Chevron Left
Back to GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Learner Reviews & Feedback for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality by University of California, Davis

4.9
stars
1,865 ratings
406 reviews

About the Course

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

LT
Dec 25, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS
Apr 30, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 401 Reviews for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

By Nancy V W

Jun 25, 2017

This is a very good course and would recommend it to anyone interested in learning GIS.

By Simona B

Nov 18, 2016

Lots of contents, I really enjoyed this course. Good material and videos. Thanks

By Ignacio R G

Jul 15, 2019

The course needs more practice items that does not require to buy a GIS book.

By ANU R

Jul 2, 2017

If you truly want to learn GIS. Just this is perfect platform.

By Mduduzi S

Nov 19, 2020

Best course ever..thank you Nick, Coursera, UC Davis and Esri

By Mirjan A S

Oct 3, 2020

This is a nice course for Remote Sensing and GIS students.

By Andrew B

Jul 6, 2020

Very good course materials and clearly presented videos

By Akhil C

Mar 4, 2018

Overall a good course with a lot of stuff to learn.

By Handa S

May 11, 2017

If you are good at SQL you don't need this course.

By Ka C L

Feb 7, 2021

Good, a lot of techniques have been introduced

By Galen M

Dec 7, 2020

Good, but more exercises would be helpful.

By Rabehi F

Aug 5, 2020

excellent pédagogie de cours merci

By Nicole G

Sep 27, 2021

Hard yet rewarding.

By Ahmed E A G

Aug 19, 2017

GOOD COURSE

By SOUGATA M

May 20, 2020

nice

By Henry M M

Mar 1, 2017

Good

By Natalie D

Sep 23, 2021

Nick Santos is fantastic and I learned a lot in this course. However, my qualms are with coursera and the structure of the peer review assignment. I think I deserved full points on the final project (one reviewer did in fact award me full points) but the other reviewer graded harshly and plainly graded wrong, without any reason as to why they marked me down. Their comment was "good". Its like they did not even look at my project. There needs to be better quality monitoring in the grading for this course because its very discouraging and frankly infuriating that this happened.

By Robin v L

Jan 1, 2021

Well structured but as with the previous course in this specialization there is way too much focus on ArcGIS. The course is called "GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality," not "Processing Data in ArcGIS." The module on ArcGIS Online is just unnecessary. There is nothing to be learned in that module that can be applied outside of an ArcGIS context.

By Charlotte M

May 27, 2020

Major lack in instructor support but a decent intro to GIS. Also, some clunks in hw instructions that slow things down. The first lecture should be on getting your student license bc it takes a few days to receive.

By Paul E

Aug 21, 2016

Scattered and lacking focus. The material is all there, but it feels like a laundry list of miscellany that didn't make it into the previous or next course in the specialisation.

By Galen M

Apr 6, 2021

Good content, crummy quiz structure and grading.

By Paul G

Aug 17, 2021

ok but not for me

By Giuseppe B

Apr 20, 2020

some confusion arise in some lessons, issue with software well recognized by authors. so and so on the whole

By Mona S

Jul 29, 2017

very hard

By Leo T

Dec 15, 2019

The grading on the final assignment is taking away all my pleasure in taking the course. I should score 100%, but reviewers can't seem to see all layers in the map. And that is while I've checked the online map on multiple computers and in 4 different browsers.

It seems to me that this is an assignment that shouldn;t be structured that way. For me this is grading by chance. Can the reviewer see the map or not? If they can see it, I get a 100% mark, but if they cannot see one of the layers I will flunk.