Chevron Left
Back to Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination by West Virginia University

4.7
stars
3,731 ratings
1,122 reviews

About the Course

Everyday across the world, thousands of businesses are victimized by fraud. Who commits these bad acts? Why? And, how? In this course we are going to help you answer the questions: who commits fraud, why and how. We’ll also help you develop skills for catching them....

Top reviews

AO
Jun 16, 2020

This course is one of a kind, it's simple, professional and straight to point. I've really been exposed to the concept of fraud and it's dynamics. This will take me a long way in my career.\n\nCheers!

AS
Apr 25, 2020

Excellent course to go with an excellent illustration from experts in the industries. I do carry a value which will cherished in my memory for ever ........\n\nThanks for all what i learned hear.....

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 1,121 Reviews for Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination

By Thomas K

Oct 13, 2020

While contents are great, I have identified a number of spelling misakes (e.g. NASDAC instead of NASDAQ, obviously due to poor voice recognition) and other technical inconsistencies that have a negative impact on the learning experience. In the quizzes, the order of answers is often wrong, e.g. when the topmost answer is "All of the above.", and there are instances where questions are ambiguous and can't be reasonably answered (see the question in the Worldcom context: "... was not presecuted ... was the least culpable.." in the same sentence.).

By Sourabh N

Jan 25, 2018

The course trains us on principle theories of fraud, how to detect the fraudsters, classification of fraudsters and also the processes that can be used to control fraud in organisation. The course also touches upon concepts of money laundering and Whistle-blowing mechanisms. The course can be improved by also introducing us to digital forensics and tools used world wide. Further the syllabus needs to be widened to touch upon case studies or examples across the world and not restrict to USA

By Saqib Z S

Jun 29, 2020

A good course on the basics of Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examinations. I enjoyed the different voices they used to explain concepts. I also enjoyed how they used famous cases to show examples of fraud. The only thing that is keeping me from giving this course 5 stars is the lack of diverse voices. it would be nice to have instructors that vary in gender and race. Overall, I would recommend this for anyone looking to learn the basics of Fraud Detection and Prevention.

By Shalini H K

Jul 9, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was something new for me. I really like how they guide towards the correct answer for the wrongly answered questions. The pop quiz in between every lesson was useful that made focused on what I am studying. They also give a new set of questions if you didn't pass in the first attempt preventing you from copying or memorizing the correct answers. I enjoyed this course very much and thanks to the lecturer for the knowledge provided.

By Sreedevi S V

Apr 10, 2020

It was an amazing experience to learn about Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination for the first time, as a beginner. The course had a good quality in respect of topics covered, the mode delivered by the faculties. The little quiz after every week was simple but tricky at times, took me multiple attempts to complete. The final quiz had some repetitive questions though. Overall I am happy with my first experience in a MOOC and coursera.

By Fernando M

Apr 24, 2020

Interesting course and lessons, providing practical examples that connect theory and practice. For those of us non-US, the real cases were estimulating. On the other hand, I found the course really short and with no relevant material provided to the students. Maybe the institution should consider to provide more deliverables to the students in order to maximize the learning.

By Supasuta C

Jun 20, 2020

More applications and case studies, rather than relying on merely lecturing and theoretical concepts, will make the course more practical and beneficial to learners. A good example is the Accounting Analytics course which contains a lot of cases, spreadsheets, calculations, etc. Those have helped to increase my understanding of the theoretical concepts a lot.

By Daniel C F

Jun 4, 2019

I enjoyed this course overall, however, I was hoping it would be more detailed in how to tell and how to find or locate accounting fraud. They talk about some of the software tools used in Accounting Fraud, but it would be nice to hear more about these software tools or maybe some examples of when they were used? I do recommend it!

By Praveen L

Jul 31, 2020

The course is quite engaging and well presented. The concepts explained with real examples help to better understand and retain the concepts. Some questions in quiz were however not discussed in the module but encourages extra reading. Looking forward to the next level of the course where we can study some of the concepts in depth

By AYESHA P

Jun 22, 2020

The course is perfect for those who wish to learn the basics. If coursera could customise the courseware to suit the requirements of those based in India, it would be a great value addition. Moreover in view of recent spate of frauds in India especially those related to the banking sector, there is ample material and genuine need.

