Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design by Google

4.8
stars
49,982 ratings

About the Course

Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design is the first of a series of seven courses that will equip you with the skills needed to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience design. UX designers focus on the interactions that people have with products like websites, mobile apps, and physical objects. UX designers make those everyday interactions usable, enjoyable, and accessible. The role of an entry-level UX designer might include empathizing with users, defining their pain points, coming up with ideas for design solutions, creating wireframes, prototypes, and mockups, and testing designs to get feedback. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define the field of UX and explain why it’s important for consumers and businesses. - Understand foundational concepts in UX design, such as user-centered design, the design process, accessibility, and equity-focused design. - Identify the factors that contribute to great user experience design. - Review common job responsibilities of entry-level UX designers and teams that they work with. - Explore job opportunities and career paths within the field of user experience. - Explain why design sprints are an important and useful part of a UX designer’s work. - Describe common UX research methods. - Identify and account for biases in UX research....

Top reviews

NZ

Sep 14, 2021

It was great experience. The speakers were good designers who sharing their vision from the beginning to end. I do it just for few weeks, and I am happy to receive my certificate. Thank you, Googlers!

GL

Jul 17, 2022

It is pretty good. You learn new things even as someone who has some idea of what UX is. Would recommend to those who want to start learning because it is affordable and provides valuable information.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

By Ioanna F

Dec 4, 2022

Excellent experience the course series 1. With a lot of anxiety at the beginning about how it will all work, which was eventually overcome by finding the very well structured format and series of courses. The contribution of Google employees who present their lessons and personal experiences is very important. Their reason is clear and understandable. I am excited to watch them. Well done. Keep up the good work you are doing. You offer great help.

By Hrushikesh J

Dec 5, 2021

This course has helped a lot.

Explaination used in this course is simple and effective.

I recommend This course to all of you.

I got to learn many new design concepts, frameworks and methods.

I got to know about UI/UX roles and responsibilities.

This course has reference to great websites, articiles, books and portfolios also.

I have learnt a lot from this course and want to thank all my mentors, Google and Coursera for providing such awesome content.

By Bhakti C

Mar 15, 2023

Before starting this course, I was nervous about entering into UX design field as it was totally new to me and also it was a switch from my previous field, but I wanted to pursue it nonetheless as it is a fast-emerging field and has a bright future. This course is designed so well that it gives you in-depth knowledge and clarity about foundation of UX design. After completing this course, I am confident that I can begin my career in this field.

By Ahjarhe W

Jun 13, 2021

Course was easy to follow through and the quizzes definitely made the difference for me. Although I would like for some of the other assignments to actually be graded or with a mentor's feedback I do appreciate this course for allowing the Imposter I once felt like I was give genuine credit to myself and understand what my fears were and how to face them. Grateful for this course and Google for making it affordable! See you in the Design realm.

By Jean-Paul A

Feb 6, 2022

This course has given me a solid foundation for understanding UX Design. I appreciate the inclusion of the topics that included networking, branding, and online presence to improve prospects for work. It would be easier to just focus on raw skills using different software, but taking the time to put yourself out there is just as important and in some ways can be more difficult. The push from this course was exactly what I needed. Thank You!

By NISHANT G

Jun 24, 2021

Awsome course I have learn lot of things about UX Design This course help me to understand whats is UX Design and Why it is required. It helps you know more the terms and definations in UX Field and how a UX Designer do to create a product for users. I have learned lots of definations in UX but I can't understant how I can use some of terms but I know I have understant these terms prpoerly in upcoming courses . Thankyou Google and instructors

By Anya P

Mar 1, 2023

Loved the course! It provided so much information and left me with a solid understanding of what UX design is :-)

I don’t think there was a lot that was difficult to learn, since this was a foundational course, but there was a lot that was interesting! I was especially excited to learn about UX research and I sent that Harvard implicit bias test to all of my friends as well. Overall a great experience and I’m excited to continue the journey!

By Agbo S

Aug 25, 2022

I didn't think I could enjoy a course as much as I enjoyed this one to be honest. I had my doubts at first but the moment I decided to open my mind, it became an amazing experience. I looked forward to learning more but I also knew when to take a break because it could mean I forget very important information. My favorite part of this course was learning about Bias being more aware of it, to be open-minded if I want to be a better designer.

By Megan

May 2, 2021

This first month course in the UX design series through Google has been very encouraging in my journey to becoming a UX designer. I believe that they have an insightful and welcoming approach to building a solid UX design foundation, and I am very happy to have chosen this series of courses for reaching my goals. I feel confident in moving forward to the second month, and confident in knowing that this career choice is a perfect fit for me.

By Judith M

Jan 10, 2023

I have ADHD and have to concentrate twice as hard in order to learn, information is hard for me to absorb. I found learning this course through this program relatively easy, though I do have a suggestion. During the videos, it would be a great addition if there were subtitles at the bottom of the screen. Often, I can follow and allow more to sink in while I'm listening to what the person is saying as well as reading what they are saying.

By Niklas F

Jul 1, 2022

A very good foundation of UX Design. Didn't go too much into detail, but I expect the following courses to have much more depth on the methods and structures that I learned in this course. One critique point is that the quizzes are multi-select. That makes it very easy to absolve and the learning is less effective. But I can understand that it's more practical than someone actually controlling everything. So this won't affect my rating.

