Chevron Left
Back to Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination by West Virginia University

4.7
stars
3,486 ratings
1,045 reviews

About the Course

Everyday across the world, thousands of businesses are victimized by fraud. Who commits these bad acts? Why? And, how? In this course we are going to help you answer the questions: who commits fraud, why and how. We’ll also help you develop skills for catching them....

Top reviews

AO
Jun 16, 2020

This course is one of a kind, it's simple, professional and straight to point. I've really been exposed to the concept of fraud and it's dynamics. This will take me a long way in my career.\n\nCheers!

RN
Jan 7, 2021

I enjoyed learning this course . It made me aware about the various ways frauds are committed, showed practical examples, discussed data analytic tools . I look forward to learning this subject more.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,036 Reviews for Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination

By Mohammed C

May 1, 2020

An outstanding course with great depth of knowledge provided. The three professors involved curated thorough lectures that captured attention and promoted understanding of the course materials. I loved this course and I would recommend this course to anyone without reservation! Thank you for this great opportunity to learn and explore.

By Priti A

Mar 19, 2020

Amazing course. It's easy to read the news and say how it could have happened. But to get to understand the trail of events before the fraud and the fraudster's mindset is a different world together. Experienced faculty with practical insights make the course remarkable. Thank you for putting together a novel and a brilliant course.

By Averil F

Jul 26, 2019

It was a excellent course overall. The professors were very good at explaining the concepts of fraud & forensic accountants & I enjoyed all the lectures. The tests were also very apt & informative. I am grateful to West Virginia University & Coursera for this course which taught me a lot about forensic accountants & fraud examination.

By Steve M W

Sep 7, 2019

This is an excellent course for anyone interested in Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination. My only gripe is the format of the associated textbook. It is some sort of an e-book, but it is not a traditional pdf, which created a lot of frustration on my end. Otherwise, the course content and delivery was absolutely outstanding!

By Brijesh B

Apr 27, 2020

Course content and delivery was sufficient to grab the concepts and understand the practicality for a seasoned professional. I would recommend the course should be taken post requisite years of experience in accounts / finance /audit etc. WVU have great learning options through such flexible courses which add feathers to our cap.

By Habib U K

May 13, 2020

hi,

first I want to say thanks to all the members www.coursera.og who provide and arrange such a platform to enhance skills people who are live in remote areas or distinctive areas. I learn so much from this course and much productive for me. I hope you will improve this course with the time.

thank you.

regards

habib Ullah khan

By Edher E V P

Jun 9, 2019

Incredible course, it goes to the basics and covers a great introduction of forensic accounting. It uses simple terms to explain and uses many examples of large frauds that have occured.

I finally came with the fact that with the tools provided and the simple way to explain helped me to learn a lot of this field.

Thank you.

By Muhammad J Y G

Mar 10, 2019

I learned a great deal about forensic accounting and fraud examination, the things such as big data, data analysis, fraud triangle, Fraud prevention, detection, internal controls, real world fraud cases, evidence collection, examination of evidence, money maundering, placement layering, integration. World com fraud, etc

By Angelina G

Dec 28, 2016

Excellent course! It gives you an understanding of

1 the meaning of fraud

2 the fraud examination process

3 how and why does a person go about committing fraud

4 what are some of the internal controls that organizations should focus upon along with the red flags suggestive of frauds

5 using data analysis for detecting frauds

By ifeduba o f

Dec 4, 2016

quite inciting and informative exepercially in my society where fraud is very prominent and seen as a way of life.i am now convinced that with the knowledge i have acquired i can help to design control measures for institutions and organizations alike coupled with my background in Accountancy.thank you so much COURSERA

By V M K

Jun 8, 2020

Great Course to complete . As a CFE also, I was able to get much detailed knowledge for my continued studies. it was good to learn Step by Step teaching by Professors help to complete the course before the time schedule. Special Thanks to ur Mentors Mr. John Gill, Mr. Richard Dull & Richard Riley for their efforts.

