Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
3,169 ratings

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

BD

Nov 16, 2015

Thank you for teaching me how to write basic essays. This has been one of my most important goals for years. I've tried several other ways of learning but your method worked for me. Thank you so much.

TR

Oct 26, 2021

It is actually quite a simple course, easy to attend as it does not require a long time each week. However it did improve my writing skills, I'm considering to attend the next advanced writing course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 862 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By Nandiya

Aug 31, 2016

this course is very helpful for me improving my writing skill. thanks to those who are the tutors of this course. thank you.

By nica o

Dec 6, 2020

this course here very helpful to me i give five cause it was a nice course to me to improve more my skills & knowledge.

By Julianna

Jul 9, 2020

Great informative and practices, such as writing assignments and quizzes. Top quality course and I would highly recommend!

By Lilian B

Jun 21, 2021

A wonderful course, with wonderful teachers, but the peer review is totally unfair, and off, not to be paid attention to.

By Diptiman B

Jan 3, 2017

Very helpful course! The instructor took the learner through carefully designed material and I'm happy I took the course!

By Aung M H

Feb 12, 2016

It is a very effective and useful course. It helps me improve my writing skill a lot. Thank you so much coursera and UCI.

By Xenia K

Feb 10, 2016

Short videos, variety of exercises and interaction with other colleagues make this course a very interesting experience!

By Harshitha R

Apr 6, 2023

It was a very helpful and well-designed course. But the links to practice essay statements weren't working sometimes.

By Amit C D

Jul 14, 2020

It's really a amazing experience with this course.! Indeed, it's very helpful in case of enhance my writing skill 😊

By Felipe N

Feb 29, 2020

It's an amazing course, I learned a lot about grammar and essays. This course will help me look for a job. Thank you!

By Selma S

Feb 8, 2021

I enjoyed the course,I think it was well organized,very didactic and with the correct time limit.

Congratulations!

By Dennis O

Sep 29, 2020

I learned a lot about the right and effective ways to write about different types of essays. This is a good course

By Letian W

Jan 22, 2019

By learning this part, I realised how to structure an essay. I would highly recommend this session to my friends.

By Deleted A

Feb 6, 2016

It was a great course and I learned a lot from it.. Unfortunately, I'm short on cash and can't do the assignments

By Pauleen J G

Nov 3, 2020

The instructions are clear and easy to follow. Writing assignments also helped me to put my knowledge into test.

By Candela Y

Nov 6, 2020

Excellent course! I learned a lot about essay writing and I think I have a better understanding of the language

By Ogochukwu E

Apr 13, 2020

I started this course with no confidence in writing essays and I finished with a lot of confidence. Thank you.

By Amjad A

Apr 12, 2019

Splendid course in order to familiar with writings. Those who are interested in writings must take this course.

By Crash C

Aug 14, 2018

I feel like I really improved my writing skills and feel confident going into my sophomore year of high school.

By Truong D M

Nov 2, 2017

It is real wonderful course that I've ever seen from MOOCs. Thank you very much to lecturers, UCI and coursera.

By Muhammad A

Aug 2, 2016

i found this course very effective, supportive and informative . i had downloaded all videos and practicing it.

By Anna K

Nov 7, 2015

I have recently started and can see all benefits and positive sides of this course! Excelent one! Many thanks!

By Nubar F

Nov 18, 2020

Ive learned how to write different types of essays and learned lots of information. thank you for everytihng!

By Bhupesh M

Jul 26, 2020

Those who want to improve their writing skills must join this course. Thank you so much teacher and coursera!

By C A

May 6, 2020

I must say i have had an exceptional learning experience i am so glad that i did this it has helped me a lot.