Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,522 ratings
1,397 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
Dec 27, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,356 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Biplab G

Mar 6, 2020

Very good and elaborative approach. Trainer is very good and course is very well prepared. Efforts put by trainer areHighly Appreciated

By mnavidad

Jan 29, 2017

I really enyoed this course, Nick Santos is a great professor, the work was challenging and yet relatively easy to learn, given that the

By Mbolatiana R

Aug 3, 2016

Thank you to keep me committed to GIS. I started four weeks ago from scratch but now I feel confident with GIS and want to learn more.

By Wesley B

Mar 4, 2018

Great introduction to GIS. Exactly what I was looking for, including some hands on experience that helped me realize how little I know.

By Birhane W R

Nov 14, 2017

It is a wonderful course. As a beginner in the field I am satisfied with the level of knowledge I got through this introduction course.

By Kara F

Oct 17, 2017

Useful course explaining the basics of GIS data and how to perform simple geoprocessing and cartography tasks using ArcGIS for Desktop.

By Iradukunda E

Dec 23, 2020

I find that the materials for the course were given in a very efficient manner and that the instructor's methodology is very accurate.

By Laura F A S

Apr 24, 2020

It is a great course. I liked it so much because I really learned about the basic things of GIS. Nick Santos is a really good teacher.

By Shehzeb A

May 6, 2018

It included detailed easy to understand instructions a lot of good practice material and an active link to the GIS-Coursera community.

By Lina Z

Jan 10, 2018

Well organized, manageable course. I had lots of fun learning about GIS and making maps! I'm now considering doing the specialization!

By Peter Z

Dec 6, 2020

This is the best option to anyone who's seeking knowledge about GIS and ArcMap, The course is well structured and easy to understand.

By Jesus A G

Jun 18, 2020

This course is simple and easy to understand. I really hope that the next course is as simple as this course to understand and learn.

By Patrick M

Jun 4, 2020

A good starting point which build to technical complexity quickly but without being overwhelming. ArcGIS access is also very helpful.

By Jamie S

Sep 10, 2018

Great intro to GIS with well structured instruction, demos and practice assignments of foundational concepts. Nick does a great job!

By Marta S

Dec 16, 2016

An excellent course, well crafted lessons and videos. Challenging assignments, great tutorials and resources. I highly recommend it.

By Arun K S

Sep 6, 2020

Very detailed and excellent explanation. I am very happy to complete this course. It has increased my confidence to do GIS projects.

By Visveswara K M

May 19, 2020

Very nice course and really well taught.

The assignments are really helpful and the final assignment covers all the topics very well.

By Alejandro A E

May 1, 2020

It is a very good course for people who are new to geographic information systems or even for people with experience in the subject.

By Mushtaq M

Aug 13, 2018

This course really helps me understanding the basic GIS functionalities. This course is designed to teach GIS as easily as possible.

By Mohammad M I

Aug 10, 2018

This course really helps me understanding the basic GIS functionalities. This course is designed to teach GIS as easily as possible.

By Veronica A S

Jun 19, 2018

Amazing course! It requires a lot of reading and practice, but it is easy to feel like learning, it is very complete and fulfilling.

By OBBY N L

Jan 18, 2018

This Fundamental course is well structured for new learners to GIS and l therefore recommend it to everyone that wants to learn GIS.

By Eduardo D

Dec 12, 2017

Great course, perfect as a first contact with GIS. Very practical covering the basic theory around GIS as well. Definitely worth it.

By Harish S

Dec 5, 2016

Fantastic course! Require a lot more effort to complete the course than what Coursera estimates, but extremely rewarding in the end!

By Madelena M

Nov 4, 2020

Very good start into GIS, teaches you the basics and gives you some fun examples to learn with. Easy to understand and fun to learn