Chevron Left
Back to The Fundamentals of Revenue Management: The Cornerstone of Revenue Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Fundamentals of Revenue Management: The Cornerstone of Revenue Strategy by ESSEC Business School

4.6
493 ratings
96 reviews

About the Course

With a fixed capacity, a highly disposable product and high fixed costs, hotels are a natural candidate for the application of revenue management. Originally developed by the airlines in the 1970s, these analytics-based techniques help predict consumer behavior at the hotel’s market level so that the hotel can sell each room each night at the optimum price. With modern-day rising acquisition costs and distribution complexities, revenue management techniques have increasingly been adopted by both small and large hotel companies, making a comprehensive understanding of segmentation, forecasting and pricing an essential requirement for today’s hospitality professionals. The purpose of this course is to provide a core understanding of the fundamentals of revenue management, which ties into the larger picture of revenue strategy. The course is structured to provide an insightful look into Revenue Management. Created in conjunction with Duetto, this course is hosted by a group of revenue management leaders in both theory and with hands-on experience at properties around the world. Upon completion of the course students should be empowered with industry best practices, which can be applied across the vast diversification the hotel industry to empower those to optimize profits. Duetto delivers powerful revenue strategy solutions to the world’s leading hotels and casinos, combining unparalleled expertise with world-class cloud-based technology. Acknowledgement: Bela Nagy, Agnes Roquefort , Jonathon Liu, Frederic Toitot, Pierrick La Masne, Markus Keller - ACCOR Simone Truscello - ACE HOTELS. Richard Valtr - MEWS SYSTEM. Jean-Luc Chrétien - FAST BOOKING. Jeannette Ho - FAIRMONT RAFFLES HOTELS & RESORTS. Chinmai Sharma - TAJ HOTEL & RESORTS. Cindy Estis Green - KALIBRI LABS. Jason Thielbar - RED LION. Christopher Cooper - ROCCO FORTE. Rom Hendler - SANDS. Rafi Rejerano - AB Hotels. Riko Van Santen - KEMPINKI HOTELS & RESORTS. Vinod Sukhija - BANYAN TREE HOTELS & RESORTS. Olivier Flement - WALT DISNEY COMPANY. Cidalia Pinto Coehlo - LOUVRE HOTELS. Trevor Stuart-Hill - REVENUE MATTERS. Vincent Cusma, Marco Benvenuti, Eric Stoessel, Gayle Ehrean, Nevin Reed - DUETTO. Claire Bertrand, Vincent Chatain, Jessica Moses, Benjamin Six (ESSEC Business School), Emilie Dupré (IMAGE-IN), Gregory Halidy (TRIPLAY)...

Top reviews

YZ

Aug 01, 2017

very useful and rich with it content , the complimentary reading is awesome and indeed needed\n\nthe final exam is a bit hard , i do recommend it for people who are seeking knowledge in RM

ES

Nov 26, 2017

I value specifically the repetition of concepts across videos and readings - it meant it really solidified the learning and knowledge so that I now can confidently apply it.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 92 Reviews for The Fundamentals of Revenue Management: The Cornerstone of Revenue Strategy

By Joseph A D

May 20, 2019

I've been in hotel business for over 10 years and this course reawakened me and extended my understanding.

By Tanay P

Jul 08, 2019

It has been a great learning experience. Learnt a lot of new things. Thank you Coursera, Essec Business School and Duetto for guiding me.

Have a wonderful day ahead!

By Juan A

Jul 15, 2019

Very interesting to start with the knowledge of strategic pricing. I manage a company with touristic apartments and it had helped me a lot.

By Gonçalo D

Jul 29, 2019

Very insightful and interesting. Definitely will recommend this course to other!

By Justin T

Aug 02, 2019

I'd like more practice questions throughout the coursing understanding when it makes sense to Yield or lower rates. The final quiz was complicated to understand.

