Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
14,048 ratings
3,645 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

CS
May 9, 2018

An ok course for beginners. A bit too basic for someone who has already had experience in design, but is great anyway cause it breaks things back down to the simplest parts to help you remember roots.

GA
Aug 20, 2018

Very interesting, I liked the format. Easy to follow, nice excercises. It's actually good to cover the basics of design, even if you are not an absolute beginner, and especially if you are self taught

Filter by:

3526 - 3550 of 3,615 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By Lim M J

Jun 4, 2020

Great course for anyone who wishes to learn graphic designs. It's eye-opening for me as it is not just about arts, but also the techniques and compositions behind every design

By Antonio C C

Mar 7, 2017

Si deseas conocer los conceptos básicos del diseño gráfico de una manera amena este es tu curso. Es prácticamente autogestivo pero con un diseño instruccional de alta calidad.

By Jessica W

Jan 28, 2021

Very basic and seems a bit outdated. Good if you really need to know the basics, not so good for portfolio development or learning anything that is real world applicable

By Mita M

Feb 2, 2017

I was expecting to learn to use some tools during the course. Looks like I have to teach myself how to use different programs for designing.

By Amina K

Oct 10, 2020

Peer grading is absolutely the worst. Real feedback from a real instructor is needed instead of "ok" and "good" from peers on assignment.

By Mona E

Nov 27, 2016

It's very very basic, I know it's considered an introductory course but I expected more. It was very interesting and informative though.

By Ludivine S

Feb 20, 2017

A bit basic, but I guess that's what should be expected of an "Introduction"

It would be nice to get a more advanced alternative course

By Olga

Sep 19, 2019

This course is just about the basics. It was very easy for me to take this course, do assignments. Think twice before buying.

By Tushar D C

May 12, 2018

Did learn new things as well what graphic design really is (Spoiler: Its not restricted to only good looking designs).

By Jane

Jan 23, 2016

This was a great introductory course to graphic design. It made me think of many ways to represent the same image. I

By Hugo E

Jun 19, 2016

Thats a good course for beginers.

In my opinion should be more illustrative with more real and nice examples.

By Fedotovskikh M A

Mar 21, 2019

It would be better to see some feedback from teachers, than from people who are also studying to designers

By Kiersten H

Jun 6, 2021

I found the content really valuable but the format is a bit too slow and hard to engage with at times.

By MHD.Fettah

Jan 13, 2018

very basic .... like a really basic ... I will commend this course to a robot start his AI training .

By Angel A A D

Nov 25, 2015

Very basic, but some things are useful, the course is worth it if you are a total newbie

By Alyson C

Feb 18, 2017

Great course to introduce you to basics of graphic design and basic design language.

By TANIA M

Aug 3, 2020

A basic idea of a tool to employ skills of graphic design would have been helpful

By Allison W

Jan 29, 2019

Needs to be much more fleshed out. Create subsidiary courses for each topic!

By Marcella S M S

May 23, 2020

Nicely done and fun to follow. With useful practice, but very basic indeed.

By Egle K

Nov 27, 2020

it was way too basic for me , but after all its fundamentals course right.

By BOBBY L

May 5, 2021

A bit basic for anyone with experience. Perfect for anyone without

By Mi Z

May 6, 2018

It teaches you the basic processes and techniques of image making.

By Pratishtha A

Apr 28, 2020

I would prefer a few tutorials on how to implement digital design

By Jackie F

Oct 4, 2017

Very basic overview of graphic design, learned some new things!

By Julia G

Mar 28, 2019

The course is good but the actual lectures could be more fun.