Chevron Left
Back to The Fundamentals of Revenue Management: The Cornerstone of Revenue Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Fundamentals of Revenue Management: The Cornerstone of Revenue Strategy by ESSEC Business School

4.6
stars
1,032 ratings

About the Course

With a fixed capacity, a highly disposable product and high fixed costs, hotels are a natural candidate for the application of revenue management. Originally developed by the airlines in the 1970s, these analytics-based techniques help predict consumer behavior at the hotel’s market level so that the hotel can sell each room each night at the optimum price. With modern-day rising acquisition costs and distribution complexities, revenue management techniques have increasingly been adopted by both small and large hotel companies, making a comprehensive understanding of segmentation, forecasting and pricing an essential requirement for today’s hospitality professionals. The purpose of this course is to provide a core understanding of the fundamentals of revenue management, which ties into the larger picture of revenue strategy. The course is structured to provide an insightful look into Revenue Management. Created in conjunction with Duetto, this course is hosted by a group of revenue management leaders in both theory and with hands-on experience at properties around the world. Upon completion of the course students should be empowered with industry best practices, which can be applied across the vast diversification the hotel industry to empower those to optimize profits. Duetto delivers powerful revenue strategy solutions to the world’s leading hotels and casinos, combining unparalleled expertise with world-class cloud-based technology. Acknowledgement: Bela Nagy, Agnes Roquefort , Jonathon Liu, Frederic Toitot, Pierrick La Masne, Markus Keller - ACCOR Simone Truscello - ACE HOTELS. Richard Valtr - MEWS SYSTEM. Jean-Luc Chrétien - FAST BOOKING. Jeannette Ho - FAIRMONT RAFFLES HOTELS & RESORTS. Chinmai Sharma - TAJ HOTEL & RESORTS. Cindy Estis Green - KALIBRI LABS. Jason Thielbar - RED LION. Christopher Cooper - ROCCO FORTE. Rom Hendler - SANDS. Rafi Rejerano - AB Hotels. Riko Van Santen - KEMPINKI HOTELS & RESORTS. Vinod Sukhija - BANYAN TREE HOTELS & RESORTS. Olivier Flement - WALT DISNEY COMPANY. Cidalia Pinto Coehlo - LOUVRE HOTELS. Trevor Stuart-Hill - REVENUE MATTERS. Vincent Cusma, Marco Benvenuti, Eric Stoessel, Gayle Ehrean, Nevin Reed - DUETTO. Claire Bertrand, Vincent Chatain, Jessica Moses, Benjamin Six (ESSEC Business School), Emilie Dupré (IMAGE-IN), Gregory Halidy (TRIPLAY)...

Top reviews

YZ

Jul 31, 2017

very useful and rich with it content , the complimentary reading is awesome and indeed needed

the final exam is a bit hard , i do recommend it for people who are seeking knowledge in RM

TD

Apr 30, 2022

I have been working in the hospitality industry for around 3 years. I found a lot of useful knowledge in the course. It is practical and informative. Highly recommend the course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 261 Reviews for The Fundamentals of Revenue Management: The Cornerstone of Revenue Strategy

By Andreas O

Mar 6, 2021

Very informative for beginners. The course might need an update since there have been developments in the in the industry. Furthermore, some of the readings and videos were not accessible.

By Porche G

Nov 15, 2019

This is a good course for someone (like myself) to take if they do not have a revenue management background. I wish I could've taken this when I first got here in January!

By Tiffany J

Apr 23, 2021

Overall pretty clear and very informative. However a lot of the extra reading materials were links that no longer work. Otherwise, very concise introduction to this topic.

By Elisa R

Nov 9, 2020

A very good course overall, straight to the point and clearly explained, covering fundamental concepts and procedures. I would add more examples and practical exercises.

By Pitanu B (

Apr 14, 2020

I would recommend that people take this series of courses, I definitely learned quite a bit from it, even though I have worked in the tourism industry for 20 plus years.

By Hugo D L

Apr 6, 2020

nice course expect the final exams, the 15 cases where really hard to understand base on the sentences construction. Maybe it's a English translation end's up mixed.

By Rafael L d S

Mar 18, 2019

Curso muito bacana, ficou a desejar apenas nos materiais de apoio, onde alguns links não funcionam mais e alguns videos já não estão ativos no Youtube.

By Thomas F

Mar 1, 2021

Actually, the course is not bad. But the videos and documents are quite old. This part of the specialization needs a revision to a more current state.

By Kullen O

Mar 9, 2021

Everything was able to connect deeply into my experience based knowledge to enhance better thinking towards hotel operation and finance. Thank you.

By Barbara H d N G

Jun 16, 2020

I really enjoyed the classes, learned a lot, but unfortunately most of the links for complementary reading were not working properly.

By Gianluigi B

Dec 5, 2015

Last lessons were a bit repetetives. I suggest to introduce more real case studies or revenue strategy building process simulation.

By Fernando R

Aug 7, 2017

A very good course. I learned so much about revenue management.

Is a good start for people who want to enter the hotel industry.

By Uxia B M

Mar 30, 2020

Thank you for this course, the content is appropriate however I have missed some more practical cases, like in the final exam.

By Arturo M P

Jun 6, 2021

some links for reading materials does not properly work

information of this course is relevant and up to date

By James C

Jun 8, 2017

Good for fundamental level.

But the exam is a bit difficult as there was no similar examples in the course.

By Ludovit M

Feb 20, 2021

Some of the additional reading have not been available. Otherwise the Course videos, have been very good.

By Mario J F

Jun 21, 2020

Great course, the only bad thing I can say is that some of the extra reading materials were not available

By Sharon K

May 11, 2018

A n informative course however many of the links within the complimentary readings are not working.

By Ana T S d S

Jun 14, 2020

This course is super interesting to have a good idea/ a high-level view of Revenue Management.

By José M D V

Apr 12, 2020

Muy bueno, lo unico que no me gusto que en los reading list la mayoría de los link estan rotos

By Shiny Z

Nov 25, 2015

You can get to know about basic points about RM, like user segments, forecasting and pricing.

By Yeik T ( N C W T

Jan 21, 2018

Only Thing I have to suggest is no explanation or showing right answer for exam result. Why?

By Jolita S

Oct 18, 2020

There was a lot of video and reading materials not acceptable from complementary readings

By Jennifer P

May 20, 2020

Attention, les liens vers la majorité des sources de lecture contiennent une erreur 404.

By Gabriela A R M

Sep 16, 2019

Excelente información. Si se implementaran más ejemplos prácticos, sería aún mejor.