Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution by Duke University

4.8
stars
1,266 ratings
332 reviews

About the Course

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Top reviews

AT
May 28, 2020

I recommend this course for someone who is interested in learning of basics of population genetics and evolutionary processes. Prof. Noor is a very good teacher and I like his explanation of concepts.

YH
Jul 3, 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 331 Reviews for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

By wang m

Mar 27, 2017

感谢这门课程,让我能快速的入门。

By Hansel L C

Jun 24, 2020

Excelente curso

By Ricardo V

Feb 8, 2020

Great class!!!!

By Marc M

Jun 6, 2020

Very detailed.

By Riccardo Z

Nov 30, 2019

Everything ok

By Fernanda T

Aug 26, 2019

G

r

e

a

t

c

l

a

s

s

e

s

!

By Daniel Q D

Jun 10, 2019

Great course.

By Music i l o S

Apr 29, 2018

Enlightening

By Simon B

Aug 29, 2017

Good course!

By John G

Sep 11, 2016

Great course

By Joe A

May 31, 2016

Very useful.

By Khaiyal V

Jan 4, 2017

AWESOME !!!

By Ananda M

Jun 2, 2020

Excellent!

By Nida W

Jan 9, 2021

very good

By SHIRLEY V R R

Nov 22, 2020

Excelente

By Marusa P (

Feb 24, 2018

I love it

By Rômulo L

Jun 19, 2017

Very Good

By J. C R M

Mar 21, 2016

Excellent

By Samuel

May 9, 2019

Amazing

By niakova

Nov 5, 2016

awesome

By 熊行德

Jan 24, 2017

Good!

By Dorothy H

Aug 15, 2016

Be aware that the beginning overview lectures of this course are radically different than the detailed lectures that come later.

The beginning of this course should be sent to anyone that ever tells you that evolution is not a "thing": :D

After that, be prepared to do a lot of listening to Big A little a and minutia about how genetics really works.

This is a really good course.... not perfect, but really good. One star is removed because I think I would have preferred a bit more development and overview of the "bigger picture" (I fell asleep at times). I sometimes lost the concepts that I was interested in learning through the barrage of details, but for someone who is very seriously studying the subject, then it would be 5 stars.

Prof Noor is a good speaker: clear and has a nice voice and personality.

By Christodoulos Z

Mar 7, 2021

Very nice structure and organization of the whole course, which covers a wide variety of useful topics related to genetics and evolution.

Dr. Mohamed Mood is a very kind person, who obviously loves his job and seems very willing to convey his knowledge. His smile, happiness and general positive attitude is key to encourage his students to follow his lessons and continue their try with joy!

Sometimes, too much information was involved in relatively small videos, which might confuse the student, and that's mainly why 4/5 stars instead of 5/5.

Generally, a very good and effective experience!

By Hagar T

Nov 15, 2020

This course is great for all those who want to understand how genetics works and mostly how research in the field works. However, I would recommend a good knowledge of biology beforehand, and doing quite a lot of reading on the side. I really enjoyed it though, as what I wanted was exactly that, to open a little door and see if I am really interested in the subject. In any case, not the first course by Duke that I am following, and they always hold up to expectations!!!

By Welbert G R

Jul 24, 2020

O curso apresenta uma abordagens extremamente relevantes para os conceitos de genética e evolução. Apresentou abordagens que são novos, ao menos pra mim. Todavia, não avalio o curso com 5 estrelas porque em muitas aulas, os temas são muito densos e concetrados. O que sobrecarrega o entendimento e dificulta uma melhor compreensão. Na minha opinião, o curso seria melhor que já é se os conteúdos fossem distribuidos entre mais aulas e mais avaliações.