Chevron Left
Back to Foundations for Big Data Analysis with SQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations for Big Data Analysis with SQL by Cloudera

4.8
stars
997 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you'll get a big-picture view of using SQL for big data, starting with an overview of data, database systems, and the common querying language (SQL). Then you'll learn the characteristics of big data and SQL tools for working on big data platforms. You'll also install an exercise environment (virtual machine) to be used through the specialization courses, and you'll have an opportunity to do some initial exploration of databases and tables in that environment. By the end of the course, you will be able to • distinguish operational from analytic databases, and understand how these are applied in big data; • understand how database and table design provides structures for working with data; • appreciate how differences in volume and variety of data affects your choice of an appropriate database system; • recognize the features and benefits of SQL dialects designed to work with big data systems for storage and analysis; and • explore databases and tables in a big data platform. To use the hands-on environment for this course, you need to download and install a virtual machine and the software on which to run it. Before continuing, be sure that you have access to a computer that meets the following hardware and software requirements: • Windows, macOS, or Linux operating system (iPads and Android tablets will not work) • 64-bit operating system (32-bit operating systems will not work) • 8 GB RAM or more • 25GB free disk space or more • Intel VT-x or AMD-V virtualization support enabled (on Mac computers with Intel processors, this is always enabled; on Windows and Linux computers, you might need to enable it in the BIOS) • For Windows XP computers only: You must have an unzip utility such as 7-Zip or WinZip installed (Windows XP’s built-in unzip utility will not work)...

Top reviews

AG

Sep 27, 2019

The course is an excellent overview of database technologies and introduction into big data. Useful also for those who already worked with a few SQL engines. MIllion thanks to the creators! :)

AE

Sep 9, 2019

Awesome foundation to build on skills of query and analysis of big data and to use big data technologies like Hive and Impala

I Really enjoyed the course and the instructor is perfect

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 253 Reviews for Foundations for Big Data Analysis with SQL

By Matthew B

May 11, 2020

I have taken numerous online courses, but I have to say that this instructor and this course truly raise the bar for all. I learned a lot and looked forward to each class.

By Cenk U Y

Feb 6, 2021

Superb lecturer, wonderful course. A detailed description of the relational database management system. A good intro for learning hive and impala. Definitely worth taking.

By Taek-Hyun K

Apr 9, 2020

Actually it was quite boring until week 4 because all lectures are theoretical contents regarding SQL. But now I realise that it was essential to understand well.

By Abhishek M

Dec 26, 2020

Precise and engaging content!

Takes a definitive and well-explained approach towards teaching Big Data to you :)

Satisfied with the what the content had to offer.

By Osama A

Feb 25, 2020

Excellent course for beginners, that want to get started with big data. This course also help me appreciate traditional RDMS systems while clearing confusions.

By Mihai-Bogdan Z

Aug 5, 2020

Well structured, nice visuals, good information. Unfortunately it is not good for already experienced people with a bit of background on the subject.

By Rohan G L

Jul 25, 2020

Great course series. Lessons are clear and well made. I learned a great deal about SQL and Database Management and Structure. Highly recommended.

By CK A

Jun 17, 2021

This course helped me learn new topics I was looking to get forward. The content is very well made so that everyone could understand it very easily.

By JERIL J

Aug 9, 2020

It's quiet easy to study... Presentation is awesome... I got understand many things that I need to know while selecting the course...

Thank you

By Kevin K H

Apr 12, 2020

Nice course. it covers a great overview of database (RDBMS) and big data. The instructor is knowledgable and awesome! Highly recommended!

By Dilip l

Aug 30, 2020

I learnt about what is data and how its functionalities are working and I understood what kind of data are there in our big data world

By Yossakorn K

Jun 25, 2020

Good Course! The instructor creates the guideline to achieve knowledge more and more for big data analysis with SQL in the future.

By Josh G

Jan 29, 2020

Great foundational course for somebody who has some experience using SQL but no formal training -- it really fills in the gaps.

By Suhail A

Jun 12, 2020

I got to learn many new applications. I'm grateful to the explained teaching of senior instructor. Overall it was fun to learn

By Charlene J

Nov 29, 2020

This an amazing specialization!!! I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in Big Data Analysis with SQL.

By Gaurav M

Jun 23, 2020

A very good course !

It helped me revise & refresh my SQL & RDBMS concepts along with their differences with the Big Data.

By Haile B

Oct 29, 2020

This course was easy to follow and covered some great information. I would recommend to anyone trying to get a SQL cert.

By Cheikh B

Mar 19, 2020

One of the best SQL Foundations courses i have learned. Very clear, structured and i learned a lot.

Thanks a lot CLOUDERA

By Minh N

Aug 2, 2020

Absolutely a brilliant course for beginners to Big Data analysis. The teacher was great as well. Highly recommended!

By Gabriela S

May 25, 2021

Very good course! I have really enjoyed following the content. For me it was all new and interesting information.

By Nikolaos G

Jan 29, 2021

The instructor and the material was just perfect. Very well organized, with quality video and reading material.

By Matias A

May 18, 2021

Very good course! Glynn Durham is a great teacher. but, just so you know, this course is strictly theoretical.

By Kathleen C

Apr 11, 2020

This was a fabulous course that gave a great foundational understanding of databases and big data. Loved it!

By Firuz T

May 6, 2020

The course has an excellent and elaborated material base as well as condensed information flow. Thank you!

By Mert D

Dec 9, 2019

Amazing course! :) Very well introduction to Big Data ecosystem and gold-standard information about SQL.