Chevron Left
Back to The Fundamentals of Revenue Management: The Cornerstone of Revenue Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Fundamentals of Revenue Management: The Cornerstone of Revenue Strategy by ESSEC Business School

4.6
stars
744 ratings
176 reviews

About the Course

With a fixed capacity, a highly disposable product and high fixed costs, hotels are a natural candidate for the application of revenue management. Originally developed by the airlines in the 1970s, these analytics-based techniques help predict consumer behavior at the hotel’s market level so that the hotel can sell each room each night at the optimum price. With modern-day rising acquisition costs and distribution complexities, revenue management techniques have increasingly been adopted by both small and large hotel companies, making a comprehensive understanding of segmentation, forecasting and pricing an essential requirement for today’s hospitality professionals. The purpose of this course is to provide a core understanding of the fundamentals of revenue management, which ties into the larger picture of revenue strategy. The course is structured to provide an insightful look into Revenue Management. Created in conjunction with Duetto, this course is hosted by a group of revenue management leaders in both theory and with hands-on experience at properties around the world. Upon completion of the course students should be empowered with industry best practices, which can be applied across the vast diversification the hotel industry to empower those to optimize profits. Duetto delivers powerful revenue strategy solutions to the world’s leading hotels and casinos, combining unparalleled expertise with world-class cloud-based technology. Acknowledgement: Bela Nagy, Agnes Roquefort , Jonathon Liu, Frederic Toitot, Pierrick La Masne, Markus Keller - ACCOR Simone Truscello - ACE HOTELS. Richard Valtr - MEWS SYSTEM. Jean-Luc Chrétien - FAST BOOKING. Jeannette Ho - FAIRMONT RAFFLES HOTELS & RESORTS. Chinmai Sharma - TAJ HOTEL & RESORTS. Cindy Estis Green - KALIBRI LABS. Jason Thielbar - RED LION. Christopher Cooper - ROCCO FORTE. Rom Hendler - SANDS. Rafi Rejerano - AB Hotels. Riko Van Santen - KEMPINKI HOTELS & RESORTS. Vinod Sukhija - BANYAN TREE HOTELS & RESORTS. Olivier Flement - WALT DISNEY COMPANY. Cidalia Pinto Coehlo - LOUVRE HOTELS. Trevor Stuart-Hill - REVENUE MATTERS. Vincent Cusma, Marco Benvenuti, Eric Stoessel, Gayle Ehrean, Nevin Reed - DUETTO. Claire Bertrand, Vincent Chatain, Jessica Moses, Benjamin Six (ESSEC Business School), Emilie Dupré (IMAGE-IN), Gregory Halidy (TRIPLAY)...

Top reviews

YZ

Aug 01, 2017

very useful and rich with it content , the complimentary reading is awesome and indeed needed\n\nthe final exam is a bit hard , i do recommend it for people who are seeking knowledge in RM

ES

Nov 26, 2017

I value specifically the repetition of concepts across videos and readings - it meant it really solidified the learning and knowledge so that I now can confidently apply it.

Filter by:

151 - 172 of 172 Reviews for The Fundamentals of Revenue Management: The Cornerstone of Revenue Strategy

By Romain G

May 17, 2020

Some complementary articles and videos links are unavailable

By Paula v O

May 05, 2018

I found a lot of the questions 'misleading' or confusing.

By Nagraj N

Jan 23, 2019

This section was not that impressive as the first one.

By Fabiola M

Apr 30, 2020

Creo que el curso es muy teórico y poco práctico.

By Priyanka J

Aug 21, 2020

Reading material and videos were not available.

By Abdel F B

Apr 02, 2020

des liens annexes ne marchent pas

By Kurt J

Oct 28, 2019

A lot of links are not working

By Sandeep k

May 10, 2020

Good

By Alexandra

Jan 30, 2020

The course is good for a very basic, very theoretical overview of what the revenue management steps are. The concepts can be presented in a biased form (by the sponsoring company), so take it with a grain of salt. The content is outdated (links and videos don't work; no engagement on forums). More details below.

What it does well: It's well structured; it uses industry specific terminology and topics; it touches on some issues that hotel managers deal with and summarizes some of the solutions.

Drawbacks: The university has partnered with different companies in the creation of this course, and the overall specialization. The companies are selling their products in a very subtle way, so they present some of the concept in a way that aligns with their agenda. As an example: Course 1 (not associated with any firm) equally highlighted the pros and cons of working with OTAs, while Course 2, sponsored by Duetto, mostly spoke about the negatives of OTA bookings.

95% of the articles don't exist anymore; 100% of the videos don't exist. There are too many typos in the practice tests, as well as the closed captions - unacceptable for a course published by a university. The course hasn't been updated in some years with current information or data. No current interaction in the forum.

