Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Gastronomy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of Gastronomy by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.6
stars
412 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces a number of basic scientific principles underpinning the methodology of cooking, food preparation and the enjoyment of food. All topics covered have a strong basis in biology, chemistry, and physics application. Among others, they include the consumption of cooked food, the physiological and evolutionary implication of the senses, geographic and cultural influences on food, and the rationale behind food preparation. We will also discuss issues such as coupling of senses to improve sense stimulation; altering flavor by chemical means; and modification of the coloration to improve the appearance of dishes. Following the video demonstrations of the scientific principles of cooking, you will learn to recognize the key ingredients and their combinations for preparing good healthy food. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - appreciate the scientific basis of various recipes; - develop your own recipes by integrating some of the scientific principles into new dishes; - recognize the influence of the material world on human perception from the different senses; - appreciate the art of integrating science into cooking and dining. Important Note: This course is not designed for people with special dietary needs such as vegetarian, diabetic, and gluten-free diets. If you feel uncomfortable with any part of the assignments or activities of this course, you can substitute some of the ingredients or ask friends and family members to help with the tasting of your assignments. Alternatively, you may skip that specific assignment provided that you have fulfilled all other qualifying requirement to pass the course. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/H5vlaR0_X2I...

Top reviews

AS

Jul 08, 2018

Waiting for an extension to this course but at an advanced levelThis course is really valuable. It was presented in a simple and fun way I enjoyed studying with you thank you

AJ

Feb 24, 2019

there should be a digital certificate in PDF for those who can not pay because everybody does a lot of effort and time to finish this course

Filter by:

76 - 98 of 98 Reviews for The Science of Gastronomy

By Lok C F

Jul 04, 2017

nice...

By Arunima D

Aug 01, 2020

great

By Ann T

Feb 27, 2018

E

By Deleted A

Jul 01, 2018

A little bit long, however very insteresting. It is easier to understand with a scientific background but professors make it basic so everyone can follow the course. English is sometimes problematic for understanding (and misunderstanding) but overall everything went smoothly. I have not "cemented" all the notions in my mind yet but now when I cook / eat / drink / see / perceive, I will have this additional prism and the experience is funnier and more interesting. Thank you for this course !

By Alexandra B

May 21, 2020

The course was amazing, the information I gathered is extremely useful. However, the main weakness of the course is English. Sometimes it was difficult to watch a lot of videos at once, even if wanted because it also took a lot of energy to understand what the professors were talking about. Seemed liked they knew a lot about the topic, but could not describe some theories because of the lack of vocabulary or weak grammar.

By TRISHALA P

Dec 16, 2018

The course was very well organised , the professor's were amazing ,they were having deep knowledge in the subject, I really enjoyed this course,looking forward to take more courses like this.thank you!

By Claire C

Sep 11, 2016

a little succinct and could have gone in to far more chemistry details.

the teachers are a little difficult to understand at times and a little repetitive as well but overall an enjoyable course

By Ankur D

Jun 29, 2020

More demonstrations and more quizzes would have been better. But overall a very good course. I would love to attend version 2. :)

By Jess S

May 19, 2020

Very interactive and informative, great way to learn! I do think it could be condensed, but overall it was an enjoyable course.

By Mario S

Aug 30, 2017

Fascinating to learn the science behind our experience and enjoyment of food.

By Duc T N

Sep 24, 2018

Such a great course from HKUST.

By Usha G

Jul 27, 2020

Good Knowledge about cooking.

By Eduardo Z

Jun 27, 2020

Muy buen programa y contenido

By Jenniffer C

Jun 27, 2020

I learn a lot.

By abhishek b

Sep 28, 2017

nice course

By Pablo H

Apr 23, 2020

I love it.

By Sarra T

Jun 07, 2020

Excellent

By Ilaria C

Jan 07, 2018

I learned many interesting things but it was a bit long. The teacher keeps adding some redundant words (i.e. in fact) in the sentences and his pronunciation makes it difficult to get the concepts sometimes. The classes are a bit slow and always the same, with the explanation first (interesting for me), and then some experiment description and implementation (too long videos on that part).

It doesn't really have exams at the end of classes, so it is easy to pass but at the same time I realise I lost many concepts since the beginning.

By Jonathan G

Dec 10, 2017

I found this course to be tedious and redundant. There was so much that wasn't needed and was very condescending to most students. Anyone can learn how to cook. It is not hard skill. The trick to good cooking is knowing how to properly cook something and not overcook or undercook, using the right amount of spices or flavor and timing. This course was taught as though to deliberately insult the intelligence of those taking it.

By Vika R

Oct 23, 2016

Interesting approach, but I expected more useful information on gastronomy

By Irvin T

Apr 23, 2020

Elementary science and not very well organised course.

By Ajay L

May 28, 2016

amateurish presentation. and there is some technical issue with the content. the video gets stuck a lot and the problem is not my internet.