Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory by Stanford University

4.6
stars
4,043 ratings
816 reviews

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

SC

Feb 7, 2022

I would have preferred a more mathematically rigorous treatment of the subject. Nevertheless, this was a great course — the instructors expounded all concepts with exceptional clarity and engagement.

WY

May 16, 2017

Great ! Interesting and abound at the same time. Hope Professors will clarify the strategic utility function more clearly because it's hard for students with poor math basic(forget most><) right now!

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 805 Reviews for Game Theory

By Diogo C

Jun 26, 2018

I was looking for something that covered more material, as I was already familiar with many of the concepts. This is simply a matter of expectation, however, and not entirely the course's fault.I feel like the math was given with little to no explanation. More attention should be given there, at the very least to point to where the formulas come from and how to derive similar ones.Finally, the exercises, while definitely helpful!, could have been more general and difficult, to force people to seek for the answers instead of just following rote calculations blindly following the class.

By Bernd K

Jun 21, 2022

I successfully completed the course in 3 days. It is based on the mathematical foundations found in any game theory book. The book by Leyton-Brown, Shoham Essentials of Game Theory is given as a bibliography. The course is divided into 7 chapters and each chapter has 2 quizzes and in the 8th chapter comes the final test. The course is of intermediate difficulty and is suitable for anyone with an interest in brain teasers. The videos about the technical implementation are not necessary

By George C

Nov 1, 2017

The lectures were great and averaging an hour of lecture per week, the instructors were able to incorporate a lot of material. The only problem was the equations they used were never explained thoroughly enough to my learning style. I wish there were more resources to the equations and understanding the symbols associated with Game Theory. Finally, it would be great if the quizzes incorporated more conceptual questions versus strictly computational.

By Vadym B

Oct 23, 2017

Generally a good course, but unfortunately some terms were given in a really obscure way. Therefore had to look for better clarifications on other resources. In addition, some procedures in terms of resolution for exercises were provided badly. Thus I found myself pausing a video and trying to guess where came one value from and where it went afterwards and it turnued out to that one and so on...

By Zijian

May 30, 2020

Great course except Yoav Shoham's lectures. He definitely didn't spend much time on preparing it. His lecture is full of "Err...Emm...Arr", and sometimes he speaks out conflict information compare to the slides. In week 4 he has two lectures but they are actually one, the second one contains the first one in its first 9 minutes.

Again, great course, the other two instructors are fantastic.

By Rishabh D S

Nov 7, 2019

The teachers and fantastic and the content is great. I am grateful to Coursera, Stanford University and the professors to provide this interesting course of Game Theory. To just enumerate a downside to this course is that at some points the teaching methods of the professors become uninteresting and also there is better explanation for concepts available on the internet.

By Leo W

Jun 30, 2021

Interesting topic, but some of the lectures can get a bit dull and drag on. I think more connections to real life applications of the content would have made it more interesting too. The problem sets were pretty fun to think through and I enjoyed the problem solving and logic aspects of it. Overall pretty decent course, although not too useful for real life.

By Victor G

Feb 6, 2018

The material presented in the lectures was almost entirely conceptual (which is fine), but often the material in the problem sets required applications that hadn't been explained in the lecture, which was quite frustrating and I think counter-productive to learning. But the lectures were good (although I didn't like the one on complexity theory)!

By Arcangel M

Jul 5, 2017

Me ha parecido un curso introductorio para gente que ya conoce bastante de teoría de juegos. Me parece que se introducen los conceptos de forma poco ordenada y con ejemplos complicados. El contenido matemático se introduce de golpe. Sería interesante más desarrollo desde el comienzo o dejarlo de lado en un anexo si no se va a explicar en detalle.

By Aleksey B

May 23, 2020

Fix errors in video, presentations, prepare scenario in order to speak without uhm, ehm etc and it would be much better.

The course is very popular so this time investment will worth of doing.

In quizes problems are very easy. Quiz one of the weeks consists of several identical questions differing only in payoffs matrices values, not even sizes.

By loïc t

Sep 22, 2017

Sometimes teachers go too fast and there is a lake of explanation (for repetitive extensive form game for example and how to calculate treshold).

Furthermore, quizz often give the correct answer after first error, therefore it's relatively easy to pass even if you don't understand the lesson (but it may be your choice)

By Kolja R

Sep 28, 2020

Great introduction into the topic, yet, shows room for improvement in presenting the topic. The gap between "easy to get examples" (to illustrate the concept), and mathematical expression and formulars should be bridged better.

Specifically as the theoretical part appears to be irrelevant for the subsequent exams.

By Henry A

Jul 6, 2017

Certain aspects of the course are good, however, a lot of improvements still need to be made in the discussion of the examples in particular the Bayesian theory module, more depth is required and some of the more difficult examples could be addressed. The delivery of Yoav could also definitely be improved.

By luiz.cunha@axa-im.com

May 8, 2018

Not an easy subject to teach but... Video presentations could have been much more engaging. oo many formulas given to digest, without often being given enough qualitative information. Difficulty of exercises too low compared to the complexity of the material. provided

By Peter C

Jan 5, 2018

Quite a difficult course to learn and follow, but worth it in the end.

The lectures could benefit from intermediate questions to ensure concepts are understood as explained, more thorough examples and anecdotal explanations, and randomized exam questions.

By Rakesh N

Jun 18, 2017

There were few concepts which I felt were not adequately explained - especially Bayesian Games. And I still am not sure what's the practical application of games theory (apart from deciding whether to jump left or right in a soccer penalty).

By Péter S

Mar 29, 2020

In general gives a good overview but the theory material does not sufficiently support

the practical usage (solving examples or problems on paper). I needed to read explanations elsewhere (for example youtube gametheroy 101 channel)

By Alexander W

Jan 7, 2019

Much more complicated than they let on. Without a knowledge of calculus and other math, it will become very difficult. Additionally, the readings that they have online (not purchased), is not enough to help with the first quiz even.

By Isabella C

Oct 2, 2020

The course becomes less and less interesting when the tutors start to cram up notations and try to keep going through concepts after concepts without really getting the learners involved...

By inayat u w

Aug 6, 2020

Sometimes what they ask in the weekend tests is way more harder than what is taught and for that i think there should be attached reading material with extra solved and unsolved problems.

By Alex K

Jan 22, 2017

Good course, but sometimes I missed some supplementary reading material... when I couldn't quite understand something from the videos alone, it would have been nice to read up on a topic.

By Ram n s

Jun 17, 2020

Professor Matt Jackson was the best teacher I have ever experienced online. I also liked the strategy to encourage for pausing the video to think for the answer

By Narayan R

Aug 16, 2020

Mathew was fair. Kevin was good. Yoav was not at all comprehensible. His videos were very painful to understand.

Could have had better examples.

By Łukasz W

Dec 17, 2016

The course is very interesting and challenging but there are mistakes in the videos and too much mathematical theory with relation to examples.

By Patid

Jun 25, 2020

There are very few examples and sample of calculation cause make it so hard to understand the lesson (especially in week6,7 ).