By Elgali R

May 26, 2020

i highly recommend this course for line of defense , financial institution troops on the ground on fighting fraud & financial crime.

I have learnt alot from this course which delivered by subject matter expet on the field. so much thought provoking ideas , and the example , advises will help us on day today life.

By Ochimana P A

Oct 3, 2020

Very much happy for having this knowledge of Forensic Accounting and am quit sure it will be an added advantage to my career. My profound gratitude goes to all the Lecturers and the management of Coursera and Virginia University for this wonderful programs. Very much challenging!

Thank you

Ochimana Peter Adoyi

Nigerian

By Marianne A R

Oct 30, 2020

This course provided me insights about how an auditor, fraud examiner, and the fraudster thinks. I liked how there are popup questions in the middle of the lecture videos as it helped me with active recall. The explanations are easy to understand and one of my favorite things is the interviews included every week.

By Krishnaprasad I

Jun 7, 2020

This course was amazing and all concepts were explained in simple lay mans terms which was very easy to understand. However, there can be more classes on the data extraction and analysis part also. I am very sure that my knowledge about fraud examination and forensic accounting has increased thanks to this course.

By Siddharth R

Jul 2, 2019

This course has given me great insights wrt different type of frauds, who commits frauds, why and how. The level of clarity in explanation by the professors is worth appreciating. Case studies were of great help to understand things in a better way. Looking forward to greater learning through Coursera. Thank you.

By Hari O C

Oct 3, 2019

This Course enhances knowledge about Forensic Accounting & fraud detection. gained knowledge about many concepts like Money laundering, internal Control, Whistleblower, Fraud triangle, Many case studies & creates a curiousity about the frauds happening the world & measures how to detect & stop them. Thank You.

By Hridhin K

Aug 26, 2017

The course helped me in improving my knowledge in forensic accounting and fraud examination, which was a new and exciting topic, which brought about a wider scope of understanding about the vast topic. The topics were explained with great efficacy and ensured a comprehensive learning with appropriate examples.

By Nitin J

Mar 7, 2018

It was a worthy course which is highly recommendable to every aspirant who want to become a forensic expert. Quality of faculties cannot be expressed in words. They all are the masters of their field. Course is actually a blend of concepts building accompanied with some amazing case studies.

Great job Guys !

By Andrew L

Apr 2, 2018

A good course which outline basics and fundamentals of fraud. Provided real-life examples which made it that much more interesting. Was able to learn a fair bit, very satisfied. Looking forward to more fraud courses, maybe kinds that delve deeper into actual analysis and let students attempt to detect fraud.

By James L

Apr 25, 2020

The course was well designed with each lecture naturally flowing into the next subject matter allowing the student to remain engaged throughout the course. The instructors provided excellent examples utilizing videos with real testimony from actual participants in a variety of nationally recognized frauds.

By Russell G

Jun 3, 2020

Very interesting course a valid certificate that can be used for any individual with in any given organisation

I especially liked the lecturers it was presented in a clear and understanding way.

I highly recommend this course. Im not an accountant but helps me to do my job at senior level.

Kind regards

RG

By Balasubramaniam D

Mar 23, 2018

it was interesting and well paced for working professionals. contained all elements of fraud investigation and deterrent mechanisms. case studies made the course interesting and relevant too. overall, the course motivated me to register for CFE! Thanks to the faculty and team who put this together.

By Victor P

Feb 4, 2019

This was a basic course, but a good introduction in forensic accounting and fraud examination. I would recommend it to anybody who wishes to determine whether this could be a viable career option for them. I wish there were more interactive material, but nonetheless for the price it delivers value.

By Gloria C

Sep 19, 2020

This course has been very informative. I gained so much knowledge on Forensic accounting and fraud examination. This course has taught me what signs to look for in a potential fraudster. What causes person to commit such a dreadful act like fraud. Let me take this opportunity to say thank you .