Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
2,842 ratings
775 reviews

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

MU
Feb 10, 2016

I always loved writing. What I didn't know, however, was that writing had some scientific structures that could make it very interesting. Take this course and know why. I took and was very successful.

EB
Dec 4, 2015

I am only on the second week an have done my essay and feel very powerful. English is not my first language but the instructor made it easy for me by detailing every aspect of essay writing. Thank you

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 770 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By Dali Y

Feb 18, 2018

Would be great to have close comments of the tutors if possible to know what’s wrong and where to advance

Thanks

By Anjali R

May 29, 2020

I'd prefer that peer-reviewed assignment rubrics didn't focus just on formats but also on content and structure.

By Yetzy A

May 18, 2020

I would had enjoy having feedback from actual educators or someone who is qualify to give proper critic.

By ajaypal s d

Jan 29, 2016

The instructor way of guiding is highly commendable as a result the concepts can be easily comprehended.

By Ivan C

Sep 27, 2020

I think it would be awesome if there is a direct review of student's assignments from the instructor.

By Moayed A

Mar 3, 2016

For those who find it hard to write good Essays. This course is made for you.

Great and very informal.

By Slesha S

Oct 11, 2019

This course was very helpful. But the problem is that it takes a lot of time to receive your grade.

By laila a

Nov 1, 2015

The course is very well organised.

Ideas are clear and precise.

Not too much talk to say a little.

By Shashank D

May 20, 2020

Didn't like the peer reviews. They are most useless, act as blockers and waste a lot of time.

By hanwenzhang

Mar 20, 2016

it is very helpful, and if could have more details about sample essays, would be better.

By Richa g

Apr 18, 2017

I wish we could have feedback from coursera organizer as well for further improvement.

By Aicha g

Feb 11, 2018

very goog course ..very well explaned but also need more paractices and reviews

By Pao R

Apr 7, 2020

Follow up with the essay and grammar to know where we are doing our mistakes

By Paula P

Jun 27, 2016

Very good!!! After the course, I feel more confident to writing an essay.

By Jason M

Jan 24, 2016

I enjoyed this course; although, I only participated in the free version.

By Avril C

Sep 23, 2017

Fantastic course for refreshing knowledge on grammar and essay writing.

By David A R B

Jul 27, 2016

Nice introduction to essay writing. It gives several tips and examples.

By Mohamed H

Nov 23, 2020

Very great course and I 've learned a lot about essay writing from it.

By Jeffrey R S

Dec 15, 2016

Very Good. But still, I think we need the feedback of the professor.

By Prabhu S S

Jun 13, 2016

This course really helps improvise and develop essay writing skills.

By Rodrigo S A

Jan 9, 2017

Great course, I learnt a lot of writing and improve my skills.

By Brian T

Mar 16, 2016

This is a great course to advance your English writing skills.

By salamades

Aug 12, 2016

Good course. Too bad we can t access to everything for free.

By Nwet G

Nov 5, 2015

Leaning from thesis sentence, supporting ideas and topic .

By Jim P M B

Nov 14, 2020

This helps a lot in improving our essay writing skills.