Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory by Stanford University

4.6
stars
4,043 ratings
816 reviews

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

SC

Feb 7, 2022

I would have preferred a more mathematically rigorous treatment of the subject. Nevertheless, this was a great course — the instructors expounded all concepts with exceptional clarity and engagement.

WY

May 16, 2017

Great ! Interesting and abound at the same time. Hope Professors will clarify the strategic utility function more clearly because it's hard for students with poor math basic(forget most><) right now!

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 805 Reviews for Game Theory

By Phattarin P

Feb 22, 2018

It would be better if the definition or term of variables is clearer. Good choice for learning basic game theory. It's easy to follow the video and you can check whether you understand the lesson by doing the quiz. Also, quiz explanations help me a lot.

By John P

Nov 4, 2016

Treat this course as a "things you need to learn for a basic grasp of game theory" and you'll love it. A bit rough if you don't have any set theory experience or math backgrounds; pick up some supplemental material from gametheory101 and you'll be fine.

By Alexandros-Rafail S

Jun 11, 2020

I loved the course. It was intresting and to the point and each instructor was excellent. One star missing because i believe that the quiz questions were many levels harder than the practice quizes'. Perhaps some more examples could help with that.

By Yeswanth S

Aug 30, 2019

Good course material that not only includes theory but also describes problems and studies done on the subject. Liked the fact that there were many practical examples shared by the professors. The explanations could have been better at few places.

By Ali H

Jan 2, 2020

This course is a good introduction for game theory, it gives the basic to continue in this domain if we want. But concerning the slides of the course, I recommend to keep for students the slides with the explanation added by the professors.

By Tulay

Jun 13, 2021

I learnt new things but I realized this was very old course. Every videos are on youtube. Quiz questions were hard to understand. Because on videos there was only one simple example not problem but quiz had more complex problems.

By Rohit J

Sep 6, 2017

Gives a different perspective for anlaysing competition in the real life situation. One can mathematically design the situations while formulating strategies pertaining to competition or even taking certain financial decisions.

By Brian S

Jul 11, 2020

A really enjoyable course. Good examples demonstrating mechanics of solving. A fair amount went over my head, so I watched a few of the sessions multiple times. I feel I got a great overview of a very interesting discipline.

By R.Athindran

Jan 2, 2017

The topics that were explained very lucidly and clearly. The real-world examples helped develop an intuitive understanding of the course material. However, I think more topics could be covered in an additional few weeks.

By Irma R

Apr 2, 2019

Some videos were very interesting and enriching, but the course is definitely not for the beginners. For me it was way too hard than I expected and take much more time to dig in all of the vocabulary and calculation.

By Rafael B

Aug 1, 2021

Great course overall, learned a lot about the fundamentals of Game theory and solutions to models. However, the videos were a little bit painstaking and some of the math and equations were difficult to comprehend.

By Harmandeep S

Sep 3, 2019

The course was indeed very helpful. It makes you apply your mind to a great extent. Professor Kevin-Leyton Brown is the best; he explains everything so deeply that you always understand! Thank you for this course!

By Jan M

Jun 23, 2018

It would have been nice to be given more examples on specific topics. Especially relating to the core and the Shapley values. This can be achieved through the video lectures or more practice exercises and quizzes.

By kacl780tr

Apr 4, 2018

All in, as they say in poker, a very interesting course. It was useful to go through the basics of Game Theory in a systematic manner. It was a bit disappointing not to be able to download the slides, however.

By Lucio R

Jun 10, 2017

Great course, and I'm so very thankful for the instructors, Stanford and The university of British Columbia,. The only thing I would add is the requirement of demonstrating more "real-life" examples and cases.

By Denis S

Nov 30, 2016

May be it is only my perception of education but I'd appreciate a lot if the course provides more examples and deep review at least for a few of them. But theoretically it was more than full and interesting.

By Patricia J

May 9, 2022

I​ thought the course was sometimes confusing and I didn't always get the point of those acticities to take in between lectures but all in all I am satisfied with having seen the basics of Game Theory now!

By Jean M

Mar 6, 2018

This is great but I felt like something was missing. Like I've not really learned enough to apply all this in real life... However it was a very good introduction to a wide panel of game theory concepts.

By Shashwat K

Mar 23, 2022

Good course. In particular, 2 out of the 3 lecturers were good at explaining. 1 of them was a bit unclear. But overall, the course was good. The weekly and final exams could have been more challenging!

By PLN R

Dec 12, 2018

Amazing course! Gives great deal of insight into the subject! Just love the way Kevin explains! Matt could actually work on his stammering; or probably slow down a bit. The content was top notch! ;)

By Raphaël L

Sep 9, 2017

A interesting course, with good theory explanation. I would have appreciate more in course example to better appropriate the course and formula. Otherwise, thank to the team for the presentation.

By Ives.Xu

Apr 20, 2017

The course concludes the elementary knowledge of Game Theory. But it might be a little bit difficult for a new learner to grasp the key point. The lecture sometimes could be too much academic.

By Ashish K

Aug 7, 2019

Few of the topics lack enough explanation to solve the assignments. But the discussion forums were really helpful with the mentors clarifying a lot of doubts. Overall enjoyed the course!

By Avinash B

Oct 7, 2016

Had lots of fun doing this course. The lectures were all top quality and never bombarded us with too much information at once.

Kudos to Kevin, Matt and Yoav for a memorable experience! :)

By Abhinav G

Jul 5, 2017

Course is really good. Covers a lot of content. One of the best places on the internet to learn game theory. Active discussion forum. Some more examples can be added as separate videos.