Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
20,685 ratings
6,216 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CN
May 13, 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

NF
Dec 5, 2020

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

Filter by:

5276 - 5300 of 6,183 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Monica L

Nov 4, 2020

Interested course and I have learned a lot of new ricipes. Keep up the good work.

Question

Do I have to pay for the course?

By Ernest C L (

Nov 2, 2020

It was a somewhat informative course. I thought most of it was common sense. I gave it four stars because it was too easy.

By Dafne E M

Jun 15, 2020

It was good, they promise what it appeared on the title. I love the healthy diet Maya give to us at the end of the course.

By Neha N S

Jun 10, 2020

It is a beautiful course , it gives us an insight about why food plays an important role to lead a healthy and happy life.

By Deepanshu B

Dec 9, 2020

The course is really educational and duration is very less. Should give more real life examples for better understanding.

By Ella M

May 21, 2020

It was a really enjoyable course. The material was not difficult and the content was informative.

Super easy and carefree

By Maria P V G

May 11, 2020

It helps a lot with what food to choose, how to take better care of yourself and how to feel satisfied with what you eat.

By Shouvik B

May 8, 2020

Scientific matters explained in a very lucid and friendly way. Easy for learning to all ages of people. Excellent course.

By Haysha S

Jul 24, 2017

This was a great introductory course. It gives you a good basic outline of nutrition, and some practical tips and recipes

By Rodolfo W

Feb 18, 2016

Would have enjoyed to have been shown examples of breakfast, lunch, and dinners for people that are just getting started.

By Serhani A

Jun 1, 2020

highly recommanded as introductory to healthy food. General ideas that give enthousiasm to learn more about the subject.

By MURACCIOLI

Dec 18, 2018

Very informational. Some videos seemed a bit easy but I guess it is needed to remind the basic principles ! I enjoyed it

By Elena T

May 17, 2018

The first week was the most interesting and helpful in order to understand the science behind all this issue. Thank you!

By santi d a

Aug 4, 2017

I love this course, very helpful and give me more information about health and good life.

Thank you very much,

Santi Dwi A

By Angel A A D

Oct 27, 2016

It's great for basic information, but it is very common sense, a little bit of more in depth information could be added

By Sathya P

Aug 8, 2016

Hi there

This course is very useful for basic learners and very useful to everyone irrespective subjects!!

Thank you

By Nagashravya R

Sep 11, 2020

This course really changed my perspectives towards food. I enjoyed doing it. Quite improved knowledge also, Thank you.

By Nicole A T S M

Sep 21, 2018

Its really well made, super understandable and basic but for my taste could have little less animal products. Thanks😊

By Negash A

Feb 22, 2016

This course is informative course. Somehow, it may require some basic knowledge. Thank you and I have learned a lot.

By Leo M

Jan 6, 2018

Great introduction to the topic! Would have liked to learn more, specifically about hard facts/scientific references.

By John T

Feb 26, 2017

Good information for those beginning to understand nutrition. I also highly recommend reading Michael Pollan's books.

By Cheng L

Apr 16, 2016

Very basic course with lots of common sense. But could be good for someone who never thought about their diet before.

By Lulu

Apr 15, 2016

simple, easy to follow, for everyone. Not really a "course" per se. Not many real nutrition "courses" on Coursera. :(

By Isabel V

Jun 6, 2020

Very pleasant teacher ! Content was bit poor though. I wish I could have learned more instead of a bunch of recipes.

By Edward N S

May 23, 2021

Very useful course on the personal level.It provides excellent advice on food preference, cooking and eating habits