Chevron Left
Back to Welcome to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Welcome to Game Theory by The University of Tokyo

4.7
stars
1,746 ratings
400 reviews

About the Course

This course provides a brief introduction to game theory. Our main goal is to understand the basic ideas behind the key concepts in game theory, such as equilibrium, rationality, and cooperation. The course uses very little mathematics, and it is ideal for those who are looking for a conceptual introduction to game theory. Business competition, political campaigns, the struggle for existence by animals and plants, and so on, can all be regarded as a kind of “game,” in which individuals try to do their best against others. Game theory provides a general framework to describe and analyze how individuals behave in such “strategic” situations. This course focuses on the key concepts in game theory, and attempts to outline the informal basic ideas that are often hidden behind mathematical definitions. Game theory has been applied to a number of disciplines, including economics, political science, psychology, sociology, biology, and computer science. Therefore, a warm welcome is extended to audiences from all fields who are interested in what game theory is all about....

Top reviews

RR
May 30, 2020

This course is amazing for beginners for no prior knowledge about game theory. I especially love the recommendations given at the end of the courses and the honour problems given in the course.

VV
Apr 18, 2020

very good introductory course! for a more theoretical understanding of what game theory is about. some interesting applications were brought up to illustrate the types of games as well.

Filter by:

376 - 395 of 395 Reviews for Welcome to Game Theory

By kristian64

Jul 25, 2016

Great!

By Alan A P 1

Jul 25, 2020

good

By Alex P G

May 2, 2020

Okay

By James H

May 1, 2016

The course was useful in providing an introduction to the basics of game theory.

However it would benefit from a native English proofread and smoother delivery.

There were also problems throughout regarding the display of graphics and notes behind the professor, who kept pointing to something other than he was referring to.

A couple of math notations were also incorrect, for example "<" when the professor said "less than or equal to".

Overall though, I'm pleased that I took the course and I learned several important aspects of the topic that will benefit me in future study.

By Yashvi A

May 9, 2020

It gives an introduction to the subject of game theory. However, the last week deviated a bit from the core topic of game theory and I found some mathematical details about the game sand their payoffs slightly missing. A good introduction to the subject, though. Thankyou!

By Alejandro B

Mar 12, 2016

While the subject is interesting, the professor sometimes makes it confusing and dense to understand the basic ideas.

Maybe this course does need a mathematic or economic background...

By Seema S S

Apr 9, 2020

Some of the questions in the quizzes were tough and there wasn't a great deal of explanation provided for it. There was little help regarding the honours content.

By Мудрова А Ю

Mar 8, 2019

You really need more than just knowledge of arithmetic to understand this course. The quiz questions sometimes do not correspond with the lectures.

By MARLE T M

Mar 2, 2018

No acabé la primer semana, el profesor titubea, repite palabras, es difícil seguirlo y los ejemplos confusos

By Fateh L

Dec 18, 2019

I had Problems Understanding the language. Pr Kandori helped me understand certain social situations.

By Aayush S

Nov 9, 2020

My certificate is cut actually. University of tokyo is not showing properly in my certificate,

By Huy N

Jul 12, 2021

Somewhat challenging to be able to learn (maybe cause I am not good with Calculus)

By Rishabh B

Jan 5, 2016

Video Orientation is not proper.

By Rashi K

Feb 23, 2016

good to begin with!

By Kathia A

May 1, 2017

WAS SO BORING!!

By Ze L

May 4, 2017

It's good for a course of 3 hours in high school but definitely not a college-level one. I almost finished the quiz and exams without going through the videos. If the course can't challenge an outsider, he will not benefit from it either.

And there lacks a "further reading or material" part, the basic models are not satisfying. (I thought there would be a introduction to Zermelo's theorem ...)

I hope more interesting models could be introduced.

By Jonathan G

Feb 7, 2018

I call false advertising! This course has nothing to do with what it claimed to be. Strategy is something entirely different than mathematics.

By Саламова Л Р

Dec 14, 2020

As i already know all of this , this is pretty useless for me

By Rohan S G

Jul 23, 2020

Some explanations are inadequate

By PRAVEEN K U

May 19, 2020

very poor