Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,213 ratings
1,274 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
Dec 27, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,237 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Jasper R

Apr 4, 2016

This course (and the rest of the GIS specializations) is an excellent introduction to GIS! The teacher is great and the materials that are covered are very relevant.

By Roberto V

Oct 22, 2020

Very good overview for understanding GIS, using geographic data and making basic maps. Nick is an excellent instructor and provides great step by step explanations.

By Kokila P R

May 10, 2020

Thank you so much sir for clearly explaining all the contents in the lecture...i have gone through many lectures but the way you have taken the classes is THE BEST.

By Pranav B

Jun 19, 2019

Fantastic instructor. Wholesome content, assignments are very specific with ample screenshots. Everything is explained clearly and excellent resources are provided.

By Lauren B

Jan 22, 2019

awesome! very informative and well paced. The teaching style was really descriptive. and reinforced the material. I learned a lot! Can't wait for the next course.

By Sasan A

Oct 7, 2018

it is a great fundamental course however there are more things need to be covered , for example how to geo-reference a scanned map loaded as a JPG file in ArcGIS.

By Marina N

Oct 23, 2020

I both enjoyed and learned a lot from this course. A very systematic way of teaching and step by step getting into the world of GIS. Great work, really worth it!

By George K

Sep 25, 2020

Thorough and easy to understand course. I was able to learn all of the basic of ArcGIS and have develop an adequate understanding of its functions and interface.

By Ezio N d P

Oct 18, 2018

Very useful course. It gives a very good initial basis about GIS and ArcGIS. Really worth it as part of he GIS specialization. Very well organized and structure.

By Jeffrey W

Oct 26, 2017

I started with absolutely zero GIS knowledge and now I am using the software to analyze my data and create maps! Thank you for this amazing educational resource!

By Esther M

Jan 19, 2017

It would be helpful if the instructor didn't talk with his hands. The lectures and materials are well done. There are a few typos here and there. Good course.

By Adoum D D

Apr 13, 2019

Le cours est parfait, bien explique même les étudiants qui parle pas l'anglais peuvent apprendre facilement. j'ai hâte de continuer a suivre les autres modules.

By James H

Nov 29, 2016

This was an outstanding base of knowledge that I have already recommended to many coworkers to explore so they are able increase their base of knowledge in GIS.

By thierry z

Sep 21, 2020

this was a go course for me, i have enjoyed it and i really thank you

i thank my Lecture, classmates and other who has been helping us to understant things well

By Sanjeev Kumar Sinha

Jun 8, 2020

It's a well designed course for the beginners. I would like to thank course instructor Nicholas Santos for his effort and making the course easy to understand.

By Eugenio P

Sep 6, 2020

Great material and great lectures. Not very dynamic due to the nature of the subject of the course. It is great they provide the software needed to learn GIS.

By Marne G O

Aug 23, 2020

Overall, this course help me a lot to widened my skills and knowledge about GIS. Thanks to sir Nick for a job well done to teach us about fundamentals of GIS.

By Arian K

Jun 9, 2018

I really like this course and coursera at all because this website helps me to improve myself. Thank you very much that you approved my financial aid request!

By Qingya W

Aug 8, 2019

The professor taught this course in a very intuitive way. And this lesson really gives us an overall understanding of GIS and the basic operations in ArcGIS.

By Todor K

Oct 18, 2018

Great Course! I am filling very empowered with a lot of very useful knowledge and I am ready to go full ahead toward the next course from the specialization!

By Vipin S

Jun 20, 2016

i did not completed this course on time because of slow internet speed in my locality. I will be obliged if they give me more time to complete this course.

By Gosaye B

Aug 31, 2020

I am very excited with this course or fundamentals of GIS and Nick was such an excellent lecturer and thank you coursera for providing this online course.

By Nicholas W

Jun 18, 2019

A great introduction to GIS. This was a completely new are area of study for me and the clear layout of course materials and guidance were a great help.

By Mateo A P

Feb 21, 2019

Excelente introducción a la interfaz y funciones básicas de ArcGIS, con este curso se aprenden los lineamientos para crear mapas básicos, muy interesante.

By Nolawi T

May 1, 2020

Gives a fundamental step by step introduction to GIS. I really liked how the content built on top of the other. I really enjoyed the assignments as well.