Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
3,174 ratings

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

TR

Oct 26, 2021

It is actually quite a simple course, easy to attend as it does not require a long time each week. However it did improve my writing skills, I'm considering to attend the next advanced writing course.

MU

Feb 10, 2016

I always loved writing. What I didn't know, however, was that writing had some scientific structures that could make it very interesting. Take this course and know why. I took and was very successful.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 862 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By Ruchi G

Jul 13, 2020

Its a great course. It really helps you understand and build your academic writing skills. In my home- country we learnt to write the essays in a little different manner. This really helped me to understand and prepare for what will be expected from me when I will take a degree program in US. I strongly recommend this anyone who anyone intends to study abroad, specially US.

By Aikaterini M

Feb 11, 2021

I first enrolled because I needed something to get me back to writing and get used to it. I finally got to enjoy it all the way through. The precise methods and techniques taught, made clear the writing process in my head, so much that I enjoyed essay writing, when before it used be a source of stress. I am looking forward to the advanced writing course!

By Deleted A

Dec 11, 2015

The course was very useful for me. I started with the video lectures and the questions they arose took me to other academic sources that I used to complement what was being taught. The only criticism I have is that the essay examples were very basic, even trite. It made me feel we were discussing high school writing level, not university level.

By Edwar B G

Feb 21, 2021

A great course if you have an intermediate English knowledge, and the only thing I can say is to thank you, however, the peer qualifications section must be controlled, so we can have better feedback, and you make sure everyone is reviewing the best way, other course colleagues, not only typing just a word and comment if it is wrong a son on.

By Harshita S

Jun 13, 2017

The teacher is excellent. She is calm, patient and a very clear accent. She explains very well. I learnt a lot through this course. Would have liked it better if the course was longer and we could have written a description and other kinds of essays too. Also my classmates were helpful in providing me with helpful and encouraging feedback.

By Ayisha E A

Jul 5, 2022

I love it. I learned a lot. ALthough I wasn't able to submit the exams and I needed to unenroll the course for it to remove it to my progress. So it's not in my completed courses. Loved it so much. It made me improve and my argumentative essay is much better. Thank you! I'm auditing the other courses from this specialization too!

By Venkata R S

Sep 29, 2020

This course is really useful especially for the undergraduate students of non-native speakers of English. The students can understand the basics of academic writing and writing various types of essays. It is a great learning opportunity for me to get access to this series of courses on academic English from UCI through Coursera.

By Niedja d A e S F d S

Nov 2, 2015

It is a wonderful course. I can't believe that it is possible to find a such qualified course for free! The organization, content, activities, practice and tasks were perfect. Neither in my face to face english classes I have learned how to build a so effective essay. Thanks, Coursera. Thanks, University of California - Irvine!

By Loretta J M

Jul 3, 2016

This course is fabulous!! The participants will learn what the types of essays are, they will learn the parts of an essay, and they will learn how to formulate/structure essays. Thank you so very much, Coursera and Professor Chapman!!! I have learned a significant amount of information which have enhanced my writing skills.

By Shristi M

Oct 26, 2021

I had a wondeful time taking this course and I am very thankful towards all teachers and my friends who had helped me in completing this course. This course has helped me a lot in terms of my writing as I have a lot of information about essay writing. It will help a lot in my further assignments. This course is worth taking.

By Wendy Z

Feb 6, 2018

The course is a well-designed one, in which I can get differet types of essays writing practiced. Before each writing task, guidelines are given to help the students better understand the requirements. It is also very beneficial to read other learners' essays, as there will always be some new ideas shared and discussed.

By Adiki S

Jun 6, 2020

The course really helped me in writing by own essays. I was not known before like there will be thesis statement, supporting statements and their details with examples in any report writing, after taking this course it made my job very simple to understand topic, brainstorm the ideas and write the thesis effectively.

By Rafael D

Oct 20, 2015

The second part of the specialization, getting started with essay writing, is extremely useful. It has lots and lots of essential things to learn and practice in writing. I strongly recommend completing this course since it shapes the way you create fully developed and strong message, that your essay should contain.

By Hermenegildo d P Q

Mar 31, 2022

Con este curso he adquirdo habilidades para escribir mis ensayos en inglés, aunque tengo experiencia escribiendo en español, el curso Getting Started with Essay me ha dado la oportunidad de sentirme como si estuviera aprendiendo a escribir mis primeros artículo, pero ahora en otra lengua. Es un excelente curso.

By abbas k

May 26, 2020

It is incredibly great start for those who seek mastery in writing. I couldn't write even a short paraghraph about something. This course has enabled me to write even 500 words long essay about any topic that i come across. I am going to take the subsequent course in this specialization. Thank you COURSERA.

By Eloise S

Nov 28, 2020

This course gave me confidence and the necessary skills in writing that I can use in my career change. Thanks so much to our instructors Ms. Tamy Chapman and Ms. Helen Nam, the University of California, Irvine, all my classmates who took time to review my essays, and Coursera. More power to you! Stay safe!

By Léo S

Oct 20, 2020

A wonderful course; comprehensive, structured; I have been looking for such an introductory class on essay writing for a long time, and with each step of this course, I am gaining the confidence and skills required to write flawlessly and academically. Thank you very much, and good learning to everyone !

By Rochelle S

Sep 2, 2016

No-nonsense course that teaches you the nuts and bolts of academic essay writing. I've looked at a bunch of writing courses both here at Coursera and other sites. This is one of the best I have found. No words are wasted. No lengthy boring lecture. Just the stuff you need to know. Don't miss it!

By Marcel T

Nov 13, 2015

Very good. I missed some way to communicate the others their mistakes. Such as sending a pdf or word, coloured and maybe with the mistakes underlined. I am just thinking of what I would like to receive from others. I think that it could make the practice even more effective.

Thank you for the course!

By Anita S

Jan 19, 2022

An excellent course. Easy to understand, learn and practice. The video lectures of the trainer Tamy Chapman were the best part in it. Thank you Tamy. This course has given me enough knowledge and skill to write all types of essays. I know, practice will make me more perfect; I'll do that.

By Viet T

Nov 17, 2016

In the modern world today, English becoming an essential language. If you can speak English, everybody can understand what you are talking about, but if you can transform what you are thinking into writing, you become a master. Writing essay is one of the major step bring you to this target.

By Vaibhav K

Jun 23, 2017

This is a wonderful course. Specially, I wanna thank to professors because they provide clear explanation through video lecture. In this course, they taught wonderful strategy how to tackle an academic essay. It is very useful for the beginner. I would like to give great thumps UP.

By Pallavi R

Oct 5, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I appreciate the simplistic way in which everything has been explained. It was really helpful in increasing an intrinsic value in writing. I would like thank course designers and teachers for sharing their knowledge with students across the world.

By DaAuna J

Jun 30, 2022

I like this course because it helps me with my writing essay.

The system shows you what the different types of writing an essay are.

We only made three types of paper: compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument.

It is a great course to start if you struggle with writing an essay.

By PRAKASH B

Jul 19, 2020

Course is very nice, but i want give one suggestion regarding peer review assignment. Most of the peer write essay in different topic than assigned, and there is no criteria for subject matter of essay. Furthermore, i feel that many peers seems not serious about evaluation.