Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
2,652 ratings
735 reviews

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

BD
Nov 16, 2015

Thank you for teaching me how to write basic essays. This has been one of my most important goals for years. I've tried several other ways of learning but your method worked for me. Thank you so much.

MU
Feb 10, 2016

I always loved writing. What I didn't know, however, was that writing had some scientific structures that could make it very interesting. Take this course and know why. I took and was very successful.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 732 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By Salman K

Sep 6, 2020

this course is very interesting, informative and helpful. i learnt the basics of essay and their types.

By Jordy F C L

Jun 1, 2020

Excellent way to learn and improve writing skills, also the peer review help more than I would imagine.

By michelle a

Aug 3, 2019

It help me boost my writing skills so quickly! I really enjoyed the content and the practice exercises.

By Xu

Nov 19, 2018

An interesting course. It is useful for me, a non-native speaker, to improve academic writing ability.

By Rabi M

Jun 15, 2018

These academic writing courses are some of my most memorable experiences in the history of my studies.

By Maely I

Feb 7, 2017

I really enjoy the course, now I have the argumentative essay structure in my mind. Thank you so much.

By Helena C D B

Feb 14, 2016

I loved the course. All lectures are well designed and clear, the exercises are concise and practical!

By Danhua

Dec 28, 2015

Very helpful. This course teaches me the basics and I had some improvement on writing after taking it.

By Morozov V

Aug 28, 2016

Very useful course for people who want to level up their writing skills and improve their essay stile

By 余淼

Dec 1, 2015

This module is very practical, and is very useful to people who want to improve their writing skills.

By Aaron M

Nov 23, 2020

This course was very refreshing and reopened my eyes on how to structure and write effective essays.

By supriti b

Jul 29, 2020

I recommend this course as it helps in revisiting the basic structures of different types of essays.

By Lalit N

Jul 25, 2020

Really Good, This is support my professional Career. Thank you Coursea Giving me this opportunities.

By JONNALA S R

May 9, 2020

Very nicely designed. Good Course to take. Nice explanation. Offering series of courses. Thank you..

By Calvin B

Aug 31, 2019

After I completed this class, I am comfortable to write any style of writing English without errors.

By Diana M H

Apr 1, 2018

Again .. you are so easy .. can explain easily .. provide gradual quizzes.

I am so lucky to join you.

By Abolfazl A

Oct 23, 2017

This course contain simple and useful context. I liked its structure and ways of talking. Good Job!

By Glimpse P

Jul 10, 2020

Great course, helps a lot to begin with essays. Having a discussion forum would be better however.

By Maheed U

Feb 8, 2017

this is course is just wow!!!! i have learnt a lot - will defiantly help me using it in my career.

By M. S S

Jul 31, 2020

This as really an amazing course to learn essay writing. Thanks Coursera for such smart learning.

By Husam E A M I

Jul 27, 2018

this course contain many inspirational components and I hop really to take most of it's benefits.

By Ankit B

May 11, 2018

I really like the assignment oriented approach. It is the best way to improve the writing skills.

By Faezeh E

Dec 13, 2016

It's absolutely amazing! I highly recommend every non-native english speaker to take this course.

By Nathanael O

Mar 18, 2016

it is very interesting, it´s not only for writing...its for life what they´re teaching, thank you

By Md. T A

Aug 25, 2020

I really learned a lot from this course, moreover, I am pursuing the next course of this serial.