Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,578 ratings
1,418 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

A
May 16, 2021

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,377 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Arul J A

Apr 20, 2019

Structured in a nice way.. Easy to understand the fundamentals. Thanks to Nick for narrating in an organized manner.

By Mohamed A A

Feb 8, 2019

a very useful & Important Course for who cares/interested to fundamental of geography & Cartography & Designing maps

By James W

Dec 31, 2018

The peer graded section in the first section are a little sketchy but everyone has to learn to advance in the course

By Md. A H

Nov 22, 2018

It was indeed a great course. I have learned enough from this course. Now I am able to use ArcGIS more proficiently.

By Mohammed A

Nov 15, 2018

Changed my view to Cartography. Fantastic course I enjoyed it and learned alot from it. Instructor was perfect too.

By Scott P

Dec 6, 2017

Nice introduction for someone (like myself) who knows little about GIS. Final project helped bring it all together.

By Teresa P

Jul 19, 2017

Loved this course. It is very useful even if you have some knowledge on GIS. There's always something new to learn.

By Hang Y

Jun 9, 2020

Great course material and pace, it's well designed to introduce the basics first and build on it in later modules.

By Ismael I N

Jan 31, 2018

Really like how everyone has put this course together. A great way to start learning this amazing software. Kudos!

By Danae R

Mar 15, 2017

Really clear instruction at the appropriate level, useful and clearly written assignments. Would highly recommend.

By Lee D

Jan 18, 2021

This course was superb. I was impressed by how well-organized the course remained, despite the amount of detail.

By Leo T

Oct 7, 2017

Excellent overview; well structured assignments; and appropriate level of challenge in the final graded exercise.

By Diego A C S

Jun 26, 2020

muy buen curso toca diferentes temas basicos sobre los ssitemas de informacion geografica que son indispensables

By Nur M

Apr 18, 2020

Very much essential course for those who are trying to learn GIS as a academic as well as professional purpose .

By Ferran O

Aug 13, 2020

Nice to follow. Good explanations from the teacher Nick. A good introduction to ArcGIS and geospatial software.

By Sultan

Mar 14, 2017

Great course, especially the assignments are absolutely awesome as they walk you through every step of the day.

By Simran R

Aug 3, 2020

It was a great learning experience. Getting acquainted with completely new topic. the course is very relevant.

By Arcanjo A

Feb 8, 2020

Excellent content and deliver. I don't have a background in geography and the course gave a strong foundations

By Hani A E E

Jan 27, 2020

I offer you the most beautiful meanings of thanks for your knowledge, and I really appreciate your dear effort

By Alexa C

Sep 17, 2019

The examples are close to real-life situations, the teacher is easy to follow, information is well structured.

By Ernesto N S

Nov 29, 2016

Extraordinary material. Very well taught and gives you a very strong tour on Arcmap. Basics very well covered.

By Hugo S R

Jun 27, 2016

Great introduction. It provides a great tool that will enable you to present clear and very intuitive results.

By Euijin J

Jun 14, 2020

This is the best class if you are new to GIS and want to learn the key features of it. I highly recommend it!

By Mohammad N K N

Jan 16, 2020

I learnt so many things in this course. now i am able to run arcgis ,at the last i will say thanks coursera

By Lisa M S

Sep 11, 2017

This course was easy to follow and did an excellent job explaining the basics of GIS use and ArcGIS software.