Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
14,078 ratings
3,653 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

DD
Sep 2, 2021

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

TJ
Sep 5, 2021

I had a lot of fun in this course. I learnt some extra bits of information related to graphic design and I think it's a great start for beginners as well as good practice for intermediate and experts!

Filter by:

3151 - 3175 of 3,624 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By erin n

Oct 7, 2020

The course itself was well done, however the peer review is useless. Only one person actually made a comment beyone "good". So it makes it difficult to grow when there is no feedback at all on the work.

By Alan S

May 28, 2017

I liked the course as a beginner to graphic design and I would recommend it for everyone. Maybe to be perfect I would like it to include more examples and technical classes, but it was definitely worthy.

By Sheena P

Feb 2, 2017

This Course has opened my eyes to different simple concepts I had forgotten or not quiet understood until now. I am going to work through all of the 5 coursed for Graphic design. this was a great start.

By Raquel B

Nov 20, 2020

El curso en sí esta bien pero para mi gusto se hace un poco aburrido. Entiendo que es como una introducción pero podrían haber puesto ejemplo mucho más visuales y no tanto todo en una pizarra blanca

By Sandrine C

Jan 7, 2016

The fundamentals, like the title says. Very well explaineI wish there was more info on what software to use for the assignments for those of us more used to traditional mediums rather than digital.

By Stephanie M

May 2, 2021

The course, concepts and everything were very well conveyed and assignments helpful. I did expect there would be one 'instructor graded' assignment at the end vs relying totally on peer reviews.

By Danielle E

Sep 13, 2020

I think this course is fun to learn the fundamentals of design and how to apply it in Graphic Design. It is good for those who are new or want to refresh on the basics and have extra practice.

By Mariia A

Aug 16, 2018

It would be great if you also include some Adobe Illustrator basics into the curriculum, rather than that I had lots of fun learning with you and acquiring new skills in design and typography.

By Feste I

Jun 3, 2019

In terms of lectures, it was a great course. I undoubtedly learned a lot and enjoyed it. The last star is missing since I wish there was a bit more interaction among people taking the course.

By Dilara

Oct 11, 2021

It helped me a lot in understanding the basics of graphic design. Thanks to the course, I learned how to combine design elements. I also learned to look at the whole picture while designing.

By Shashaank

Jun 4, 2021

T​he course was a great introduction to the fundamental principles of graphic design. Suitable for any new comer. I only wish the assignments were a tad more demanding as they felt too easy.

By M Z

Mar 17, 2019

This is a very fundamental and inspiring courser for those who are new to the area of graphic design. It is not just about technical skills but instead, it focuses on explore and experiment.

By Aniruddha M

Jun 3, 2020

Quite in-depth course on the Fundamentals of Graphic Design, beautifully broken down into small components. Perfect for beginners and students interested to start learning Graphic Design.

By Lara L

Jan 19, 2020

Gave me an okay, very basic understanding of basic concepts. I feel like a good chunk was missing though as I've been going through a separate free course which was much more in depth.

By Brittany H

Mar 23, 2021

A good brief overview of graphic design concepts. The optional and required assignments were fun and interesting. A fun way to get started in understanding elements of graphic design.

By Michelle L

Oct 30, 2016

Great overview of graphic design for someone who does not have any experience in this area. Encourages creativity and new ways of thinking about every day objects and representations.

By Catharina M M K

Jan 24, 2018

I liked this course a lot - great basic information. The voice sometimes was a little too monotone and sometimes it was too slow (at least for me, everyone perceives it differently).

By Mrudula

Oct 24, 2020

This course really helped me cover up the basics that I could not learn in my college and let me understand what graphic design is based on. It expanded my knowledge on the subject.

By Anandita R

Sep 14, 2020

Fundamentals of Graphic Design is the right path for anyone looking forward to entering the graphic design arena. The course is well-structured and the assignments are very helpful.

By Maria V

Apr 10, 2017

I loved the course, it really help me a lot to understand Graphic Design and to find inspiration in the things that surround us, which mostly are composed of basic geometric shapes.

By Влад С

May 11, 2021

In general its good for people, who haven't heard anything about Graphic Design but if you already have at least some knowledge in this sphere, you could possibly skip this course.

By samara k

Aug 4, 2019

I really enjoyed learning the basics of graphic design and image-making. I definitely see myself utilizing and applying this knowledge in my further endeavours with graphic design.

By Nicole V

Mar 7, 2016

Great introduction of the fundementals of graphic design! I recommend it - the videos and instructor are clear and concise. I look forward to the next course in the specialization.

By JERIL J

Jun 8, 2020

Wish you should add giving some live examples to the works. Over all this course was one of the greatest courses I ever attended. I was able to study many things from this course.

By Teja H

Aug 20, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! Love that they are graded assignments and deadlines. Feeling accomplished that I've completed. 1 down 4 more to go to complete my specialization!