Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution by Duke University

4.8
stars
1,565 ratings

About the Course

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Perfectly designed course. Really interesting videos and tests that are actually fun to take part in. Highly recommended for everyone interested in Biology. Cheers Darwin and Wallace.

YH

Invalid date

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 409 Reviews for Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

By Doğa M

Jul 9, 2022

I have benefited from this course immenesly. I enjoy the lectures. It's easy to understand. Thank you for making this course.

By Sukanta B

Jul 16, 2021

Everyone should take this course as it is very simple and will help you understand natural phenomenon effectively than before.

By Alexa L

Aug 2, 2020

A bit improvement on introducing new jargon methodically would help. Superior and informative course for beginners otherwise!

By Vijayalakshmi.M

May 24, 2020

Good basics of evolution taught clearlyrics by professor. Nice and my I'd verification is not yet completed plz favor for me

By Tamara L

Jun 27, 2017

Well organized, good support material, very in depth approach to this material. Thank You for making this course available.

By Emmanuel O Z

Dec 2, 2020

It's an excellent course. The applications and links are very useful and didactical. Thanks for everything Professor Noor.

By Aishat O

Oct 3, 2020

The classes are so interesting and the lecturer is amazing ,thanks for given me the opportunity to partake in this course.

By Sreedhar K

Sep 12, 2023

A MUST, MUST and MUST for those interested in genetics and evolution. It can take you a long way in future in this area.

By Cindy L

Oct 11, 2017

Amazing class! The professor is captivating and explains a very complex subject in a straight forward and simple manner.

By Zhansaya A

Nov 10, 2022

Pr. Noor explains everything so clearly and easily and has nice sense of humor :) Thank you for the interesting course!

By Britt H

Jun 1, 2021

Excellent training and very lively videos. I learned a lot and really enjoyed each single video in the course. Thanks !

By Ruta R

Jun 3, 2017

Great Course. Good structured, informative and well explained.I understood more than while my education in high school.

By Ana B

May 24, 2016

The course is easy to understand and the concepts are very clear. I highly recommend this even if you aren't an expert.

By Sunirmal S

Mar 30, 2021

It was very helpful and informative.

I had so many doubts and confusion which got cleared after I completed the course.

By Qareeb u h

May 1, 2019

The way i got enrolled in the course and lead by Dr.Mohammad Noor was a dream for me ,and i am thankful to all of you.

By DeeDee S

Feb 20, 2019

Dr. Noor is an amazing professor and explains course material very well. I would definitely take more of his courses!

By Zhan W

Oct 23, 2016

Very useful resource on evolutionary biology and parts of ecology . Used this course to study for my GRE Biology exam.

By Ali S

Aug 31, 2021

The "Introduction to Genetics and Evolution "course was fantastic and I am excited to pass this course. Very thanks.

By Dawn

Aug 14, 2016

I quite enjoy studying this course. I really enjoy the interaction with Jerry! Interesting course and I have fun~

By Muhammad w

Jul 19, 2024

This course was so helpful and I have learned much more and I hopeful that it help me in my professional career.

By Vlada S

Jun 3, 2021

Loved the tutor! You can see here is a person who loves his subject and loves to teach it! Enjoyed it very much!

By Syeda S Z

May 9, 2020

Very interesting and interractive. Professor Noor is not only very knowledgeable, but also such a fun teacher.

By Geoff J

Dec 18, 2015

This course is so informative that I'm doing it for a second time. This is the best Coursera course I've taken.

By Andrei T

Jun 10, 2017

Very nice presentation of the subject. Diverse and very interesting. It was a pleasure to follow this course .

By Duane G

Jul 17, 2020

The instructor is really great. I wish I had been a better student but I did my best. Really a great course.