By Daniel H

Feb 11, 2019

A great course with very interesting insights on Revenue Management strategies. A lot of the external and extra reading links are broken which is a shame, however, the course content itself is very good!

By Rafael L d S

Mar 18, 2019

Curso muito bacana, ficou a desejar apenas nos materiais de apoio, onde alguns links não funcionam mais e alguns videos já não estão ativos no Youtube.

By DANIEL R P R

Mar 11, 2019

Good content ! Besides it is guided by a known revenue company partner and experts.

Only 4 starts as the evaluation of the concepts seems more like a memory and find the tricky question than a practice or a sum up of highlights of the MOOC.

And also there is space to improve narrative and additional support and videos

By Francesco C

Sep 17, 2018

The course was really good an interesting. The links provided for the extra learning and deep understanding were not working. Also, I would suggest to explain a bit better the graphs shown during the course.

By Abdelrahman O E

Aug 25, 2018

It was a good introduction to the terminology, ideas, philosophies and difficulties of revenue management.

I would like to see how this would differ further based on size of hotel and property type compared to large hotels

By Sagar b

Sep 01, 2018

The course is a good start into revenue management. However, it does not provide "REAL" clarity on how revenue management really works in a hotel. How does a software such as Duetto fit into the hotel's scheme of things? Some more real world problem solving will helllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

By Andrej S

Nov 20, 2016

Solid course, but needs a little bit of a more practical application of the theory presented. All in all fine upgrade for people that up to now haven't had the awareness of revenue management importance.

By Michal V C H

Sep 14, 2017

I thing there are few errors in Final Exam.... :-)

By David U

Nov 12, 2016

Course was very interesting regarding the application of revenue management and specifically reviewing "Revenue Management Terminology" within the context of past and present trends in the Hotel Industry, but the course and it's additional reading material were slightly dated due to the fact that "Rate Parity" was referenced many times and I understand those clauses non-existent on OTA contracts anymore due to their dubious legality. (It seems that most of the articles referenced were from 2013, and a handful from 2014/2015)

Also, unfortunately, Augustin Cacot was a little difficult to understand at times, and I speak French!

By Fernando R

Aug 08, 2017

A very good course. I learned so much about revenue management.

Is a good start for people who want to enter the hotel industry.

By James C

Jun 09, 2017

Good for fundamental level.

But the exam is a bit difficult as there was no similar examples in the course.

By Sharon K

May 12, 2018

A n informative course however many of the links within the complimentary readings are not working.

By Rohan D J

Dec 02, 2016

I really found the course quite insightful, and was surprised with the amount of factors and variables that are taken into account when developing revenue strategy. I would have liked to see some mathematical aspect to this course.

By Camila V E

Aug 15, 2017

Nathaniel was great to learn from.

By Xingliang Z

Nov 26, 2015

You can get to know about basic points about RM, like user segments, forecasting and pricing.

By Gianluigi B

Dec 05, 2015

Last lessons were a bit repetetives. I suggest to introduce more real case studies or revenue strategy building process simulation.

By Olga S

Feb 22, 2016

Great course, lots of interesting material!

However, I wish this course was not so fast-paced. If more time was dedicated to every subject and more examples were provided, that would make a learning process more effective.

By Ramya M

Oct 10, 2017

Overall course content is nice, but it is very theoretical. There is no way one person learns how to do the Yield up, down or maintain in the final exam by studying this course material - Unless they have some real world hotelier experience.

By Constantinos D

Feb 21, 2016

A very interesting course outlining the important of good revenue management and flexible pricing to maximize hotel revenue and profits. I would welcome a few more practical exercises DURING the course and not only on the final quiz. Also, it would be good to have the tables and presentations on .pdf or . jpg format as details are not readable behind the presenter. Looking forward to the next course in this specialization, namely Demand Management.

By Cyril G

Jan 20, 2016

Very helpful. Only wish we had more opportunity to practice on a facultative basis.