By alan m

Apr 26, 2020

Completed the course in 2020. Basic course content still appears to be relevant and includes real-world cases to further enhance exposure to the topics. A great blend of top-class lectures from the WVU faculty and professional course content from the ACFE knowledge body. It truly serves the purpose of a certificate course.

By LLYOD K

Jun 10, 2020

It was imparting a good kick start indeed for forensic accouning and fraud examination.i will be glad if you add more flesh on technical aspects of fround examination such as sample data for hands on practice and investigative approaches.Thanks a lot to the course co-ordinators,cousera and the university of west virginia.

By Sargun D S

May 23, 2019

Provides great insight on the Frauds that have taken place on the global level. The course guides you through various aspects of fraud examination and helps you understand each aspect with the help of examples from real life frauds. Discussions and tests help analyse the understanding. Extremely engaging and useful

By Manarbek I

Apr 28, 2020

The course is designed to give overall view of the Forensic "business". If you are looking to gain some deep knowledge, understanding and feeling of the mechanics of the "business" - the course unfortunately will not give it to you. In general a good course, as I felt that pretty a lot work was made to arrange it.

By Kanhaiya B

Oct 18, 2020

The course was designed more theoretical than practical. The content of the course and the questions asked at the end of every week are different thus is more challenging and surprising simultaneously. Overall, the course should have more content as the topic itself is too big to cover in just 3-4 hours.

By Steven M

Jan 2, 2018

This course provided current practices relevant to fraud examination and forensic accounting. Each of the instructors demonstrated an apparent expertise in the field. While the material was certainly useful in criminal investigation, some of the material seemed a little opinionated and biased.

By Ritika

Apr 7, 2020

a good basics course for someone who has limited to no knowledge of fraud investogation and forensic accounting. Coming from an accounting background, i found the level of knowledge to be a beginner to intermediate level. but overall a good refresher course on the basics of fraud auditing.

By Inga L

Mar 9, 2019

Although the course was great, I'd suggest the authors to review questions and correct answers as there are some inconsistencies - some correct answers in lecture videos and week quizzes where marked incorrect in the final exam. Anyway, thanks for sharing your knowledge and experience ;)

By Ricky V

Jan 10, 2021

Very informative and to the point. It would have been nice to have PowerPoint slides to take notes off of instead if having to rely solely on the videos for notes. Regardless, this was a very well-made course that I would recommend to anyone that is interested in fraud examination.

By Papa S A

Nov 29, 2018

Very interesting courses. I work like an internal auditor and this course just help me to understand deeply what is fraud, how does it occur? What kind of tools do I use to investigate and so on.

Thank you so much to all professors, to WVU and to ACFE for the quality of this course.

By Patricia I J L

Mar 18, 2020

It is well-structured course with basic information. Nevertheless some content is not available through the platform and it seems like a side-content program, which in turn makes it a bit superficial. Anyway it is fine to get the basic concepts and a better idea about fraud.

By Saleem B

Feb 2, 2019

Provides excellent knowledge on forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination.

One suggestion: MCQs need to be reviewed as there are duplication and incorrect/missing references for example answer would refer to "a and b above" but there is no a or b marked for answers.

By Aakanksha A

Apr 10, 2020

Found very helpful and got to know few of live examples of frauds and fraudsters. It also help in recognizing one of the factor for losses to organization and economy as a whole. Would recommend for easy learning with ease to access the course anytime and anywhere

By Lee M

Feb 1, 2020

When i started this program i was very much blank about forensic accounting and fraud exam but thanks to the lecturers or tutors. The course was well presented and the contributions from my fellow student was awesome and i thank God that i have past the course.

By Sergey K

Dec 27, 2020

Some of the test questions were very strangely worded and/or had some system faults when are displayed. Very interesting course in itself. Definitely provided with a grounding in Fraud Examination and gave me ideas towards use for further career development