Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
1,894 ratings
565 reviews

About the Course

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Top reviews

TN

Apr 13, 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG

Feb 13, 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 550 Reviews for Introduction to Game Design

By Rubén C G

Nov 01, 2015

Course that do not require lots of time but put your creative mind on work and push it truly far making a simple game detailing before its workframe.

By Amr A

May 20, 2020

It was a great course, It pointed to many essentials and basics of game's ideas.

It gives you the right way to think if you are going to make a game.

By Mitchell B

May 04, 2020

My only concern with the program is the classmate's feedback process. I really wish it was easier to give and get reviews, find other active* users.

By Vanessa T

Jun 14, 2018

An informative & fun introduction to video game design with hands-on assignments. It could've been more in-depth and specific, but I learned a lot!

By Daaz89

Sep 28, 2015

I like what I viewed so far. It is great to learn the fundamentals of game design without having to worry about learning a programming language.

By Tadas Z

Dec 21, 2015

lectures are quite simple and short, but i really enjoyed working on homeworks! it's a great and short course to start generating game ideas!

By Nilson G D

Feb 07, 2017

A nice course, with great content, but the Coursera plataform presented many flaws in key points, as the access to the feedbacks of peers...

By Jaime R

Dec 22, 2015

Good course with good concepts but could do with a lot more depth. This course's content would be one week of content for other courses

By Trystyn J B

Nov 15, 2019

Fun and quirky, but felt a little bit too basic and easy. Hopefully the rest of the courses in this capstone will account for that.

By Robert M

Dec 15, 2016

There were a few problems with the app interface especially in the peer review section but a great introduction really enjoyed it.

By Carlo S C

Aug 15, 2016

A good course, with the using of peer review as an instrument of continuous confrontation, but lacks support from the staff.

By Костромин В В

Apr 08, 2016

Simply give more literature, and some expert opinion about some interesting jobs of week.

There is no communication at all

By Mary P

Oct 14, 2015

A course with very clear, fun lectures. My only complaint is that I wish it had been a bit more detailed / complex.

By SUBARSHANA G C

Jul 16, 2020

It was really useful and i enjoyed a lot .the communication where understandable and interesting to learn.

By Daniel d S C

Oct 26, 2015

Very good! The idea of delivering a work per week helped me develop the discipline and the creativity.

By Edgar H

Aug 03, 2016

Excelente, es una vision general de los 3 cursos consecutivos a este. Tiene un componente divertido!

By Chao Z

Nov 24, 2015

The instructor is a good story teller, teaching important skills from smalls tips which are useful.

By Jorge T

May 16, 2016

It's pretty fun and indeed teaches the basics of game creation, however I found a bit simple.

By Domenic G

Sep 30, 2015

A fun course with a good instructor. it introduces a simple process for brainstorming ideas.

By Cessna

Mar 26, 2016

Clear and simple. Suitable for beginners.

But most of the contents are rather too intuitive.

By Vidyasagar G C

Oct 19, 2015

I'M LEARNING,ENJOYING THIS COURSE.LECTURE IS SO GOOD.ASSIGNMENTS ARE EAST AND CHALLENGING.

By Panagiotis K

Apr 08, 2020

Good course, very basic, I was expecting something more, even if it's "introductory"

By Gio N

Jan 07, 2016

Very good course overall. Would recommend to every game developer and game designer.

By Nina L

Mar 17, 2016

The lecture is interesting, I enjoy a lot. And the assignment makes me learn a lot.

By Thalita d P

Nov 06, 2019

It was a bit too pricey for me but i had a pleasant experience and learned a lot.