Chevron Left
Back to Hardware Description Languages for FPGA Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hardware Description Languages for FPGA Design by University of Colorado Boulder

4.3
stars
413 ratings
116 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5361, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Hardware Description Languages for Logic Design enables students to design circuits using VHDL and Verilog, the most widespread design methods for FPGA Design. It uses natural learning processes to make learning the languages easy. Simple first examples are presented, then language rules and syntax, followed by more complex examples, and then finally use of test bench simulations to verify correctness of the designs. Lecture presentations are reinforced by many programming example problems so that skill in the languages is obtained. After completing this course, each student will have fundamental proficiency in both languages, and more importantly enough knowledge to continue learning and gaining expertise in Verilog and VHDL on their own....

Top reviews

JS
Jun 6, 2021

I really liked this course . if someone wants to know how digital circuits are made inside of computer then this course could be proven as turning point in his way of learning .

KK
Jun 4, 2020

This is very good course , but i found some little missing details related to reading materials .\n\nBut this was really very helpful course for me as fresher .

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 118 Reviews for Hardware Description Languages for FPGA Design

By PRAKHAR C

May 22, 2020

This is really good course for beginners . One aspiring to learn something about verilog and vhdl programming languages could definitely go for this.The assignments and the quizzes are extremely well structured so that the aspirant could gain maximum out of it.

By Dmitry K

Apr 30, 2021

Course opens mind for HDL and allows to select what you like more - VHDL or Verilog. Very useful if you have basic knowledge of FPGA otherwise if you are the beginner in FPGA - start with the first course (a must).

By Jogesh S

Jun 7, 2021

I really liked this course . if someone wants to know how digital circuits are made inside of computer then this course could be proven as turning point in his way of learning .

By Abbe A

Dec 26, 2020

Excellent content. The exercises could be more detailed though. I learned a lot about Verilog, Modelsim and I practiced my VHDL knowledge.

By Gabriel G C M

Aug 27, 2021

Excellent course! A broad review of several topics! Great videos and great assignments! I have been loving this specialization!

By Holman H B C

May 8, 2021

Good reading materials. The videos are concise. However, it could improve the code programming assignments to be more explicit.

By Joseph V

Feb 23, 2021

Professors were top-notch and clearly explained the pros and cons of each of the languages. I hope I could meet them in person.

By Vasudevan M

Jan 16, 2020

Great experience. Nice learning opportunity. However, please include assignments which are little more diverse and difficult.

By Suhaas N

Jul 8, 2020

Though the support of this course is quite poor and the forum is really dull, the course in itself is really something!!

By Gregory P

May 1, 2021

Very good course. lectures, assignments and provided reading material provide a solid foundation for writing HDL code.

By Raychel G

Oct 10, 2021

I've been able to learn pleasantly VHDL and verilog hardware description language I've never experienced.

By 19MR12_VENKATESHWARAN K

Jun 22, 2020

WELL DEFINED EXPLANATION AND VERY GOOD MATERIALS PROVIDED WITH REAL DATA SHEET PROBLEMS TO BE ADDRESSED

By Jesus A R A

Aug 5, 2020

Nice course but the FIFO wasn't explained clearly in both time but I still completed it with some help

By Akash G

Aug 31, 2020

amazing experience, great course and handled very easily with the help of two great instructors

By Jakub L

Jul 8, 2020

Very nice entry level course, teaches the basic concepcts very clearly, overall great.

By hyungok t

Feb 26, 2021

I think that SystemVerilog Design and Verification contents are more required!

By silpa k v

May 6, 2020

Good description and Way of explaining.

Forums helping out more.

Thankyou.

By RANJAN Y R Y

Apr 18, 2020

The course is best for beginners and very useful to practice the basics.

By waseem a

Mar 22, 2020

This course really great and have a lot of fun to learn FPGA Designs.

By Chathura J G

Jul 7, 2020

Best Course I ever had. Lectures are extremely talented in teaching.

By Phanindra D

Mar 17, 2020

Great course with in-depth explanations of HDL with Verilog and VHDL

By Orzumamadov G M

Jul 10, 2020

Thanks to the authors for such an interesting and useful course.

By kasani J g

May 5, 2020

it is really fun to learn this course you will really enjoy it,

By Ahmed R M

Oct 26, 2020

it's very useful course for beginning programming with PFGA

By SALCEDO, N V

Sep 29, 2020

Great course to explore the comparison of VHDL and Verilog.