Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
2,043 ratings
512 reviews

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AT
Jul 6, 2020

An excellent introduction to Reinforcement Learning, accompanied by a well-organized & informative handbook. I definitely recommend this course to have a strong foundation in Reinforcement Learning.

NH
Apr 7, 2020

This course is one of the best I've learned so far in coursera. The explanations are clear and concise enough. It took a while for me to understand Bellman equation but when I did, it felt amazing!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 511 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By Cesar A G

Jul 13, 2020

Well structured and thought examples that expand the information on the textbook. The programming assignments are very well built.

By Suresh

Sep 21, 2020

Awesome introduction to Reinforcement Learning. The explanations are very precise and the complex concepts were easy to follow

By DEVANSHU S

Sep 8, 2020

Beautifully explains concepts in an intuitive fashion, although the addition of proofs of convergence would have been great :)

By Nikhil G

Nov 25, 2019

Excellent course companion to the textbook, clarifies many of the vague topics and gives good tests to ensure understanding

By seyedmohammad m

May 9, 2020

This course was great, but I think it is not complete. I have to pass the other courses in this specialization for sure.

By Evrim A

Nov 16, 2020

The course content is superb. As a suggestion, some coding and problem-solving content (as videos) would be outstanding

By Dylan R

Feb 22, 2020

Great course, reading the textbook was difficult at times, but the professors really helped me in understanding it all!

By Mohamed R M F

Jun 23, 2021

it's my first time learn what is reinforcement learning and this course really helped me to get the fundamentals of it

By Chamakoora S R

Jul 14, 2020

Not only this course was conceptually sound, it had inspirational sessions with researches who made big breakthroughs.

By AhmadrezaSheibanirad

Oct 27, 2019

This course is one of the great online course in Coursera which help people dig into reinforcement learning correctly.

By Andis R

Feb 15, 2020

Thank you very much for putting effort in this one !!! I was looking for such a course for some time already, thanks.

By Daniel R G

May 22, 2020

Genial curso, los temas dados son demasiado interesantes, a veces un poco dificiles de entender pero nada imposible.

By Bigyan K

Mar 3, 2020

Very well organized, and easy to follow with the RL book! Highly recommend this course in conjunction with the book.

By Remo H

Jan 31, 2021

Good explanations and very nice exercises. If I could wish something it would be to have more programming examples.

By Dinh-Son V

Jul 17, 2020

The presenters are amazing. Their voice are clear and charming and make you want to continue your journey into RL.

By Korosh T

May 22, 2021

Fantastic course. I learned a lot. The teachers are really great and the programming assignments are very useful.

By Mathew

Jun 7, 2020

Very well structured and a great compliment to the Reinforcement Learning (2nd Edition) book by Sutton and Barto.

By Mengyong L

Aug 1, 2020

Pretty complex but really useful! I had to go through each video twice to get a good understanding of the topic

By Prudhvinath R

Dec 3, 2019

Everything is explained in detail. The theory behind each logistic is clearly explained by both the Professors.

By Ofir E

Mar 20, 2020

An amazing course! It really has a high level and follows a coursebook just as a good university course would.

By seyed h m

Sep 28, 2019

To have the best performance in the course, read the related textbook sections at the beginning of each week.

By Anmar

Apr 15, 2020

Simple and straight to the point. Great course for understanding the fundamentals of reinforcement learning.

By Justin S

Oct 6, 2019

Great class! Learned a lot with two really fun and enthusiastic professors. Looking forward to the next one.

By Ivan M

Jul 11, 2020

That is awesome! The most interesting area of knowledge & engineering, the top quality education material!

By Selvaraj M

Apr 25, 2020

Very well organized and well thought videos, quiz and best of all coding assignment. Very impressive. A+++