Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
2,132 ratings
636 reviews

About the Course

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Top reviews

TN
Apr 12, 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG
Feb 12, 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 620 Reviews for Introduction to Game Design

By Daniel d S C

Oct 25, 2015

Very good! The idea of delivering a work per week helped me develop the discipline and the creativity.

By Edgar H

Aug 2, 2016

Excelente, es una vision general de los 3 cursos consecutivos a este. Tiene un componente divertido!

By Chao Z

Nov 24, 2015

The instructor is a good story teller, teaching important skills from smalls tips which are useful.

By Marcelo S

Feb 9, 2021

An exceptional course with an amazing professor, but the gap between reviews can be more improved.

By Jorge T

May 16, 2016

It's pretty fun and indeed teaches the basics of game creation, however I found a bit simple.

By Domenic G

Sep 30, 2015

A fun course with a good instructor. it introduces a simple process for brainstorming ideas.

By Cessna

Mar 26, 2016

Clear and simple. Suitable for beginners.

But most of the contents are rather too intuitive.

By Vidyasagar G C

Oct 19, 2015

I'M LEARNING,ENJOYING THIS COURSE.LECTURE IS SO GOOD.ASSIGNMENTS ARE EAST AND CHALLENGING.

By Panagiotis K

Apr 8, 2020

Good course, very basic, I was expecting something more, even if it's "introductory"

By Gio N

Jan 7, 2016

Very good course overall. Would recommend to every game developer and game designer.

By Nina L

Mar 17, 2016

The lecture is interesting, I enjoy a lot. And the assignment makes me learn a lot.

By Thalita d P

Nov 6, 2019

It was a bit too pricey for me but i had a pleasant experience and learned a lot.

By Alan B

Sep 19, 2016

Great simple, yet useful, course to realize of the core things about Game Design.

By Lone W

Sep 23, 2020

pretty good intro to understanding the basic idea of game design thought process

By David T S

Oct 24, 2020

I love how Fran teaches. he makes it interesting and never dull.

By Soumadeep D

Oct 7, 2016

gives us the corefoundation of starting a career in game design

By torea f

Jun 21, 2016

Interesting tips on some important points when designing a game

By CHANDRASESAN S

Jul 4, 2020

this is very good and i have learned a lot on completion.

By Faizur r

Aug 27, 2016

Really very interesting and helpful to me think own ideas

By Deleted A

Jan 9, 2020

This course helps to understand basic games structure.

By sergi m

Jun 15, 2019

Good introductory course. Short , simple , and funny!

By Ranjan K

Dec 19, 2016

Good Course to understand basics of Game designing

By 刘广祺

Jan 15, 2016

good enough for beginners,

and the puppet is funny.

By Abiral G

Jan 26, 2018

Good course.

We can get ideas about game design.

By Julian A

Oct 29, 2018

Good introduction to this specialization.