Finally, the course is very theoretical. No practical examples of hotels, with quantitative exercises.

By Giorgio T

Jun 18, 2020

Io lavoro nel mondo dell F&b e ho scelto di partecipare a questo corso per imparare di più sull hotel management. Mi ha aiutato perché ho imparato un sacco di cose nuove riguardanti la gestione delle prenotazioni e come gestire diversi tipi di clientela.

Ho purtroppo trovato spesso il corso molto ripetitivo e non approfondito, sembra che i tutor rimandino sempre alle lezioni successive nelle quali in realtà non dicono nulla di nuovo.

L’esame finale è molto difficile e pratico; purtroppo non ti danno alcuna preparazione per affrontarlo con, per esempio, esercizi pratici.

L’80% dei links inoltre non funziona e penso che delle slides aiuterebbero molto chi appunto come me non lavora alla reception.

By Sergei S

Jun 28, 2019

A lot of water. Too much of Duetto advertizing, editorials, articles, logos everywhere. Taking into account that I have paid for subscription - very disapointing. A lot of materials are out of date and links are broken. In fact you will listen for only Duetto's opinion all over the course. There should be some other options of supplemental materials and readings. And half of links leads to Duetto's White papers which is extremely boring. Just in case I sent a demo request to Duetto, but they declined it because they can not integrate with our Bookingsync CRS. Such a shame.

By Antonino S

Dec 10, 2017

Most of Duetto's external links do not work. Most of the videos just repeat over and over again the same things. Module number two above all is a bit chaotic and the tutor is not very succesfull in stimulating or thrilling into the argument. I'd say he's quite boring if compared with the first course or the other modules of the same course. (I'm not judjing his competence or skills, just saying my opinion as viewer).

The course should really give more concrete examples of segmentation and pricing strategies. Update all the external Duetto's links is also necessary

By Mauro M V I

Jun 03, 2020

There is a lack of hands-on exercises and that the majority of links does not show the content (at least 4 in every 5 are broken). This is a huge downstep from the first MOOC of the Specialization. There is no activity from the mentors in the forums. All of this combined makes the content of the videos alone insufficient to have a good grade on the final exam, although a bit of common sense helps when answering.

By Kundan S

Nov 17, 2015

The course is highly theoretical. Only good for coming to know the terms that are in use in the industry and their meanings. Very little take away from a practical perspective. Some live example or a case study to be incorporated where the students can apply the principles first hand.

By Juan J T

Apr 30, 2020

The theory of the course is very general, it does not show the practical aspects and some of the links do not work.

The videos are basically of a person speaking and do not provide data or graphic support (diagrams, bullet points, data, steps to follow ...)

Has let me down

By Mohammed N

May 12, 2020

It would be helpful if the final exam had an answer guide with details to correct mistakes atleast after receiving the certificate.

By Carmen J

Jun 15, 2018

the readings and articles are outdated

By Michael F

Jun 20, 2020

This course sadly does not live up to the expectations I went in with based on the quality of the first course in the specialisation.

Presenters of course materials seem inexperienced in presenting, and while they are obviously knowledgeable in their fields, also seem unfamiliar with the scripted content - leading to unusual inflection in some parts of the video lectures. Additionally, one presenter's overuse of gesture is particularly distracting.

Links to a large portion of the supplementary materials provided are defunct. While some can still be found by searching online, others have been removed from public access by Duetto (i.e. from their website or their YouTube channel).

Additionally, given almost all of the supplementary materials are from a single source which has a business interest in promoting certain approaches to revenue management, they provide a very one-sided view of how it should be done.

The course assessment is not thorough - requiring just a single examination of only 15 questions, and which can be repeated multiple times. Signpost practice examinations at the end of each module contain typographical errors, unusual phrasing, and in one instance indicates which answer is correct before being submitted by the learner.

By Eefke v D

Nov 11, 2017

I didn't think it was a good course. Almost everything in course 2 had already been dealt with in course 1. The presentations in course 2 lacked good examples/situations which course 1 did offer. Last, the links of course 2 were sponsored by Duetto so it's very subjective. I would have liked to see better teachers/professors in course 2. To me it just wasn't worth paying for.

By Andres L I

May 17, 2019

Overall I´d say this course is not updated at all to be honest. Articles you find around the course are from 2014/2015 and part of them as some videos are not accessible anymore. But I like the way it´s structured you will also find quite interesting staff as a couple of books (from 2015) but you´ll learn the basis

By ROCIO M D R

May 21, 2020

The course will be better if yo have updated the information since 2015.

Moreover the 85% of video and reading links are not working making impossible to get through all the information required to finish a module.

By Vijay N M

May 20, 2020

Better lectures please.