Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
20,277 ratings
6,099 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

SD
Aug 6, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

NK
Feb 24, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

Filter by:

5226 - 5250 of 6,043 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Marino E P D

Jan 24, 2017

It's a very nice course. I learn a lot thing related with how to improve my health and my eating habits.

By Sharolyn V

Jul 30, 2020

Loved this course! It's a great course to start with if you want to expand your knowledge of nutrition.

By Deleted A

Jul 28, 2020

A nice basic overview of healthy eating. Why you should do it and the deleterious effects if you don't.

By Parul A

Jun 21, 2020

It is a very good course very informative.I wish it should have intermediate and advanced level as well

By Bottenheft

Sep 2, 2019

Very informative. Gives a very good insight and increases awareness on how food and health are related.

By Alessandro T

Feb 10, 2018

Detailed explanation regarding history, markets, trends, habits and nutritions. Definitely recommended!

By Bessie G

Feb 1, 2018

Easy understanding, very interesting. Could be better if more information about nutrition is provided.

By Debora R

Jan 24, 2021

Very interesting course! Easy to understand, applicable to real life, very entertaining. I enjoyed it.

By Jingyi R

Jul 30, 2017

Great aspect and explanation, however this is much easier than I thought and I expected to learn more.

By Deborah R

Nov 19, 2020

I liked the course, thank you very much. I`m just surprised to see that you use sugar in your meals.

By Soni

Jun 12, 2020

This gave us a lot of knowledge about nutrition and about the diet plan, how can we make a diet plan.

By Alka k

Apr 19, 2020

Its really amazing , gave a new look to the food we eat and the importance of dietary maintained food

By pınar a p

Feb 11, 2020

it is enough for an introduction level, I would like to have more detailed courses about this subject

By Leo D T

Jun 6, 2017

very good course,

i wish it also explained how diets should differ if you are very physically active.

By Patrice W

Dec 18, 2016

I found the information useful, good introductory course. However, not as challenging as I had hoped.

By Joris P

Feb 23, 2016

the start has a steap learning curve but starts to flatten from the second week. Learned a lot though

By Fatimo A

Feb 22, 2016

I liked everything about this course, from the presentation, to the method of teaching. It was great.

By Konnie L

Nov 19, 2020

I think it is way too easy and basic. But it's still a good reminder as it confirms of what I know.

By Nabajit K B

Mar 14, 2017

Helpful. Got to know lots of things through this course about food. Recommended course for everyone.

By Nina M

Feb 24, 2016

This course was taught well, loved the videos, it was a bit basic but did serve as a great overview.

By Sara M

Jan 13, 2020

The information and guidance to better eating was wonderful, but I wish there was even more detail.

By Joshua D

Jan 22, 2016

I don't know what I expected. This course was quite pedestrian, but it *is* an introductory course.

By Tiffany V S

Jan 8, 2018

great if you literally know nothing about food. it will really give you a lot of food for thought.

By Elsa M

Nov 22, 2016

Basic but you still learn a lot ! Loved the way it was put together... Really entertaining course.

By Misty H

Feb 15, 2016

Good info, maybe a bit basic. Would love a more in depth follow up.

Thanks for all your hard work.