Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
3,169 ratings

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

MU

Feb 10, 2016

I always loved writing. What I didn't know, however, was that writing had some scientific structures that could make it very interesting. Take this course and know why. I took and was very successful.

TR

Oct 26, 2021

It is actually quite a simple course, easy to attend as it does not require a long time each week. However it did improve my writing skills, I'm considering to attend the next advanced writing course.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 861 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By Mirza R I A

Jul 22, 2020

Though I am a student of English language , I didn't have confidence in Writing . Doing this course , Now i am well aware of the nitty gritty details of Essay writing

By Ale M

Feb 3, 2020

This was a great course covering all the basics of essay writing. I found the tips to be very useful. Looking forward to taking the next course in the specialization.

By Syed J P

Feb 2, 2019

Very useful course to improve your skills in a very systematic and effective way.Strongly recommended for everyone who wants to improve their academic writing skills.

By Shahid U K T

Dec 27, 2022

For learning the basics to advanced about essay writing, then this course is the best choice for you. I learned a lot from it, thank you Tamy Chapman and Helen Nam.

By Ashleigh W

Apr 6, 2021

As always the tutor was clear with explanations and easy to understand. I'm beginning to feel confident with my essay writing again. I highly recommend this course.

By Juan F P

Nov 23, 2015

It is a clear and simply course about how to write an essay. I did not know too much about writing before I take it, but now I feel confident to write a good essay.

By Liu A

Nov 16, 2015

It is a very fabulous writing course, from which I learned different writing styles and the important writing elements that a professor looks for. Thank you, Irvine

By Abdul A

Apr 1, 2023

It was a great course on essay writing. It covered a lot of basic material about essay writing which I did not know before. So, it was a great learning experience.

By Anish K S

Sep 8, 2021

It was an awesome journey. I could learn a lot from from this module. Thanks to coursera team for such an organized classes. It caters to the need of the students.

By Neer

Nov 18, 2016

Best teaching approach and superb explanation of all the course material. Each and every week is so well designed that I learned a lot of things in flow.

Thank You.

By Naviasil L M T

Sep 28, 2020

It was really helpful, I really appreciate for all the suport material and also examples that could improve my writing skills. I definitely recommend this course.

By Faruk M U

Jan 19, 2016

"Tamy Chapman" you are the best teacher ever I've seen before. Your teaching and your course are very understandable and simple. Thanks a lot for all this stuff.

By Wahed A

Jun 21, 2017

This course is an essential step for anyone who needs to start writing essays. Now, I have a great confedance to write about any subject. I highly recommend it.

By Edith M

Feb 29, 2016

It was a tough course! I loved the way the teacher explained everything so clearly with good examples. My writing skills had improved tremendously!

Thank you!

By Nancy I

Jun 8, 2022

It was an amazing course, with detailed and well explained videos. I enjioyed evevery bit of it and learnt more than I thought I would.

Thank you Coursera!

By Kapil M

Nov 5, 2019

This course helped me start writing essays. Though it could be better if it had more practice prompts and some feedback given by the educator on our writing.

By Mubashar R

Mar 26, 2016

This course is excellent. I learned English in school but forget it over time. I found this course an excellent source to revise my English writing skills.

By DEVANSH B

May 16, 2020

Excellent and interactive course which helps us to improve our English Essay writing skills a lot. Thank you for everyone's feedback. It was very helpful.

By Leticia M

Jul 12, 2022

Getting Started with Essay Writing is an excellent course and easy to follow. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to improve their writing skills.

By Nikolaeva M A

Oct 11, 2020

For the first time, I found out that there are different kinds of essays. Moreover, I had an opportunity to write all of them and got efficient feedback.

By Muhammad A F

Jun 5, 2022

The course is good for beginners, one can learn basic types of essays, and how to develop your essay. Writing paragraphs is also covered in the course.

By Teju A

Jul 25, 2020

this is so helpful education, especially for English learner students. I am so glad because I took this subject. I recommend others to take this class.

By Carlos D

Nov 11, 2017

The skills that you learn in this course have immediate application in real life either in a business or personal environment, this is a great course.

By Noman A

Jul 29, 2020

I have found this course very helpful for writing improved Essays. Now, it is easy for me to understand the structure of the various types of essays.

By Ameer A

Sep 28, 2020

A very helpful course if someone is trying to learn how to write a perfect essay. It clears all your doubts and problems related to essay writing.