By Falohun L

Oct 2, 2022

was a great way to kickstart my basic knowledge in User Experience, learnt everytiing about the Users, how they come first always, how to prioritize them and meet their needs and solve their problems also. Learnt about roles of entry level designers in industries and in the world at large. This is a great opportunity from google to the world and most especially to potential students all over the world who need this. Thank you Google!

By Laura M

Oct 18, 2021

Me gustó muchísimo. Siento que la información es de primera mano y de buena calidad, y de verdad que me motiva a seguir aprendiendo y a expandir mi universo de posibilidades. Desde pequeña supe que podía hacer cosas grandes e internacionales, después, con el pasar de la vida y la adultés un poco perdí el interés o el eje. Pero ahora me siento nuevamente en camino y de verdad creo que encontré finalmente mi lugar en el mundo. ¡Gracias!

By R C

Sep 10, 2022

Presents the fundamental concepts of UX design. This includes what a UX designer does, what is expected of them, how they fit into a team, the kinds of research that are utilized in UX design, and the principles required to produce user experiences that are equitable.

While you are not required to build anything for this first course, it does address the background knowledge needed to comprehend what UX is and how to design for users.

By Samar K

May 27, 2022

User Experience Design” is often used interchangeably with terms such as “User Interface Design” and “Usability”. However, while usability and user interface (UI) design are important aspects of UX design, they are subsets of it – UX design covers a vast array of other areas, too. A UX designer is concerned with the entire process of acquiring and integrating a product, including aspects of branding, design, usability and function.

By Pazit D

Oct 20, 2022

I really enjoyed the course. It was not too complicated, yet provided all the required general knowledge in a thorough way. The reading material repeated some of the information provided in the videos and I like it since it made it easier to comprehend.  I also appreciate the knowledge tests at the end of each section. The google team was very pleasant in the video, spoke clearly and pleasantly.   Looking forward to the next one.

By Gil P

Mar 30, 2022

I really enjoyed my first weeks in this course! I started with some doubts about if this course model was right for me and during the lessons I realized that I was really satisfied with it. The speaker is very charismatic and well-spoken. The most difficult thing to learn was also the most interesting, how to build my portfolio and have an online presence. This first weeks were very inspiring and I will be continuing this course.

By Ewa K

Nov 30, 2021

It is a well-structured course, full of practical information. I loved the self-review parts, I also found the brief testimonials of UX designers very interesting and supportive. But what I liked the most is the design sprint part, which allowed me to have a peek into a real UX design work. I will surely recommend this course to anyone who considers taking up a new career path and want to resolve if UX design is the right one.

By Morris L

Apr 11, 2021

I can't help feel invigorated, revitalized, and just out excited after taking this intro level course. It gave me insight and taught me things in a very engaging/interacting way. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a potential career shift or even if you have the experience already just take a look and see the creative insight from others along the way to help inspire you along your own personal journey.

By Alexandria

Feb 20, 2023

This was the perfect introduction to UX Design. Each week provides an in-depth understanding of what to expect as an entry-level designer. I truly felt that the curriculum provided such useful information that will prepare me for a successful future in UX. I was able to already start applying product design techniques to my company's product development approach. I am honestly eager to journey through the remaining program!!!

By Chris T

Dec 3, 2021

My experience was absolutely great!! I learned so much even though I already have year developing websites. Highly recommend for anyone getting started with UX Design. This course thought me the difference between User-Experience, End-user and User. I also learned that in UXDesign its very broad and a lot of opportunity from Visual Designer, Motion Designer, VR/AR Designer, UX Researcher, UXProgram, UXWritter, UXEngineer etc.

By Farzaneh H

Jul 27, 2022

it was a great opportunity for me to learn something new from an expert team, it has been about 6 months that I was wondering whether to start my new career path in product design or not, I think these courses is a true meaning of equity, which let all talented and interested people all around the world have such an interesting experience and have the opportunity to make their own career path. thanks to Coursera and Google.

By Son T

May 18, 2022

The course provides a good overview of the general themes of UX as in what it entails, what you'll be tasked to do as a UX designer, where the study comes from and where it is today. You'll also learn about the different methodologies used by teams throughout the UX phases to get a product from concept to completion. Overall, the course delivers on what its title suggests - a solid foundational knowledge of the field of UX.

By Parthasarathi R

Mar 30, 2022

this is a wonderful course to know what UX is and why it's important, what are the things UX designers do, how to make a digital precense, as for me, I am a non-English speaker, and I didn't often use English for day to day life, so my fluency level in English is not that good, even so, I can understand the contents Esaylly without much trouble. and Thank you Coursera for giving me this opportunity to enroll in this course.

By Seda J

Dec 28, 2022

It was a smooth and easy start as a beginner. Each step of the program was clear and easy to understand especially for those who are new to UX Design as I am. Supporting each lesson with examples and videos makes it easy to understand and mini quizzes help remember the terms better. Overall I highly recommend this course to anyone who is looking to expand their knowledge about UX design or whoever wants to learn about it.