my ears. Through the course, her smile is always on her lips. Finally, Mr. Michael Pollan, I can feel a dedicated mind from the way he said.

By Tania G

Nov 18, 2016

This is a sweet and short course. I loved that many of the things that I already knew from owning a Vegan restaurant and my own research were covered. I learned some of the scientific terms and bodily processes behind the common sense knowledge I had. Great course!

By jeff v

May 19, 2021

Excellent course on food. You get armed with all the info you need to eat healthy. The doc that teaches this class is awesome. The person she interviews is also incredible. Lots of good stuff here. This is a must do course that is only a couple hours to complete.

By Tharuni R

Jul 19, 2018

It was very helpful and easy to understand. On what is the picture of healthy food vs What we consume thinking its heathy. Which is not, I have got a clear understanding for the what good to consume? How much to consume? and What time to consume?

Thank you so much

By pranith k

May 28, 2016

Maya made it look so easy that I completed the whole course in 2-3 hours. I now have an understanding of where I am going wrong with my eating habits. I am not confused about what to eat and how much to eat anymore! I guess I will start cooking more often as well!

By Elizabeth q m

Mar 21, 2021

Muchas gracias por el aprendizaje brindado fue un placer pertenecer al curso .

sus enseñanzas de una magister Maya Adm MD ERES LA MEJOR lo pondré en práctica lo aprendido .con mucha tristeza por motivos de recursos económicos no pude cancelar para el certificado.

By Tania V L

Sep 16, 2018

Excellent course and very informative. All the information was clear and precise. Maya was an excellent teacher, and when she shared about her lifestyle and her children it gave to the course a touch of empathy and credibility. I definitely recommend this course.

By benjamin l

Jul 30, 2016

I'm beginning to take courses on Coursera. This is a four week course but can easily be done in one setting. Great information and material that can be used for a long time.

Easy to follow. I'm going to try some of the recipes that were mentioned! And it's FREE!

By stephanie r

Apr 24, 2016

A very interesting and practical approach to our daily healthy diet. Refreshed some of my ideas about food. especially the last chapter " moderate eating" made me realize I do have over eat problem. ask yourself " are you still hungry " instead of " are you full"

By Abhishek M

Jul 8, 2021

I'm delighted to have this course offered on Food, Health and Nutrition through Coursera ... I learned very well about nutrition and real food and how to read the Nutritional facts on processed foods and many more but hard to find any information on sweeteners.

By Deleted A

Jul 6, 2019

The great course for the one who wants to start eating healthier but doesn't know how. The information is really easy to understand and even I, a person who is not a native English speaker, didn't read the subtitles. I strongly recommend the course to everybody!

By Megan L

Jun 22, 2017

Before beginning this course I felt I had a basic grasp on the principles of nutrition. This course fills in the gaps and provides practical information on how to maintain a healthy, sustainable kitchen (which, in turn, promotes a healthy sustainable lifestyle).

By David B

Jul 3, 2020

The course contains great information about nutrition with useful examples, and also some good recipes. The only item missing would be a conversation about necessary minerals and vitamins. but I guess that would make it a bigger course. So I put 5 stars anyway.

By Fawzia M

Apr 14, 2020

A wonderful experience. Very insightful and informative. Learned so much. This will help me to make necessary changes to my food habits and also for family and friends and the delicious recipes at the end were absolutely inspiring to go and try them out. Thanks