Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
15,310 ratings

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

TJ

Sep 5, 2021

I had a lot of fun in this course. I learnt some extra bits of information related to graphic design and I think it's a great start for beginners as well as good practice for intermediate and experts!

AR

Apr 17, 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 3,941 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By QUIAWAN, D M (

Jul 16, 2020

I have so much fun learning this course at the same time it gives me on point lessons on how to effectively apply all the fundamentals of graphic design. Thank you very much! :)

By MOR Y O

Jun 28, 2020

This is an indispensable course for people who are interested to explore into the world of graphic design. It is indeed very helpful in my daily teaching as well. Big thank you.

By SHAILESH

Jun 26, 2020

I learned about image making and basic foundation of Graphic design. Its realy nice and easy to learn by coursera.. Thank you entire team. I loved it. I will Go for Next course.

By Juan F Z R

Mar 6, 2020

Excelente, fue una maravillosa experiencia, siendo un estudiante de Arquitectura, me ha servido muchísimo para comprender un poco más acerca de la composición y el diseño en sí.

By Honey K

Nov 23, 2019

It is a wonderful course where I learned a new dimension of Art which was abstract to be before and now I can use it in my work to make it more pleasing and attractive to people

By Anton D

Feb 26, 2019

This course is well taught and developed. I appreciate that it emphasizes the importance of making graphic design as the only way to learn and develop the artist within. Thanks!

By Sara G A V

May 5, 2021

Gracias por complementar mis estudios con un curso tan bueno y tan abierto a la creatividad. Se lo recomiendo a todos los que se interesen por iniciar en el mundo del diseño :)

By Noman G

Dec 28, 2020

It is really a great course to learn the major concepts and ideas of graphic design. It is recommended to those who want to develop a better understanding of graphic designing

By Maegin M

Aug 4, 2020

Course was easy to follow while still being engaging and interesting. Fantastic course. On a personal note, Michael sounds like my favorite author which helped keep me focused.

By anna n a

Jul 13, 2020

I am thrilled I learned a lot. Very helpful in understanding the fundamentals of graphic designs. I love the assignment, It gives you yo be creative in your own way and style.

By Doğanay Ç

Jul 10, 2020

Since I currently study interior architecture, it helped me to recall my basic skills and learn more about what I missed and improve my current skills. Thank you for everything

By Kimberly M

Apr 13, 2020

This Course is awesome super easy to understand! I'm a beginner and this program really helped so much and opened up my perspective on how to view shapes colors items and text.

By Karlo A C C

Feb 13, 2022

Excellent course. Just what I wanted. Coming from a exact science career and never heard of any of this wasn't a problem in the course. Everything taught was clear and useful.

By Megha S

Aug 11, 2020

I like how the course is structured and gives a holistic view of graphic design. I loved the course and It really helped me in understanding basic things about graphic design.

By Mona A

Apr 27, 2020

I really learned a lot from this course, while also having fun. I'm looking forward to complete the Graphic Design Specialization, and complete more studies in graphic design!

By John M

Aug 15, 2019

Michael Worthington was a great instructor. His silky calm energy maintained the pace and tone of the course. The assignments were engaging, thought-provoking, and formative.

By Shubham Y

Nov 16, 2017

It's a very great course for the beginners. Though this course introduces you to only to the tip of an iceberg, it deals with the basic fundamentals aspects of graphic design.

By Marina D P

Aug 20, 2016

Ha sido un curso fantástico para la introducción al diseño gráfico. El temario estaba dividido adecuadamente para la progresión del aprendizaje y la admisión de conocimientos.

By Hezekiah A

Mar 23, 2016

I am a better graphic designer today, with a prior knowledge of how to design a standard graphics for the Global market. thanks to California institute of the art and Coursera

By Anna S B

Mar 2, 2016

Great start for graphic design beginners! Lessons are well organized and well explained. The assignments are the best part of the course and very helpful to explore the topic.

By Manisha A

Jun 1, 2021

I loved the course overall. The explanation of Michael sir and practical examples helped me in thinking in different point of views. This course added a new perception to me.

By Salem F A

Sep 22, 2019

This course is the portal to know Graphic design specialization, you'll learn a lots information about GD, you need this course to start your journey in Graphic Design world.

By Michael J P

May 25, 2019

Great lectures and material overall. I really feel like the topics covered are true to the title of the course and have given me a greater understanding of design in general.

By Sergiy Y

May 3, 2017

I have learned a lot of basic knowledge from Fundamental of Graphic Design. This course is very usefull. I would recomend everyone who wants to try himself in graphic design!

By Claire

Dec 30, 2015

Great course with a great range of introductory information with a good selection of exercises to complete. I learnt a lot from this course and had fun doing the assignments.