Chevron Left
Back to Our Energy Future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Our Energy Future by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
781 ratings
220 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to introduce students to the issues of energy in the 21st century – including food and fuels – which are inseparably linked – and will discuss energy production and utilization from the biology, engineering, economics, climate science, and social science perspectives. This course will cover the current production and utilization of energy, as well as the consequences of this use, examining finite fossil energy reserves, how food and energy are linked, impacts on the environment and climate, and the social and economic impacts of our present energy and food production and use. After the introductory lectures, we will examine the emerging field of sustainable energy, fuel and food production, emphasizing the importance of developing energy efficient and sustainable methods of production, and how these new technologies can contribute to replacing the diminishing supplies of fossil fuels, and reduce the consequences of carbon dioxide release into the environment. This course will also cover the importance of creating a sustainable energy future for all societies including those of the developing world. Lectures will be prepared and delivered by leading UC San Diego and Scripps Institution of Oceanography faculty and industry professionals across these areas of expertise....

Top reviews

AM
Sep 28, 2016

Very informative course even for someone with a prior knowledge in a particular segment in renewable energy. Covers diverse energy resources along with economic, and environmental considerations.

JJ
Oct 30, 2016

Great learning experience! Easy way to get an idea of the work that is being done to better our lives in the future in terms of energy. Very interesting lectures and would highly recommend it.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 219 Reviews for Our Energy Future

By Pawan K S

Nov 7, 2017

its an awesome course....everyone should have to study this...it should our responsibility to do it....

By João N

Jun 29, 2016

Excellent teachers, thanks to you all.

Dr. Stephen Mayfield inspire respect for the subject, Congrats!

By Deleted A

Oct 6, 2016

They give an overview of the most used and innovative sources of alternative energy, well explained!!

By fadi k

Aug 24, 2016

very encouraging course , nicely put and very hard work to put all these themes together.Thank you

By Srinivasan R

Jun 7, 2020

Detailed explanations and a great initiative to improve students knowledge about the environment.

By Ludwig v B T

Feb 15, 2018

It's a great course to understand energy demand a supply in a broad sense. I totally recomend it.

By Aleksandrs P

Jul 3, 2017

An excellent course that covers all aspects of modern energy challenges. Definitely recommend!

By Idris A A

Nov 3, 2015

Because of this course, I'm considering a masters degree in the Field of Energy, In sha Allah

By José D R C

Sep 18, 2017

Interesting insights on energy sources and how we can make use of them. simple and explicit!

By Margareth A P L

Oct 13, 2020

Es un muy buen curso, me gustaron la mayoría de las presentaciones y la dinámica del mismo.

By Jose B

Jan 6, 2018

Great course, giving students a good understanding of the current and future energy issues

By Abdur R B

May 12, 2018

Very informative perspective of the Energy Landscope. Thanks to Prof. Mayfield and UCSD.

By Margaux D d M

Jun 27, 2016

This helped me to understand much better what is Sustainable Energy and what it implies.

By Faruk M

Jan 8, 2016

you must take this course if you want to know basicly about energy past, present, future

By Andres E R C

Oct 25, 2016

Excellent Course to have an overview about Energy Management and future challenges.

By Erik

Jan 8, 2016

A week thought through collection of different aspects regarding our energy future.

By Conrado M M

Sep 4, 2017

Excelente curso, com conteúdo muito bem elaborado e ótimo ambiente de aprendizado.

By Paul J L

Aug 17, 2015

Difficult course. If this is what you are interested in,the work is all worth it.

By Ong K H

Jun 13, 2020

Really interesting course and especially relevant in the world we live in today!

By Anand R

Mar 30, 2019

A very good overview about the future needs and present progress in this area

By Carlos D F

Oct 21, 2015

Great course. Very useful information and very wide approach to the subject.

By Nicholas M R

Jan 3, 2016

Excellent, in-depth overview of today's challenges for Our Energy Future

By Tomasz K

Jun 13, 2017

Extremely interesting, well organized course. Highly recommended!

By Raghavendra P C

Nov 30, 2015

good course with detailed information. I enjoyed by part of this.

By Gustavo A

Jul 13, 2020

Fue más de lo que esperaba, realmente me gustó mucho este curso.