Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
1,975 ratings
587 reviews

About the Course

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Top reviews

TN
Apr 12, 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG
Feb 12, 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 571 Reviews for Introduction to Game Design

By Somesh N

Oct 30, 2015

I liked the fact that the course starts from and covers the very basics. The videos were fun to watch and the course taught a lot through the assignments. With very less time commitment , the course taught me to make my first board game.

By Viktoras B

Sep 20, 2015

The course was quite helpful. I've been trying to make games already, but never knew where to start designing the game. Unfortunately it's quite short which was disappointing. I would never pay 80$ for a couple hours of video with basics

By Tsur D

Sep 20, 2020

it was fun, but i feel that there wasn't enough content, it was a really basic intro.

The missions were fun.

It was a very easy intro course to game design.

Should be skipped if you have any previous experience in game design

By Amin R

Sep 22, 2015

Simple and fun method of education. short length videos, kind instructor and fun assignments.

i have learned some basics in game world. i like this course and thanks to coursera,calARTS,Fran and his cool puppet friend :)

By Melissa C

May 23, 2019

I think this was a great course for a person like myself who wanted to start learning about Game Design but really had no experience. I enjoyed to class and love the flexibility with being able to take it all on

By Devin C

Dec 14, 2015

Instructor was fun, but a little stiff. It's his first time teaching, so I can forgive it though. The work was a little tedious. I wish there was more variety in the assignments than just updating the same game.

By Sushobhit B

Dec 27, 2016

A very basic course to start off the game design career. Great if you want to start right from the ground stage and make your way up! Complex concepts broken down and put ever so simply! Try it out!

By whipexx

Mar 7, 2016

Really good introduction to game design and to the rest of the courses.

It does not have five stars because the task could be felt as repetitive if you started with a more developed idea from week 1.

By alexandre a d l

Jan 27, 2016

good course, really an introduction =)

But the teacher is always reading a "Teleprompter".

He is not spontaneous... Except when He uses RPG to demonstrate an example ;-)

But the content is great

By Borja R N

Aug 13, 2019

Nice way to explain and cool exercises to do if you are interested on the course. The only thing that isn't that good is the peer calification system, not everyone takes the course seriously.

By Joel L

Jan 7, 2016

Simple, clean course that focuses beautifully on the core of what is being taught.

Also very enjoyable vibe to the instructor and the assignments; there's a puppet as a TA... enough said. :)

By Jin, Y

Oct 19, 2015

There's only peer review in this course, which didn't provide the evaluation on your actually level on design skill. It's really just a 4 weeks intro, super easy to achieve the full marks.

By Francisco N

Dec 3, 2015

The course was fun and the progression through the weeks assignments was good. The contents were presented in a interesting way and were pertinent, but i would know a little more deeper.

By Craig B

Mar 8, 2018

Simple to follow, good for absolute beginners. Even if you find you are already familiar with some of the content, the course helps better articulate this understanding.

By E. C C

Nov 19, 2016

Funny introduction to game design. Not too serious, which I think is what some people need to loosen up and start with a playful mindset. (See what I did there?)

By Jeanette L

Jun 9, 2020

Very interesting, easy to follow and great with peer to peer feedback. I miss some interactions with the instructors, in terms of feedback during the course.

By Baltazhiev M

Apr 12, 2020

This course is nice. Well it doesn't make you a game designer haha, but it helps to broad your mind for sure. Thank you for making my brain working :)

By Anirudh C

Oct 18, 2018

The course is fun to learn. Great for beginners, it would have bee better if it could contain checklist for tasks like GDD, and other design docs etc.

By Rubén C G

Nov 1, 2015

Course that do not require lots of time but put your creative mind on work and push it truly far making a simple game detailing before its workframe.

By Amr A

May 20, 2020

It was a great course, It pointed to many essentials and basics of game's ideas.

It gives you the right way to think if you are going to make a game.

By Mitchell B

May 4, 2020

My only concern with the program is the classmate's feedback process. I really wish it was easier to give and get reviews, find other active* users.

By Vanessa T

Jun 14, 2018

An informative & fun introduction to video game design with hands-on assignments. It could've been more in-depth and specific, but I learned a lot!

By Daaz89

Sep 28, 2015

I like what I viewed so far. It is great to learn the fundamentals of game design without having to worry about learning a programming language.

By Tadas Z

Dec 20, 2015

lectures are quite simple and short, but i really enjoyed working on homeworks! it's a great and short course to start generating game ideas!

By Nilson G D

Feb 6, 2017

A nice course, with great content, but the Coursera plataform presented many flaws in key points, as the access to the feedbacks of peers...