Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory by Stanford University

4.6
stars
4,128 ratings

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

WY

May 16, 2017

Great ! Interesting and abound at the same time. Hope Professors will clarify the strategic utility function more clearly because it's hard for students with poor math basic(forget most><) right now!

SC

Feb 7, 2022

I would have preferred a more mathematically rigorous treatment of the subject. Nevertheless, this was a great course — the instructors expounded all concepts with exceptional clarity and engagement.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 825 Reviews for Game Theory

By James K

Aug 4, 2017

I'm sorry but I had to drop out. The course presentation is simply too static ( why do you bother to have the lecturers in the frame if all they do is talk to their little laptops?)

And while I've managed to complete a number of other courses which require a basic understanding on higher maths, the assumed knowledge in this course was beyond my limits.

By Jess

Jul 8, 2021

Thanks coursera for providing this course, unfortunely I have quit without finishing, because t​he structure of this course was confusing to me, the subject of contents are incoherent or at least not for student who is new in this field. A​nother opinion is that the quality of videos has quite some room to be improved.

By Manuel G R V

Aug 8, 2020

Game theory tries to solve an interesting subject with methods that rely on assumptions of optimization that are not necessarily true in real life. Instructors gave practically zero examples of cases where the application of these methods worked.

By Alan D

Jan 27, 2020

This course was pretty terrible: there was actually very little content outside of a bunch of definitions and overly-complex formalism for the sake of formalism (i.e. the formalisms provide no actual mathematical insight into the topics).

By Alessandro S

Jan 1, 2021

I could not solve the first questionnaire because the topics were treated shortly during the first week of course. In particular, I have not received specific instructions on how to find precisely a dominant strategy.

By Chris R

Mar 11, 2018

Very poorly executed. Lot's of errors in videos which should have been re-shot not just had corrections placed on them in subtitle form. I learned more from YouTube videos

By Sajjad H K

Aug 9, 2020

It is a nice course but only if you need to know the game theory's formal definitions. In most of the cases to solve the examples and exercises I needed to search the web.

By Aaron W

Jul 25, 2017

Game theory is super interesting but this was crazy dry. The floating heads just don't get me immersed and I don't feel like I know the professors. The quizzes were silly.

By Mohammad Z

Jul 30, 2018

terrible lectures. very poorly explained subjects. You're better off reading a wikipedia page.

By j

Dec 5, 2016

Very formal and difficult to follow. Not for beginners. Not recommended for pros.

By Hannes V

Jul 4, 2018

Not practical, difficult to see how you would implement in everyday life

By Kshitij B

Sep 10, 2021

This is clearly not a beginner level course

By universalbri@gmail.com

Aug 20, 2018

J

u

s

t

s

e

e

m

e

d

c

o

n

f

u

s

i

n

g

f

o

r

c

o

n

f

u

s

i

o

n

'

s

s

a

k

e

By Ahmed A S E

Sep 3, 2016

You need to simplify it a little more

By Jonathon C

Sep 20, 2016

i didn't really enjoy this course

By Souptik M

May 24, 2018

monotonous

By TOMAS I M

Jun 2, 2020

The course ir really good (I am in week two). The problem is the locked asignemnts (i have to wait until June 28 to complete this week). I find it really frustrating trying to use my extra free time to move on the course and get blocked by locked assignements. I had other courses where you could move at the speed that was more comfortable for you. (I also don´t like the fact that the course has specific start dates). This makes the course unengaging and hard to follow.

By dulce r

Apr 17, 2021

He hecho cursos en Edx de MIT y Harvard y eran divertidos, prácticos y muy bien explicados, siento que aprendí. Este curso, los profesores explican todo de manera abstracta, la calidad del video es mala, no hay ejemplos concretos. No hay tareas cortas para fijar conocimiento luego de cada 5 videos. Es muy aburrido como hablan, les falta dinamismo. No volvería a hacer un curso en coursera

By Derek J D

Mar 11, 2018

Much too academic for a layman - I thought it would offer more interesting insights into real-life issues instead of endless abstraction.

By Mathieu B

Jan 5, 2017

Another approach but mathematical demonstration is probably possible.

Coursera offer technologies to avoid classroom demos on whiteboard.

By Evangelos G L

Nov 12, 2021

Definitely not for begginers. Goes deep from the very start, with lots of maths, without proper explanation of the terms used.

By FELIPE B R

Jan 24, 2021

Difícil compreensão das equações e fórmulas matemáticas apresentadas

By Kongkona T

Sep 5, 2021

the professors are so boring

By Arnav R

Sep 2, 2020

Very obscure course!!!!!

By Daniel M

Feb 21, 2022

Pesimas explicaciones