Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory by Stanford University

4.6
stars
3,988 ratings
805 reviews

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

WY

May 16, 2017

Great ! Interesting and abound at the same time. Hope Professors will clarify the strategic utility function more clearly because it's hard for students with poor math basic(forget most><) right now!

SC

Feb 7, 2022

I would have preferred a more mathematically rigorous treatment of the subject. Nevertheless, this was a great course — the instructors expounded all concepts with exceptional clarity and engagement.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 795 Reviews for Game Theory

By taoism_wang

Aug 26, 2018

I like this course although it costs me a lot of extra time to digest what teachers taught in the course. Thanks.

By Deleted A

May 1, 2017

Lecturers are great. They really explain clearly what is it all about. The structure of the course is also great.

By Vlad 1

Oct 3, 2021

Even though it was recommended to me, I had no idea how useful this course would be for me. Thank you very much!

By Michael K

Sep 29, 2018

Excellent course. The instructors have designed a thoughtful course which should help anybody learn game theory.

By wuxiangting

May 29, 2017

Thanks for the excellent course. It is better to add more example in the reference materials to help understand.

By Gilles W

Jul 20, 2017

Great initiation course. I was totally ignorant before and now I feel I have a good understanding of the basis.

By Pablo P S

Jan 8, 2021

Excellent course, I would say it's a graduate level course covering the most important topics in game theory.

By Chenchen L

Jan 18, 2019

This course has helped me a lot and is my introductory course on game theory. I have benefited a lot from it.

By Siripong M

Oct 15, 2017

Very useful knowledge. Thank you for contribution from professors and future meaningful work to come. Cheers!

By Dhrithi I

Jun 27, 2021

t​his course was very useful and understandable for someone who has no idea about Game Theory. Solid course!

By Aditya S

Mar 23, 2021

Only the audio sometimes so small and inconsistent. But, the other is awesome I really understand the study.

By Sharath K

Nov 15, 2018

In depth intro to Game Theory. Its gonna take some time and effort to fully comprehend and that is worth it.

By Emmanuel O

Jun 26, 2019

Great Course! Though it requires patience and constant study if you have no prior knowledge of Game Theory.

By rajesh f

Jun 27, 2021

Very well structured course and practical for usage in professional and personal life. Thank you for this.

By Kunyi W

Mar 2, 2018

Quite logical, informative and useful.

It proves a series of structured model to deal with daily decisions.

By Hisako F

Aug 11, 2021

T​his course gave me a great experience. I am keen on learning not only Game Theory but also math deeply.

By Miguel L B L

Feb 24, 2018

Good option for beginers in Game Theory. Very clear lectures and the assignments are enough challenging.

By Rajesh M

Oct 4, 2016

Very useful to understand the concepts and practice related problems associated with game theory. Cool !

By Aashish K

Jun 17, 2017

Definitely a course I would recommend for people with all backgrounds in mathematics and/or economics.

By Felippe P d S

May 30, 2021

Exceptional introduction to the subject, with a good balance between general concepts and deep dives.

By Christian E L O

Oct 9, 2016

Es un curso recomendable para adquirir intuición de los conceptos más elementales de teoría de juegos

By 종원 황

Apr 29, 2018

Compactly and concisely organized to show the application of cutting-edge knowledge of game theory

By Marco P

May 22, 2020

Great course. It would be interesting to know something more about utility estimation techniques.

By Aman K

Jan 18, 2018

An intuitive and insightful view into the games played and the applications in daily situations.

By Zibo C

Apr 20, 2021

An impressive course, the content ranges from the shallower to the deeper, and I benefit a lot!