Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
14,072 ratings
3,649 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

AR
Apr 17, 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

DD
Sep 2, 2021

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

Filter by:

3226 - 3250 of 3,623 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By Thomas d M

Oct 20, 2020

As they say, it's very the fundamentals, maybe not necessary if you already have quite some experience, but interesting for any beginner!

By SHRUTI G

Jul 17, 2020

Thanks for this fantastic app which really was very beneficial for me. It is a best thing to do in this lockdown by learning more things.

By SONAM S

Sep 25, 2021

Nice way to teach because some time we want to learn by video and other time with text and this a nice plateform to learn something new

By Magali G D

Aug 1, 2021

I would have enjoyed more if the teacher showed a bit of enthusiasm. Most of the time his voice sounded very dettached or uninterested.

By Kelsey H

Jan 30, 2021

I thought it was a great class the lectures were very informative but I thought some of the assignments could've been more exploratory.

By Joly F Z

May 29, 2018

A very good overview of graphic design - for someone just want an intro, can just take this course rather than the whole specification.

By Danielle T

Jun 25, 2017

Quite interesting and enjoyed it well enough! I was expecting it to be more computer based, but the principles were still of interest.

By Rhina B

Apr 19, 2016

A great course to learn to design. It's not a software course, which is perfect. Just what I needed it. Unfortunately, it's too short.

By Ximena M

Jul 6, 2017

The last assignment could have been more interesting. I think the optional assignment would have been a better closure to the course.

By Jewell J

Jan 31, 2020

Online courses are challenging. I would recommend examples for the homework assignments. The videos do not detail what is expected.

By rak g

Jul 29, 2019

Simple concepts are introduced but taking this course allowed me to further my creativity and practice my skills in graphic design.

By Stephanie N

Oct 16, 2018

I really enjoyed it, but I thought some of the instructions were a bit vague and required some guesswork. Overall, a solid course.

By AnSo M

Aug 20, 2016

Very good introductory course to Graphic Design. A good staple to get familiar with the very basics before starting learning more.

By ISHFAQ A

Jun 23, 2020

Maybe if their were a few more required assignments that would be better but regardless, amazing course, learned a lot! Thank you

By Khan Z A

Jul 18, 2020

Great course on Graphics design and a good introduction to its basic concepts.I wish there was a part on which software to use.

By Varisha K

Aug 12, 2020

There should be more instruction given to people on how to use Photoshop or inkscape. It took me long to realize things myself

By SAI S J

Oct 5, 2020

you really do get a knowledge of the basis of graphic design. I just wish the staff would have also reviewed the assignments.

By Nupur A

Apr 25, 2020

Nicely explained by the tutor. Good practice assignments about every topic covered for better understanding of the concept.

By Kamalika S

May 3, 2016

The instruction videos are pretty good. The course gives a good overview of the fundamentals. It delivers what it promises.

By Michelle D

Apr 16, 2020

Great course overall, but you area really learning on your own. Hard to get critical/in-depth feedback about assignments.

By 窦晨

Jan 10, 2017

learn a lot of fundamental information about graphic design, and really do a great help for me to learn a designer's view.

By Amatullah B

May 3, 2020

I really liked the course. I found it easy to follow and really helpful too. The assignments were also easy but helpful.

By Wesley M

Mar 18, 2016

Covers the topic very well, but keep in mind that it's only an intro. The focus is on introducing concepts and language.

By E. C C

Nov 19, 2016

Very basic introduction to the ground floor of Graphic Design. Get in, get it done, get out. I like how precise it was.

By Jack M

Jul 5, 2017

Good course, great for an introduction, hopefully more advanced courses from CalArts will cover more advanced features