Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
3,169 ratings

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

MU

Feb 10, 2016

I always loved writing. What I didn't know, however, was that writing had some scientific structures that could make it very interesting. Take this course and know why. I took and was very successful.

TR

Oct 26, 2021

It is actually quite a simple course, easy to attend as it does not require a long time each week. However it did improve my writing skills, I'm considering to attend the next advanced writing course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 861 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By Archana G

Jun 30, 2016

this course helps a lot in developing essay ability especially to those who didn't get chance in school days.

By MD. R H

Sep 12, 2021

Best course ever! Just loved this course from my heart. Thank you so much for this excellent course for us!

By Bronwyn T

Aug 11, 2020

The way it was broken down with the quiz’s in between was great! I actually feel confident writing them now!

By AKANKSHA T

Dec 28, 2019

The course helped me to a great extent! I am glad that I joined this course. Thank you California University

By Huang h

Nov 29, 2015

Very good course, in particular for international students who have no systematic training on essay writing.

By Naorem B S

Mar 20, 2022

Excellent course to begin with essay wiriting basic skills to enable someone writing longer academic essay.

By ERIKA P R P

Jun 29, 2020

This course was so helpful for me, The way instructors explained the topics were really amazing and clear.

By Muhammad Q

Feb 26, 2016

Amazing course! I loved this course and it helped me a lot and is going to help me more and more and more!

By Лара А

Feb 15, 2016

This course was very helpful, and I apply my new knowledge not only in english, but in any other language.

By Rafael M

Feb 11, 2016

The course could be harder on us students to make some of us understand better and have a better practice.

By Rosilene A

Dec 15, 2015

Very good not only for essays but for every kind of writing, it opens our mind and improve our vocabulary!

By Apar B

Apr 4, 2022

It was my first and the best online course that i got to know. Thanks to this I could improve my writing.

By Manosh C H

Jun 7, 2020

Great course if you want to improve your writing skills, I will highly recommend it for college students.

By Rumiyati

May 15, 2020

thank you so much for your lessons in this course. I have learned a lot in getting started with an essay.

By Chiranjeevi

Nov 28, 2015

The course gave me good information on writing Academic essays. This certainly helped with my MBA essays.

By Marcelo G C C

Aug 31, 2020

Very great course. I learned so much I don't now how much details could hace an essay. Very interesting

By RIYA D S

Jul 31, 2020

I enjoyed the course. If you really want to enhance your writing skills, you should opt for this course.

By SUDIP B

Sep 2, 2016

Most advanced course for essay writing. None of the MOOc has prepared such qualitative course till date.

By Katherine M M B

Sep 24, 2020

Excellent instruction guide on how to do an essay in the correct way, explained in a very detailed way.

By Salman K

Sep 6, 2020

this course is very interesting, informative and helpful. i learnt the basics of essay and their types.

By Jordy F C L

Jun 1, 2020

Excellent way to learn and improve writing skills, also the peer review help more than I would imagine.

By michelle a

Aug 3, 2019

It help me boost my writing skills so quickly! I really enjoyed the content and the practice exercises.

By Xu

Nov 19, 2018

An interesting course. It is useful for me, a non-native speaker, to improve academic writing ability.

By Rabi M

Jun 15, 2018

These academic writing courses are some of my most memorable experiences in the history of my studies.

By Maely I

Feb 7, 2017

I really enjoy the course, now I have the argumentative essay structure in my mind. Thank you so much.