Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
25,681 ratings

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

GG

Oct 7, 2021

this course changed my view on healthy eating and also instilled healthy cooking habits in me! I absolutely oved the simple , delicious and healthy recipes! definitely trying them out ! Thank you Maya

VI

Jan 18, 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

Filter by:

2351 - 2375 of 7,493 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By NATALIA L M C

Apr 19, 2020

Muy buen curso sobre introducción a la nutrición y a la salud. Bastante gráfico y muy bien explicado.

By Jesus C

Apr 11, 2020

Excellent course, very didactic when it comes to explaining the relationships between food and health

By Baishakhi S

Dec 24, 2019

this course helps to gain knowledge about how to improve and maintain a healthy lifestyle with Food.

By Luis R

Sep 16, 2019

Very instructive and gets to the point making the information easy to remember and put into practice.

By Mauricio D

Jul 12, 2018

el curso es muy completo, profesional y pertinente, fue una experiencia muy agradable muchas gracias!

By Lisa S

Apr 13, 2018

This is an excellent course for those who care about their and the health of others around the globe.

By Лилиана З

Mar 10, 2018

I just pass my first week class and i enjoy it so much! Lot of useful information. Thank you so much!

By rita t

Oct 19, 2017

Loved the course, the material is easy for beginners level and all information is easy to understand.

By Xue

Aug 28, 2017

Great presentations and additional recipes as bonus. Definitely will recommend this course to others!

By Sara M

Mar 30, 2017

I love the course it is nice for the person that works and wants to take the course at the same time.

By Justin L

Mar 29, 2017

Great course with easy to understand and practical applications to improve your nutrition and health.

By Cristian C

Jan 7, 2017

Very useful, simple and easy to follow advice. Now I understand more about how and what I should eat.

By Reem E A

Nov 15, 2016

thank you I had finished 2 nutrition courses by Maya Adam .and I wish to Diploma in Nutrition by Maya

By Dalia A

Jan 27, 2016

Un curso bastante interesante, aprendes mucho y realmente te dan ganas de llevar una dieta saludable,

By Yuyuan L

Jul 4, 2022

E​asy for rockie to understand the basis of food nutritions and how to live life in a healthier way.

By Mir H

Jun 24, 2022

Wonderful Course. Thank you Maya Adam, Stanford, and Coursera for such a great and important course.

By Gambito X

Feb 16, 2022

It was a great course. I enjoy it and I learn a lot about food, recipes. and more. Thank you so much

By Jessica G

Dec 5, 2021

It has a great explanation, and even not all of it applies to my context it's a good starting point.

By Nikodem W

Sep 8, 2021

I​ think the course is worth attending even if you are aware of most of the information it provides.

By BIANCA K

Sep 6, 2021

The course was very insightful and fun. I highly recommend for health and nutrition coaches/mentors.

By Alka

Aug 16, 2021

this course created awareness to nutrition and health benefits, along with cooking skills. Thank you

By Raina R R

Aug 14, 2021

I really love this course it's help me to choose healthy food for me and my family thankyou so much!

By Judy P

Apr 22, 2021

Very well articulated easy and interesting, Right amount of visuals and Dr Maya Adam has been great

By Michelle O

Apr 12, 2021

Great courses to learn about nutrition and Health. Great recipes also shown to make healthier meals.

By Katharine S

Jan 29, 2021

LOVED MAYA'S education; alternating M.Pollan w/ Maya, very effective. Simple but very educational