Chevron Left
Back to Character Design for Video Games

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Character Design for Video Games by California Institute of the Arts

4.6
stars
762 ratings
203 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will explore concepts and approaches involved in creating successful character designs that can be applied to video games. Following a first week delving into some foundational concepts for successful character design, each of the remaining three weeks are structured as a master class where you will observe three professional character designers at work in the studio: Andy Ristaino (Adventure Time), Jacky Ke Jiang (Journey), and Robertryan Cory (SpongeBob SquarePants). Each designer will take on two different design challenges on the fly and address the various issues in designing characters for games, such as movement, expression, and technical limitations. At the end of each week you will have an opportunity to try out some of the concepts from that week's lesson on characters of your own design. This is a fun and engaging class especially useful for students interested in animation in film and TV as well as games, and is suitable for students of any drawing ability....

Top reviews

JM
Dec 21, 2016

As I said earlier, I recommend this course for everyone; doctors included (:\n\nI like how this course was treated in a different way. We see people doing the job on there ground, that's interesting.

AM
Nov 5, 2017

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 196 Reviews for Character Design for Video Games

By Carlos B J

Jan 17, 2016

Excellent! Sorry, I didn't do any assignments, but I really enjoy the course. The words of Robertryan Cory were brilliant! Cheers.

By Edwin V C

Jan 12, 2016

Loved the different approaches to character design and the insight on the ideation and work processes of the different artists!

By Naman K

Jun 4, 2020

Great course for those who want to learn character design and are new to it.

I learnt many things and enjoyed the course!

By Magno G B

Mar 15, 2017

Just love it, I learn a lot about how approach a idea, the guys in the videos are amazing, and the teather is so cute :)

By John R

Sep 19, 2016

This was a really fun and educational way of exploring different aproaches to character design. I didn't want it to end!

By José D

Jan 20, 2016

This is one of my favorite courses since it encourages creativity and really contributes to good game design practices.

By Alexander G

Jan 6, 2016

Very interesting course, would definitely recommend it! Learned new things to refine and introduce into my own style.

By 刘树宇

May 22, 2016

I've known a lot of new things and they make me become a better designer and think more about what is a good design.

By Sharon J

May 8, 2017

That was really engaging, especially the tips from the experts and feedback from the other peers helps immensely.

By Denver H

Aug 16, 2016

This is a great course, and your created material can go towards a good developmental and presentation portfolio.

By Austin G

Jan 23, 2016

Lots of fun to join in and nice easy pace to complete the assignments. Overall had an awesome time participating!

By Jesus O

Dec 3, 2020

This is such a good course, those videos seeing the artists work on the characters is worth it's weight in gold.

By Mitchell B

May 21, 2020

The classes felt a little long this time, but overall I enjoyed studying the different artist's artistic styles.

By Ștefan B

Aug 8, 2017

Exceptional course, it's the very best approach.

This skill, character design, is " stolen " rather than learned.

By Nuno F A C

Jul 19, 2018

very good course, even for people that are not designers. I'm a programmery myself and anjoyed it pretty much

By Daniel D

Jul 20, 2016

I love this new course!! Thank you for the opportunity of the know how it works and for learn something new.

By Theodore K

Oct 9, 2016

This course is exceptional! it really helped me improve my designs and was super fun to participate in!

By Akif K

Jan 24, 2016

This course teaches a lot by talking professionals, each one gives something unique and that's great!

By Diana S I R V

Jul 19, 2018

I would like to thanks everyone who gave me the option of doing this course! I'm really grateful! <3

By sean o

Aug 13, 2017

Awesome. Learnt loads directly from top industry fellows. The assignments were fun and challenging.

By Angelo B

Feb 2, 2016

A very good experience, but if it could've helped me to find a job it would have been even better.

By Ekaterina T

Jul 30, 2020

This is absolutely the best course in the Game Design specialization. I like every lesson in it.

By Carmen C

Jan 31, 2016

I really enjoyed this class a lot! Taught me a few things about designing a character, for sure

By jhonatan g r t

Nov 21, 2016

la creación del personaje que tu vas a manejar es una extensión del mismo juego y su historia.

By asfan

Dec 12, 2016

it give me a strong basic knowledge on character design, i enjoy every session on this course