Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
2,737 ratings

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AM

Invalid date

This course is great for people who are just starting out. The programming assignments are really great and practically introduce you to the basic concepts of reinforcement learning.

CS

Invalid date

Fantastic course! I have been interested in Reinforcement Learning for a long time and this has been the best introduction I have found so far. It gave me the foundations on the field.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 657 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By André B

Dec 1, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. The examples and the infrastructure provided (jupyter notebooks as assingments) made this course one of the best MOOCs that I have ever taken

By Claudio C

Feb 22, 2021

I was surprised how much this course challenged me compared to others I have taken on this platform.

It strongly demands the viewer to understand the topic of the course.

By Phil K M

Aug 22, 2020

I have learned a lot about the fundamental of reinforcement learning! Thanks a lot!

Two instructors are delivering an excellent course and the whole team did a great job!

By Christian R

Apr 15, 2020

I had some exposure to RL before but this course really tied together many things I learned so far and I'm very much looking forward to the rest of this specialization.

By Mustafa K

Jan 4, 2022

hws, quizzes, lectures were all prepared with great care!!!

definitely makes you learn the basics...

looking forward to the remaining 3 courses in this specialization...

By Matias A

Feb 13, 2020

Great course in general. Very clear step-by-step explanations of the theory needed to understand, plus practical examples to be able to fully understand the concepts.

By Ryan W

Feb 10, 2023

Awesome course! The explanation is really clear and it really helps understand the basic concept of RL. It would be better if we could have more progamming exercises.

By Aditya S

Apr 17, 2020

Great course, To be honest this course has made my concepts very clear, and I highly appreciate the way Martha ma'am and Adam sir taught. I really enjoyed the course.

By Aditya J

Sep 16, 2019

Impressed by the knowledge of professors in the video and inspite of that they took so much interest in teaching minor concepts to students which are trivial to them.

By Gowtham R

Jan 26, 2020

Amazing course! This course goes through the fundamentals of RL covering both theory and practicals(through programming assignments). The book is also great to read.

By Qianbo Y

Jan 8, 2020

A very good course integrated with Sutton and Barto textbook. A good foundation of RL can be learned from this class. It also balances well with theory and practice.

By Abhijeet

Oct 1, 2020

It is a good course to get an idea about what reinforcement learning is and what are its wide application. It covers the basic concepts and is very well organized.

By Singhi K

Aug 8, 2019

Good course following the classic book but it is kept at an easy pace for diverse people to be able to understand and apply the concepts of reinforcement learning.

By Yangjiong Z

May 9, 2020

best reinforcement learning on the cousera so far! all the concepts are presented in a very clear manner and plenty examples provided to facilitate understanding.

By Max C

Oct 23, 2019

Got me kickstarted with RL pretty well. I tried reading the RL book myself previously, but having complementary lectures and assignments made all the difference.

By Christian S

Sep 2, 2019

great course; well explained and exercises reinforce the learnt material. also, great that this course uses Sutton's and Barto's book on reinforcement learning.

By Fabio C

Oct 31, 2022

Well structured course. Well organized quiz elements and informative laboratory assignments which help understanding the mechanisms of reinforcement learning.

By İbrahim Y

Sep 18, 2020

The course gives basic ideas for introductory concepts for RL. This course is recommended for RL learners who would like to get some basic intuitions for RL.

By Antonio P R

Apr 3, 2021

Very detailed introduction to Reinforcement Learning. The course introduces all the necessary math and probability required to better understand this field.

By S R D

Feb 9, 2021

Simple and intuitive learning material. Creators of this course has taken care to introduce concepts in a learner friendly manner unlike most courses here.

By FERNANDO L S

Apr 26, 2020

Extraordinary material. Good examples and exercises. Works very well if you take the lessons together with reading the book. Congratulations on the course!

By shengjian c

Sep 1, 2019

This is a very helpful courses to help me walk through the Reinforcement Learning book with different kind of practices. Looking forward to taking course2!

By Tingting X

Aug 6, 2019

I love their way of teaching, they ask you to read, understand firstly, and then start to give a lecture about what it is, which helps a lot to understand.

By CHSamuelLam O

Sep 8, 2022

I like how the instructors introduce the basic concepts of RL in a coherent manner! Also, the learning curves for implementing the algorithms are gentle!

By Mengyu T

Jul 4, 2021

Very clearly explained videos that makes it easy to follow the textbook. Programing assignments and quizzes + explanation help understanding a lot!